The Day I Had to Come to School as Harry Potter

in #blog7 years ago

When I was small, I did not like Harry Potter. My mommy would ask me to watch the first movie, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, but I just did not like it.

Well, maybe because I was just 4 years old then? How can she possibly expect me to enjoy that movie when I could watch Spongebob Squarepants and Tom & Jerry?!

She would annoyingly watch the HP movies, leaving me literally begging her for my screentime share... hmmpp! How could she do that to a little boy like me?

So imagine her surprise, when on my 2nd grade and we were asked to come to school in our favourite book character costume, I told her that I would like to come as Harry Potter!



My mommy does not want to spend a lot of money on things that will not be used on a regular basis. But she also does not have a lot of time to create a costume for me since she works full time. So maybe I did her a favor (I hope!) when I said that I will just come as Harry Potter on our book fair culmination day. Never mind my reason, since I have not really read the book. But now at age 8, I enjoy the Harry Potter Films!

So here's my "Harry Potter-Look" on our last book fair in school. It was pretty simple, where my mommy just had to put together her old wardrobe - the white polo, her sweater and a black Abaya. (Muslim women's over-garment) She said the white polo was hers from 12 years ago. She wore it when she first flew here to the UAE... Hmm, some history there! It fitted me nicely though. Oh dear! She was this small once upon a time?! Blimey!

The grey vest was also hers. This was still long for me, but tucking it inside my pants did the trick. The necktie and wand, she borrowed from her friend. Pssttt! You wanna know a secret?! I broke the wand in half! huhuhu!

Here's what we have used, minus the white polo and the grey vest. I also have to mention that my mom also put a "Gryffindor" crest on my robe! Cool yeah?! She downloaded a copy of the logo from the internet and put over a plastic tape on top to put a glossy finish, and then pasted it to my robe using her bff - the double-sided tape!

Actually, since I already wear glasses, I did not get to wear those Harry Potter specs. Would have been cool though - that round-rimmed Harry glasses! To finish the Harry Potter look, mom just drew the lightning scar using her black eye liner. Amazing!

Now that I have watched the movies and even have come to school as Harry, I think I would like to read the books also. My mommy said she has the complete books series at home in the Philippines. May be someday soon when we come home, I can read the books too!


Image Sources: [1] [2] [3] [4]

Written on my eldest son's perspective. I would like to imagine these are the things that he would have said, should he be asked. :)




Sort:  

Resteemed!

Your welcome!

Harry potter story love it..I always follow the story of harry potter's story from the first episode to the end.

Really enjoyed the post! You looked like quite the adorable young man.

Watched the series because of her

Hopefully my daughter would love it too then I can dress her like this :-)

Great post ma'am @arrliinn as always, love it.

Cheers!

Glad you liked it @rye05!

Your beautiful daughter would surely look wonderful dressed as Hermione!

Thanks,

Thank you! I am hoping many newer ones under #philippines start to adopt your attitude!

Thanks @surpassinggooggle! I just feel that as a parent, I have to be practical in many aspects of our lives as it would also have an effect on the kids. They would value things more if they see that there's a significant effort put on it. Sure, if we have money, we can easily buy a costume or toys for that matter, however, these are temporary. There's a lot of more important things we should invest upon. :-)

Exactly. I am glad you can see! Alot to say on this but i will stay speechless. Keep on, on this track. Rough path but it is long lasting. "Legacies!"

Yes true. Lead by example. That is what I would like to be. 😉

Awe a cute little harry Potter

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by arrliinn from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

@rizwankhan
Nice post.thanks for sharing your early story

Thank you for appreciating @rizwankhan!

Cute kid, effective story-telling (perspective), and resourceful way of putting up the costume. Nice work!

Thank you @eastmael! I had to make him read the story and he only realized that he was reading about himself when he got to the "broken wand" part. Lol

I'm trying to picture what his reaction was. Hahaha. I'm sure it was priceless :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70310.43
ETH 3568.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73