What Not to Say is Really, Really, Very Important Not To Say ...

in #blog6 years ago

I remember giving a good friend this piece of advice long ago, and him not getting it. You would think it would be easy to understand, after all is just a matter of knowing when to listen, instead of talking, but all of us struggle with this at some point in time, including me.

In life everything is a negotiation, absolutely everything. I’m not just talking about business per say, buying things, selling things, I’m actually referring to anything we do. In our relationships, you could say we also participate of negotiations, and it’s probably because of this fact that the best negotiators learn when to be quiet and listen.

think.png
img src

Believe me, I’m not saying that we must not voice our opinion, of course not. But I am talking about knowing when to do so, or even if we have to. Ask yourself the question: Does being right mean that you won? Ask yourself that as you enter negotiations and keep that in the forefront of your mind.

Some of the best negotiation deals I’ve ever been part of, have been those were I kept my mind in control, in balance. Knowing what not to share, is probably more important than the things you should say. Think about that for a second.

“Knowing what not to say, is more important than what you are saying”

This is connected with being a better listener, yes, but also at becoming a more effective communicator. Sometimes when we are negotiating a situation we add so much emotion to the conversation that all we do is cause confusion.

So next time you are thinking about sitting in a negotiation table, think about that little line. Maybe it can help you as much as it has helped me over the years.

Remember "What Not to Say is Really, Really, Very Important Not To Say ..." -@chbartist

Very important:
I would really like it if those who read these posts would take their time to support, to upvote those who have taken their time to read, understand and leave meaninunful comments, in the same way that I do. From now on I will stop upvoting those who self vote on their comments, and I would suggest everyone to do the same.

Why? Because believe me: This is how you build a good network, with good people. Like this everyone can win recognition.

If you are new here reading my blog be sure to read the previous post because as I said earlier I am writing a number of them and to understand every context that I wish to teach for everyone it is important that you understand that they are interconnected step by step to build this journey of change of mentality and positivism.

Don't forget to follow @chbartist and resteem these posts if you like them. The content and conversations could be valuable to someone else, even if you don't know that person.

Wishing you all the best

@chbartist

Sort:  

Screenshot_20181003-105754_Google.jpg

Yeah.

“Silence is the element in which great things fashion themselves together; that at length they may emerge, full-formed and majestic, into the daylight of Life, which they are thenceforth to rule. Not William the Silent only, but all the considerable men I have known, and the most undiplomatic and unstrategic of these, forbore to babble of what they were creating and projecting. Nay, in thy own mean perplexities, do thou thyself but hold thy tongue for one day: on the morrow, how much clearer are thy purposes and duties; what wreck and rubbish have those mute workmen within thee swept away, when intrusive noises were shut out! Speech is too often not, as the Frenchman defined it, the art of concealing Thought; but of quite stifling and suspending Thought, so that there is none to conceal. Speech too is great, but not the greatest. As the Swiss Inscription says: Sprecfien ist silbern, Schweigen ist golden (Speech is silvern, Silence is golden); or as I might rather express it: Speech is of Time, Silence is of Eternity.”
― Thomas Carlyle, Sartor Resartus

Hi friend, I don't know what the best description for choose in your comment. Great! Have a great week!

The words used by the author was quite old or ancient.
But I just love the last sentence:

Speech is of Time, Silence is of Eternity.”

Welcome back @chbartist , I agree with you that we should not say unrelated and meaningless words and also those words on which we had to regret later. We should think twice before speaking something, As it's useless to cry over spilt milk. 2ndly I Am also against on self voting. You said right that we should support either by upvoting every meaningful post.
I'm currently suffering from hardfork due to which my activity is limited, at this time my resource credits are 9% only, so I cannot have more conversation, sorry. But you have my upvote, thanks @chbartist

Hello my friend, good to see you. No need to apologize for your upvote being low. That's not what's important to me. The important thing is that we can build a supportive community here in my blog and that is my main objective. What I encourage is that you always vote for those who have taken the time to make a comment whether it is from the analysis of the post or that they read the post and show some learning. You're always very welcome! Regards

I like that attitude !
descarga (3).jpg

The person who understand that how his or her words will effect someone is known as a mature being. Because he know his impluse action can ruin everything. Whenever we unintentionally say something when we are angry or sad just after a moment we realise that it was not right sometimes the most caring person becomes the victim of our anger. We only hurt them who loves us the most so its better to think before we speak or be silent.

