Learn From My SBD Transfer Mistake :(

in #blocktrades6 years ago (edited)

Murphy's Law can be very upsetting...

I waited home today for a post payout to (1) send 1 SBD awards to two participants in my daily fitness challenge, and (2) send the balance over to Bitshares to FINALLY hit my target BTS milestone after months of slow accumulation. I was only 5 BTS shy and couldn't enter the info in the transfer fields fast enough for the layup. What could possibly go wrong?!

And that's why I'm writing this...

For some reason the "@blocktrades" account I started typing in the TO field didn't auto-populate fully/I didn't click the full name that popped up. I fired in the bridge memo and hit SUBMIT. Since I'd just sent two transfers in the minutes before, Steemit didn't prompt me for my private key (which is normal), so there was no stop sign.

I immediately saw my mistake as the interface was disappearing. I scratched and clawed at the screen, but the damage was done. Rookie move.

It turns out that I sent my SBD to "@bloc", an existing stale account I don't follow, which may have been created for people like me. It shows no activity, but two other decent-sized SBD receipts in recent months. Perhaps these people did the same thing.

Well, I'll have to wait 14 more hours to finalize my Bitshares goal, but it sucks having waited for this today and screwing it up exactly at the finish line. It was only 1.816 SBD, but it's ANNOYING!!!

So, to make myself feel better, I'll try to help anyone who reads this.

The final message:

  1. Never rush SBD/Steem account transfers.
  2. Always double check your recipient address and the memo.
  3. Be wary that after multiple wallet transfers, your private key isn't needed for each transaction.
  4. Following recipients helps by their name popping up to avoid typos.

@steemmatt

Source

Sort:  

Could happen to anyone. Check your wallet. You were sped up by 7 hours.

Looks like you're not the ONLY one who has had this happen. As a matter of fact, just for kicks I looked up to see if there were other usernames similar to @block. Turns out there is a @block and a @blocktrade as well. And if you were to ask me, I'd say they were set up just for the occasional mishap. Take a look. These guys have made a few hundred bucks on mistakes like yours. And some decent cash had been deposited there. Definitely not good, but not stupid either.

Dude, that sucks, I'm sorry. Don't understimate those 1.816 SBD, that was the money that you saved, it was yours. I made a mistake similar once, but I have learned that lesson. See you soon, I hope that you can fix that, and if you can't, it's not the end of the world, we're here to help you out

Thanks for your comments and encouragement.

I once send all my SBD 35, to steem basic income, while I wanted only one share. On the phone it’s sonetimes difficult to write in the correct field , and I pushed max accidentally . They luckely send me 34 back when I asked for it, together with good advice.

XDDDDD This is the best thing I reed today.

At least you recovered it, think about what would happen if not :c

I fucked up last week myself with a blocktrades transaction.

After a almost a full bottle of vodka I tried to send steem through blocktrades as BTC but I accidently selected BCC or BCH (whatever bitcoin cash is) to my Binance account and I used a BTC address on Binance to receive it.

I realised what I did as soon as I confirmed it and I thought I'd sent it into the void and would never see it again.

It must be a common mistake though, after about an hour it automagically appeared in my Binance account as Bitcoin cash, so Binance must have an automated idiot detection system that fixes that problem.

Oh man. Thankfully you had a good sense of humor about it and it worked out in the end with the funds reaching your account in some form.

I hate hate hate vodka ever since I got very sick from it when I was in high school. Don't know how on earth you handle that much being in such great physical shape!

I hope you all the best bro @steemmatt i think your post so benefit and give me more information to do transfer sbd ,visit my blog @muhammadddzacky

you need to transfer all of your sbd and steem to me and that it :)

Too soon!! Too soon!!

Yeah your advice is so effective.
I had also done that type of mistake.

This is a really important message! This could easily happen to anyone :/...

its very informative post. this post is very nice for me.
thank you sir.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68373.55
ETH 2650.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71