The last day in Cleveland

in #blog6 years ago

If you've been following along on my Cleveland 'vacation' journey, you'll know that it was a less than relaxing 4 days.

To re-cap: we did the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Cleveland History Museum, West Side Markets, and a handful of cool restaurants and bars.

Our flight home was scheduled for somewhere in the neighborhood of 7:30 pm. We decided the night before that we'd like to get to the airport by 5, especially to avoid any rush hour traffic.
The morning of our fight, Hubs got a text from JetBlue alerting him that our flight was already delayed by 30 minutes.
"Don't tell your mother! We are still getting to the airport early!"
I really do love them, but I had reached my threshold of being treated like a 5 year old.
Plus, I really wanted a Cinnabon.

So, here we are, Monday morning...the day of our departure.
Plans, of course, had already been made to hit up this place called Bourbon Street Barrel Room.
It was a pretty cool place. The atmosphere was fun and they have New Orleans inspired/themed drinks and food.
SUNDAY2.jpg
We got a booth and I loved the actual gas lanterns on the walls!
SUNDAY3.jpg
By the way, though I didn't order them (I got the hash), I tried my MIL's grits...they were sooooo goooood!
(again...no food pics :( sad)
We wandered around for a bit, after brunch, and found some cute shops and cafes.
A little further investigation brought us to a park with a gazebo where someone seemed to be setting up for some live music!
As we got closer we realized there was some sort of doggie adoption fair happening!
I kinda took this as a sign that we should adopt a new dog, as I had just put in an application through a pug rescue the day before.
(We did not get that one, but I'm considering a bonded pair of females that has become available recently.)

After a trip around the park, we headed down to the water to stroll the path for a bit. The in-laws opted to sit at the top of the hill and wait for us.
SUNDAY4.jpg
Despite the fact that I got very congested and needed allergy meds the whole time we were there, it was a beautiful day.
Also, this bridge is pretty amazing in it's decor.
SUNDAY5.jpg

SUNDAY6.jpg

Eventually, we started our trip to the airport...after we discovered that most of the shops we walked by were closed on Mondays. MIL suggested going somewhere, I don't remember, but luckily Hubs said 'if we're just gonna wander around killing time, we may as well just get to the airport.'
So, there we are...driving to the airport...or so we thought. Until FIL says, 'wait a minute...I think I'm going the wrong way.' At that point, Hubs switched on the GPS and got us turned around.
And that, folks, is why I am always painfully early.

Once we finally got to the airport, we found a place to sit and have a drink, since we knew our flight was already delayed. I got to have a couple more Great Lakes Brewery beers and listen to a couple talk about how their flight was also delayed.
Apparently trump was there earlier...and that's all I'll say about that.

Sort:  

Two beers before a flight? Do you have a bladder made of steel or do you just love airplane restrooms?

Totes, even I turn down the champagne and cocktails offered me on Iceland air, as I don't really enjoy 'in air toilet breaks' :)

You could just think of it as a new kind of "mile high club."

Posted using Partiko Android

Too bad so many shops were closed on Monday. The last time I flew out of Cleveland I was traveling with a coworker and he hates arriving 2 hours early for a flight. But since I had the rental car, I made the schedule. We almost ended up late as he got us lost on the way to the airport. GPS is such a handy option!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55