Perfect words! Thank you for read and for you excellent comment!

Here is the funny thing with me. It's not like I don't know or understand the lessons in knowing when to be still but lately I have been having to apologise especially to my partner quite a bit about emotional outbursts and lack of truly listening to him. I guess I am just grateful to have someone who loves me enough to talk to me about my little moments and who is happy to accept my apologies but at the same time I don't think it's wise to continue with the outbursts as it will cause tension and resentment. Thank you for the piece, It has confirmed some age-old wisdom which we should all get a reminder of every now and then.
It's interesting also how it's easier for me to adhere to the quiet negotiator role when conducting business but when it's in my personal life I allow my emotions to take over. Totally need to work on this.

Great words, thank you for ...LOL

i have read this many times and over, to make sure i understand and make it stick to my head, because of recent i have being speaking my mind when dealing with personal relationships and it has almost caused me enough damage. in as much as i feel i should say what i have too, being a good listener and knowing what not too say will be even better . hard to practice when speaking under emotions but it will do me more good.
will resteem this for my personal reference.
i had written about it here,
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@purpletanzanite/can-the-truth-really-set-you-free-or-apart-f93e61fc9e89d

This prose is inspiring and educational on so many levels. In my lifetime, I have met a lot of people who, one would dare say, had certain problems of attitude. They were always well aware of their problems but knew not what to do about them. Some of them were even proud, thinking that others should accept them for who they are, regardless of their poor manners and lack of politeness and sensibility when having a professional conversation. They knew the problem and instead of accepting that that IS a problem, they accepted the nature of that problem and wished for others to accept and come to terms with it, too.

And I think that is a problem, as you so articulately put in your blog post. Sometimes it is not a matter of acceptance, but what is right and what is wrong and what sort of reaction we should have to the problems of our attitude.

Exactly, the most important thing is almost always the attitude. Regards

@chbartist Thank you so much for sharing this observation. Could not agree more. I have another illustrative example. A few weeks ago I went to Bulgaria to a training course about "hate speech". 1 week with 30 people from 10 different countries. During one session in the middle of the week, "hate speech fighters" started having super rough and impolite discussion regarding gipsies. For half an hour an entire conference room was filled in with shouts, screams and racial slurs. I said nothing. An entire time I just sat there observing those well-educated (I thought so) people moving their hands if they were chimpanzees. At the end of the session, one of the initiators of the discussion (can I even call it a discussion?) approached me and asked why I kept silent if I am the most active participant? I looked at him (at this time, I am 85% sure that I was not even hiding my disappointment) and said: "well, there was no discussion and sometimes, you do not need to say anything to be heard." His face... I still remember his facial expression. It was absolutely priceless. He never spoke with me ever since.

#raise.the.value.of.your.arguments_not.your.voice

Raise the value of your argument, not your voice.

What a great summary.

Thank you for your time and great comment!

This is very, very true ... sometimes we try to give too much emphasis to a story to make it interesting, but the truth is that there is a thin line between giving emotion and causing irritation ... the truth is that being calm, and be authentic, make a big difference <3 your blog is perfect <3

Thank you for your kind words!

Muy bueno tu comentario, me ha gustado.

@chbartist

Greetings of the day, I have gone through your article as usual it is awesome, very positive and informative. As i said when i read your last blog im a continuous reader of your posts. I always follow your strategy in my real life. you really wrote awesome lines in this blog.

when to listen, instead of talking.

This is a great question. everyone don't pay attention toward this question. we don't listen with the intent of understand we listen with the intent of replay. this is the biggest mistake of our life. if we participate in any conversation then we have to listen carefully what others are speaking. According to me we have two ears and one mouth, so we should listen more then we say.

most people in the world don't really use their brains to think. And people who don't think are the ones who don't listen to others.

Great question asked by you

Does being right mean that you won?

that is not necessary if you are right then you always won sometimes you have to lose when u are right.

At last i just want to say listening is most important then speaking

Thanks for your article waiting for next article.

@asks

Thank you @asks. Good see you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19