Steemit Blockchain Memory Project - Dad Malan the Inventor

in #blockchainmemoryproject6 years ago (edited)

I've been digging into the archives of memories as I was busy baking for a cooking contest here on steemit, using cooking implements made by my Dad many moons ago.

IMG_20180827_171944.jpg
Gem squash cutter used for cutting butternut

My Mom will be 87 in three days time, but still gets out the old rolling pin my Dad made as well as the pastry cutters as she loves baking, pastry being her (as well as my) favourite bake.

IMG_20180829_142149_1.jpg

IMG_20180826_124948.jpg

Dad was one of eleven children, remember there was no television in those days ;) - one sister and the rest boys - must be a thing with our family as I was the only girl among five children as well!

Growing up in the depression years could not have been easy, but my very talented father's positive outlook did not allow him to wallow in self pity.
No, he would make things if he could not buy them - plus invent all kinds of implements, be it for baking or whatever to make everyday tasks easier.

Malan Johan.jpg

My Dad as a young man on the right hand side of photo with a friend

We only had one radio back in the days before television came to South Africa, yet there was music in every room of the house as Dad installed speakers everywhere - almost like the old drive-in movies where you put your speaker on the car window, if anyone remembers those :) Of course it drove some of us dilly as we did not all like the same music, could turn the volume down of course, but then Dad bought me an LP player in my teens so sounds of the Beatles and sometimes classical music would get mixed up with his Boeremusiek that I really did not fancy; but when the radio dramas came on, we'd all be listening to those!

Dad was a fitter and turner by trade but I truly believed he missed his calling - should have been an educator as he loved explaining mechanical mechanisms - even tried getting me to understand mechanics! No wonder all my brothers are quite nifty with all kinds of stuff.

My father also was an awesomely talented musician born with a musical ear - taught himself to play many instruments - saxophone, clarinet, guitar, piano accordion, concertina among his favourites.

So I'm told Mom and Dad met through my Oupa (Grandpa), who played in a band with Dad's brother.
Dad later formed his own band and they used to play at some pretty grand occasions I'm told; it was the ballroom era after all!
Dad wooed Mom with his guitar playing and he caught her - hook, line and sinker!

MalanLily troue.jpg
Wedding Bells rang out on 19 January 1952

In the photo below, Dad is playing the concertina and Mom the piano; although she says she only knew the chords, could not really play; but their pianist let them down for a big Boeremusiek competition, so she had to stand in; they still came second in the competition :)

Boeremusiek is instrumental folk music played in South Africa at dances and festive occasions. It actually originated in Europe, but changed to its own unique sound when it was brought to South Africa and Namibia. The concertina and piano accordion are the main instruments, with button harmonicas, piano, guitar, cello or bass guitar as well as harmonica used.

Malan band.jpg

My Dad built a vending push cart from scratch for Mom's little home industry - she made pies, jaffles (toasted sandwiches cooked in a jaffle iron press), crumpets filled with jam plus other delicacies, sold at the textile factories nearby, sadly no photos of that!

This extra income was great as it helped getting us through school, pay for sporting activites, piano lessons etc etc, plus we were able to go on three week annual holidays by the sea year in and year out!

Angling was another passion of my father's, and the rest of my family as well ;)
Preparations always were part of the adventure - Dad made his own sinkers, special pumps to suction bait from the lagoons, lures were made up and the tides and moon phases were studied - fishing was quite a science with him.

Then one day I cut my hand quite badly trying to cut a gem squash, this was another problem my Dad had to solve, so he made a Gem Squash cutter which I still use today.
This invention of my Dad was stolen and turned into a Biltong Cutter, a story told by my nephew @therneau about his grandpa about a year ago.

IMG_20180827_171944.jpg

It's ancient but still works like a charm & I use it to cut up all kinds of vegetables

My favourite was the tart and snack carrier Dad made as Mom always was tasked with baking for family get togethers; I got involved with function catering later on and this came in very handy. Dad took out a patent for it and approached two manufacturers but they could not see it as a viable product, so he did not pursue it further, much to my disdain as I knew just how useful it was.

IMG_20180829_152112.jpg
Ancient but still functional!

My Dad was a kind and gentle man, a gentleman too, and always busy on a project or two. He hated retirement, so started working half days at their church as their handyman. He loved this job and the people also loved him; one of his tasks was to fetch all the old dears and bring them to the women's auxiliary meetings - the minister said he was the only one who could drive their ancient VW Kombi :)

Dad always said he hopes to never be a burden to his family - he never was, as he left this world with no goodbyes one morning after suffering a burst aortic aneurism - a huge shock for us but a great way for him to go as he was still very active and never a burden; one of the kindest and most considerate men I've known.

