Who Am I - Blocktrades / Writers Block Write Your Own Ticket Giveaway.

Steemfest is quickly approaching. The third installment in this annual event is slated to be held in the idyllic streets of Krakow, Poland November 7-11, 2018. Having had the pleasure of visiting Krakow a few years ago, I can say with firsthand knowledge that this is a beautiful city and a great choice to host the mob of Steemians that will descend upon it in early November.

steemfestopengraph.jpg

For Steemians around the globe, the current market price of Steem might have dampened your hopes of attending this years event. Flights and accommodations for any international journey can take its toll on even those with deep pockets, let alone the smaller fish in the pond. Luckily there are those within our community who are burdening the load and giving away a Steemfest ticket. This contest is open to everyone. Thanks to @blocktrades, @thewritersblock and @anomadsoul for promoting community and motivation for fellow Steemians to put on their creative thinking caps. To find out more information about the contest, go visit @anomadsoul's recent post

If you have been living under a rock and have no idea what Steemfest is, head over to @roelandp's page and learn all about the annual festival that brings Steemians together from around the globe. For more information on this years event, check out the Official Page

steem line breaker.png

Who Am I

Quite an interesting question @anomadsoul has posed here. I think about it on the daily and by the time I'm done, I have more questions than answers.

Depending on the day, I am a brother, a son, a boyfriend, an investor, a liberal, a conservative, an athlete, a traveler, a teacher, a drinker and a critical thinker. During most of my waking hours I am likely a combination of some, if not all of these things and likely many other descriptors have been used by others.

As I progress through my early thirties I dwell on my thoughts more than a decade ago. I search for meaning and purpose as if it were hidden somewhere beyond the line of sight. I contemplate the purpose of working and question whether I am living to work or vice versa.

By education I am trained in Science, most of my schooling having fleeted to the dark corners of my brain. The one thing though, above all others that my schooling has taught me, is to be a critical thinker, question everything. This is the one take away from years of college and thousands of dollars in tuition that stuck with me and I must admit, it was worth the price of admission. From news headlines, to people you meet on the street, from the latest trendy gadgets to a "can't lose" investment, I constantly think about aspects often overlooked by the average person.

Sometimes though, this does more harm than good though as my high level of disagreeableness doesn't always make me the most popular person, especially in the age of social media where battles are fought behind keyboards. I am often told I care too much unless you ask my girlfriend and she will tell you I'm too indifferent.


As for the blockchain we call home, I love the idea of any single user being able to create or curate and be rewarded with something tangible for their efforts. My biggest attraction to Steemit is that this platform has created a place where users from around the world are able to connect, support and earn for their time spent online. Too often the centralized powers in our society have thrown their weight around with complete disregard for the individual. The Goliath mentality has ruled for too long and David is beginning to find his bearings. It is only a matter of time before the tide turns.

I have been on Steem for more than one lap of the sun and I will be here for many more. I have (kind of) disconnected from most communities because I feel mob mentality dos more to hurt rather than help. I am still active in a few communities and I still autovote everything that is published in the @thesteemengine group as I believe it is important to give the small guys a fighting chance. I am excitedly aroused at the advancements in the @steemhunt community on a micro scale but just as aroused at the potential SMT's have to bring Steem to the next level.

I still regret buying 5000 DRGN and 5000 NGC at $1 each when I could have added to my Steem bag, but as they say, don't put all your Steem in one basket.


I am very focused on my career at this stage in life and Steem is more a side hustle. I would love for those roles to switch somewhere down the line, but I can only handle so much uncertainty for right now. I would love to go to Steemfest 3 because I would love to network with some of the amazing people on our platform. I have a passion for learning and I have a feeling there will be a lot of intelligent people who will descend on Krakow in early November. I have been to Krakow before, marveled in its beauty and wouldn't hesitate to go back.

I have promoted Steem several times over the last year, from printing ads, to creating stickers, from purchasing T-shirts to getting on the Jumbo Tron at the Olympic games in Seoul. I am fully behind this thing we call Steem(it) and being able to attend SF3 would be a great learning opportunity for me and also a great chance to buy some cheap vodka.

name gif.gif

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem, @jasonshick!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3390 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.20: Utopian + SteemPlus Partnership = Bigger upvotes.

It would be nice to get a huge headstart on the early majority here and be able to switch from the career to the hobby.......keep working and it might happen.

Until then, promotion and cheap vodka will get us there!

Welcome to Steem! Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem and we upvote our users to help them grow! Please feel free to download the Android app here and the iOS app here.

To get more upvotes, please join our Discord server here: https://discord.gg/N7Et97G

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55336.50
ETH 2312.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33