The Tangential Blues

in #blog5 years ago

I’m old. I mean I’m old enough that I’m running out of time here. That’s just a guzbucking serious place to find myself. I have stuff to say, some of it might even be important to somebody. And I’m probably not going to live long enough to get it all said.

So I’m focused like a lazer beam, right? Not so you’d notice. Right here, right now, I’m suffering the Tangential Blues. Those who know me that a tangent (often an incredibly narrow tangent) is a common position for me.

tangential-39654_1280.png
Source

Just a month ago I was dazed and confused and didn’t have a clue what to write next. I have finally started my ‘Environmental Concerns’ series. This is incredibly important to me on a personal level AND a much wider stage. I’m happy with the series so far, and the flow of it is easy. Writing is fun again. But I need something more. This series will almost certainly never be more than one post per week because each piece is researched pretty carefully.

What’s first?

I have a long promised set on Art Deco and how it impacted motorcycle design. I really like this one, it’s really pretty and just stupid fun.


Source 1934 Harley Davidson VLD

Electric Vehicles. This has really been bubbling for me lately, the concept is no more, it’s reality here and now and this one can have an impact on the world. Literally. Lightning Strike introduced a beautiful road bike yesterday that is good for 150 miles at 150 miles per hour. Damn. It’s less than $13,000. Double damn.


Source

Music. I really think today’s children deserve to know where their music came from. Some of it is going to get lost in the mists of time if somebody doesn’t get it said. The best I can find all has to do with big stars and nothing about the acts and songs that led to them. It needs to be said. In all honesty, it’d be a really fun rabbit hole for me to fall into.

guitar-1873936_1920.jpg
Source

Music II. I have a long (40 year) term book project about Rock and Roll and how it is the Opera of Our Age. I seriously believe that Rock and Opera touched the same audience about 300 years apart. Maybe if I break it into hunks (posts) I can at least make some progress on it.

Music IIA. Mozart as a pop musician. Another stalled (it’s not failed until I’m dead) book project that essentially compares Mozart to Michael Jackson.

Music III. Big Band as the preview of Rock and Roll. Really.

piano-601386_1920.jpg
Source

But Wait! There’s More!

So. I started this post 2 hours ago by listening to “The Lovin’ Spoonful doing ‘Did You Ever Have To Make Up Your Mind?” It seemed germaine at the time.

Did you ever have to make up you mind?
Say yes to one and leave the other one behind?

You can hear the state of the art in 1966 right here.

I was a junior in High School. I told you time was running out. I learned every word and still have them. All.

I don’t know. At least, at the very least, I have a list to consider. Until the inevitable tangent rears it’s beautiful head.

Thanks. I really appreciate that you read this jumble. I simply don’t know the words to thank you all for the support and consideration.

All words in this post are mine. The photographs are sourced properly.

You want some really cool stuff? Check these authors, they will not disappoint.

@broncofan99 Sports Teaching Fishing BBQ. Not necessarily in that order.

@morkrock Music Games Stinging Politics. Don't go here with thin skin.

@princessmewmew Food Antiques Food Life Food Cats. Anything of beauty could show up here.

@soyrosa Great Photographs and Insights for us All

@enchantedspirit Astrology and much more. Detailed analysis and more with grace and humor...

Sort:  

All such wonderful ideas for posts and I had not heard about the Lightning strik WOW that is a cool inovationa nd will lead to so many more electric motorbikes I am sure, and I expect to see some real interesting innovations in the Electric vehicle market in the near future

glad your writing Mojo is back you big problem now is probably which one to work on first

Those are some great ideas. I am really excited about the recent announcement Ford made to partner with that electric truck company(I can't remember the name). I really think it could be huge for them(and my stock). On the music side, what if you focused on the bands that created the greats? Like how many bands was Clapton in before he was in Cream or went solo. Focus on the Yardbirds which eventually led to Zeppelin (see what I did there?) Something like that would be cool. I know there are tons I don't even know, but you probably do!

The company is Rivan. They've been using F-150s as test vehicles and it's rumored to be incredibly close to the market. I'm excited for it!

VW announced a compact pickup (think Rabbit sized) that will come to the US in TWO YEARS. There is really no reason why 95% of the delivery vehicles in the US couldn't be full electric today. THAT would leave a mark.

There are hundreds of bands that are directly linked to other bands and then others.... That'd be fun wouldn't it?

Thanks Bozz. Always great to have you!

Yep, that's it Rivan. I am totally on the fence right now about getting a gasser or a diesel for my new truck. I think given the funds I have on hand I am going to have to go with a gas engine. If electric were more mainstream I would totally do that though. I wonder if they will make an electric 3/4 ton.

When Ford comes to market you can bet the bank that they will come full line. Chevy and Dodge too, for that matter. California is PRIMED for EVs, there are charging stations all over. Other states are a bit slower, but in truth you can now cross the US with a vehicle that only has 150 miles of range. It won't be a fast trip....

If I were a commuter I'd be electric right now. I have lots of friends that use motorcycles to commute and some of them are wavering toward electric...

My commute is about 30 minutes each way, so it would definitely be a plus. Finding a charging station in the small town where I work would be another story though...

Oh. And electric dirt bikes. There are several that are under 200 lbs and go like stink. They are all 50 mile range or less, but I have to tell you, I don't have 50 miles on the pegs left in me. One of them would work fine for all the dirt riding I want to do for the rest of my days...

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 469

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63549.46
ETH 2562.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66