I miss you Dad Malan and wish we could talk just one more time so I could say how thankful and privileged I was to have been your daughter!

These memories have been stored for future generations using the #blockchainmemoryproject, initiated by the wonderfully talented author @ericvancewalton.
Check out his original post Steemit Blockchain Memory Project for the rules of engagement.

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

That squash cutter is genius! Maybe he should have patented it.

Just because this suggestion is so bad, i must comment.

Getting a patent is the worst thing an inventor can do with his time.
Not only is it a time sink, but it will bring endless amounts of pain and suffering to the inventor.

The patent process is only for large corporations that already have a full time lawyer on staff.

Thank you for that @builderofcastles! I read up about it now and see that's not for the little guys.

I think he did, but something went wrong there. Thanks for stopping by @natubat, have a great week :)

Thanks! You too :)

Your Dad reminds me of my granddad and my father-in-law. Both were what most people refer to as tinkers, but you could give them any problem and it would be solved shortly. I still have the rolling pin that Grandad made for me. Made of solid cherry wood and is very heavy but makes great pastry!

Those are special people indeed, things would get fixed in a jiffy! That's just like my Dad! Must try and find out what wood my Dad used, that rolling pin is heavy too but like you say, is magic for pastry!
Thanks for sharing this!

Our parents most definitely appear to come from the 'same cut of cloth', my dad after the war years married, we lived on 1/3rd acre stand approximately, his passion was gardening/cooking.

We had just about every fruit imaginable, he was a magnificent cook making bottled fruits, made jam, vegetables fresh from the garden to the plate.

Mom excelled in sewing, all our clothing was made at home, very seldom off the shelf. Her passion was sewing, decorating the house with items seen in shops, when I was working I could give her a brief description on what I had seen, within a week or two I would have a completely new outfit for work.

Your lovely content brought back fond memories, with both parents working it sometimes baffles you as to how much could be done in a day.

Lovely memories, thanks for sharing @joanstewart, life certainly was very different back then. Today everything is instant! No hard toiling to get something, even if you don't have the cash to buy it, no problem, there's credit cards etc etc. Quite a change, I really think we appreciated material things more in the old days. Thanks for stopping by, have a great week :)

he sounds like a great man and he would be proud that you turned out so well, the apple doesn't fall far from the tree.

Thank you mr Papper!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 245 (9/02/18)

Thank you so much for adding to the #blockchainmemoryproject @lizelle! These memories of your father were priceless. It sounds like he was a wonderful man.

Thank you so much for your lovely comments @ericvancewalton and for initiating #blockchainmemoryproject, these memories now are here forever, would have gotten lost as I had to ask Mom about it!
Thank you also for the sbd, very kind of you :)

Some wonderful memories of oupa :) I didn't know he had so many siblings, phew. Well, you stated the obvious, lol

I wish I could have seen oupa one more time as well. It was such a long time since I saw him before he passed. I remember how he used to try and get me interested in stuff in the garage however I preferred running around, kicking an empty 2 litre colddrink bottle around ;)

Oh, and the boeremusiek. Didn't like it either. Think it was once a week that it came on the tele in my time.

Love you oupa and mis you always!

Thank you for sharing your memories of oupa @therneau, but I do think you were watching in between the playing, look at the stuff you've made already. You should share some of your projects here, I especially liked your wine barrel chairs!

Lovely post friend. So full of love and kindness. Your dad is surely a great person!

Thank you so much @cave-man:)

The roller is still in use in India. Indian chapati cant be made without it. Your dad looks smarter and fitter...good to know the family👌

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah thank you so much @steemflow, my Dad certainly had style!
That rolling pin works pastry like a charm :) I just love Indian cookery by the way, my absolute favourite. Fortunately we have a rich Indian culture here in Durban!

Ohhh...SA is indians second home i believe....many indianz live there.....so many restaurant would be there..

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes you're right, have you heard of a bunny chow, a Durban invention?
IMG_20180709_184343.jpg

Not yet @lizelle..what it is...?

Posted using Partiko Android

A bunny chow is a hollowed out loaf of bread filled with curry, very popular and synonymous with Durban. Really delicious way to serve curry as the bread soaks up the gravy. It's usually shared between friends :)

Ohh...never heard of it but i did googled it once you shared it. Seems quite interesting

Posted using Partiko Android

My mum had a rolling pin that I think was passed down from her mum seeing your mums one makes me wonder if my sister has the rolling pin now

I to remember the days before we had a TV growing up back in NZ

Those were great days, the kids laugh today when we tell them how we used to sit around the radio and listen to the dramas :)
Thanks for stopping by @tattoodjay!

@lizelle Ohh yeah the idea of having no TV or no internet is just bizarre to today's kids

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59796.03
ETH 2732.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52