Does this make me a published author?

in #blog5 years ago

A few years ago I started blogging as a way to get more views to my business website, I hated blogging it was awkward, I wasn't very good, my posts were riddled with spelling mistakes and still to this day are, but I didn't stop. I would consistently blog as much as I could If I figured something out or thought of something interesting that was applicable to my business I would blog about it.

The blog was centered around digital marketing and it began to grow slowly but I started to get a bit bored just writing about digital and I started to expand into other topics like data analytics and cryptocurrency.

Once I started diving into cryptocurrency I discovered Steemit and I've been using it as a dumping ground for thoughts that aren't really that traditional blog worthy. Funny enough using steemit helped me by allowing me to get feedback, interact with others, learn new things much faster than googling and reading and I started to become more confident in my blogging.

I started trying out other self-publishing platforms too, to see what they offer and even opened up my marketing blog into a business blog with over 20 categories. Now I'm really starting to see real growth and I really hope it will continue growing at this rate and who knows it may even start paying off a few bills.

I never did and still don't consider myself a blogger, I'm just a dude who likes to share things he finds, figures out and maybe rant here and there. People seem to appreciate it though, I sometimes get emails thanking me for my posts, or comments and even questions that people need help with.

Tokens 24

One day I had a bit of a brain fart and decided what the heck, let me put this up online. The article was super niche and probably only my mum and dad read it lol no one was interested but I got it out there anywhere. A few months later I received a mail from someone at Tokens24 who happened to find the post and loved it.

They asked me to refine it and they published it on their site and this was my first taste of being published :) I was super stoked about it.

You can read it here

Screenshot 2019-03-23 at 10.41.20.png

Hackernoon

That was my one and only experience with being published until now. @christinelook told me that hackernoon is a site that is open to publishing from guest authors in tech and crypto so I recently decided to submit a piece and it's been published.

You can read it here

Screenshot 2019-03-23 at 10.41.09.png

Will there be a 3rd?

Once may be beginners luck and the second well, that was pretty cool but can the streak can continue? My goal for this year is to be published on a few more sites so let's see If I can make it happen.

Have your say

Have you ever had an article of yours published by another site? How did you go about doing it? Let me know in the comments

Let's connect

If you liked this post sprinkle it with an upvote or resteem and if you don't already, consider following me @chekohler
follow me


Get Daily Upvotes With SmartVote

Member of the SmartVote community

Trade Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin, Doge or Dash for STEEM instantly

Check out blocktrades to quickly exchange popular cryptocurrencies for STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM Dollars or trade your STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM dollars for popular cryptocurrencies


Sort:  

I didn't have many readers in the beginning either but the more you write the more followers you get - and I use Grammarly to assist me with my spelling :)

Indeed, its a slow process and sometimes you don't feel like you're getting any better and many people give up, but if you do it because you enjoy it the metrics won't matter as much.
I love grammarly i even bought the premium version and it has really helped my writing but I still make the odd mistake here and there.

Oooh fancy hackernoon. I don't read many posts of theirs. Not because they bad but beceause I am lazy and will one day go through my email and maybe skim what they have. Good job 👍

I just discovered my phone has an emoji thing...

😂🤣🙁🤩😋🦓🐃🍻🎃🎉🎁

Lol I do feel like bit of a fancy man. I'll check out some things from them usually my medium emails or quora searches have me ending up there. Who knows I might actually make a go of this cryptocurrency content creator thing

And at least Hackernoon or Medium has some reach, you could try https://trybe.one though also limited but it is very topical and EOS token (maybe)

Exactly they’ve built up a reputation and an audience! I have published 3 articles on trybe didn’t do much in terms of reach or engagement

I have submitted one to towardsdatascience.com, hope they accept it

I want to build up a little portfolio outside my blog and use it to source some more overseas opportunities! I want crypto, Dollars or Euros enough of these Rands already getting me nowhere

I tried contacting a few South African sites for guest posting but no one ever replies as always people are probably asleep at the wheel so no surprise

Posted using Partiko iOS

Awesome congrats man! Don’t leave us in the dust when you make the big dough lol
I tried a foray into academic publishing when I was finishing my degree and got so close to getting it published but then a disagreement between me and the professor saw that shot down. 20 single spaced pages for naught lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks man, getting paid for writing would be amazing, hopefully I can get there eventually!

Ouch that must have hurt, I don’t think I would recover! At least with online it’s less of having to follow style guides and having to go threw a limited amount of gate keepers!

There’s always a site that has an audience and is willing to share your content if it’s good and applies to their readers

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wow, congratulations! That experience with Tokens 24 had to be really nice for you. It's good that there was someone smart who appreciated your work. ;)
I had quite a funny experience with one of my articles. At that time I was still working as a salesman in a call center. My boss asked me if I wanted to write an article for a special gala for e-commerce. I said so and wrote a very honest article. Unfortunately, it did not present call center companies in a good light.
However, it had a different mission. I described how thanks to working in these firms you can create your own business and develop it.
Before the gala I received a phone call if I can confirm my participation.
At this event it turned out that my article received the main prize. It was also printed in a magazine for marketers and published on several portals.
The worst thing was that I became an AMBASADOR CALL CENTER for the whole year! I didn't have any duties, it was just a title, but for me it was like a punishment for that moment. 😂But it was the same year in which I left the job and started to be the boss for myself.
The article is in Polish, it contains my name and surname, so I do not attach any links.

Thank you, yeah getting that validation that your thoughts and what you have to say is pretty nice

LOL wow that’s crazy it’s funny how random opportunities we say yes to can lead to the strangest outcomes

I have a similar story I was working for an e-commerce site and we had a big campaign coming up for the companies birthday and I made a silly suggestion and the manager said they liked it and I should run with it and it was a huge hit and was trending on twitter and we even won a marketing award for the campaign but it was sort of embarrassing because I was the sort of mascot for it lol!

All part of the experience I suppose, it was fun though!

Posted using Partiko iOS

LOL!!! It's also a fantastic story! Can you tell us more? Have you been a mascot of a specific type of product? If so, what kind of products?

Lol I don’t want to give more details because my name is attached to it and the articles are still live on the internet 😊☺️ it was for the entire campaign so I was the mascot for the products sold during that time, for the competitions and for all the social media posts!

The products were general stuff, books, music, electronics!

The whole concept was around this person / mascot who likes to surprise people with gifts 😁 so say you ordered a product we would deliver it to you and you would get a chance with me to get another free random item as a gift!

We ran the campaign physically in Cape Town and then nationally on social media and it was the number one hashtag on Twitter in SA lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

It sounds like great fun! Do you still receive royalties from this cooperation? lol How did you feel when this idea turned out to be a hit? Did you start to be recognizable?

LOL no royalties also the company was bought out a year later and changed its name! Luckily not, only friends and colleges who would make fun of me because of it!

I was pretty shocked really even many months after it was done we won 2 big awards for the campaign!

Hopefully I’ll get to replicate it with my own website one day

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by chekohler from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi, @chekohler!

You just got a 4.39% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @chekohler!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.836 which ranks you at #4641 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 4638).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 159 contributions, your post is ranked at #70.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58752.84
ETH 3153.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44