Understanding Blockchain Freedom — Episode 002: What Is Cryptocurrency?

Episode 002: What Is Cryptocurrency?



In this video we'll talk a bit about what cryptocurrency actually is (i.e. blockchain technology).

To set the groundwork, please watch this fantastic video by @andersbrownworth

There are many different blockchains and cryptocurrencies out there, and we'll discuss how you can figure out which ones are worth your time.

We'll talk about the nature of value and why cryptocurrencies matter so much to our species which thrives with freedom.

Also mentioned in this video:



Please subscribe to Understanding Blockchain Freedom on YouTube with notifications so you'll know when each new video is released.

You can share this with your friends via http://understandingblockchainfreedom.com

Though I could put these behind a paywall and create email drip campaigns to sell them as informational products, I'd rather make this content available for free for everyone. I hope to provide enough value that some will decide to reward me for my time.

SBD/STEEM: @lukestokes
Bitcoin: https://onename.com/lukestokes
BitShares: luke-stokes
Ethereum: lukestokes.eth

Music by Nathan Brumley.

Logo conceived and designed by @gomatthew http://www.gomatthew.com/

Previous Episodes:


Thank you for supporting this project. I hope it's useful to you, your friends, and your family. I appreciate you resteeming episodes of this project as well as sharing them on your social media outlets so we can educate more people about the decentralized future.

As a programmer and Steemit witness, I want to help bridge the gap between technology and understanding. I'm constantly working to improve my communication skills to help others. Thank you for giving me a witness vote.


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, business owner, programmer, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Visit UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

Sort:  

Always bringin that value!

Thanks! I've got a lot to learn as I figure out how to do this video marketing thing, but I'm enjoying the process so far!

You're good, I need to start doing some videos also 😂

Crypto cuts out the middle man and all of the waste and corruption that comes with having a third party between you and your economic activities.

Well said. :)

Thank you!

Useful information shared on twitter

Thanks for sharing!

Thanks for the education Luke. As a cautious investor new to cryptocurrency, it is nice to get some clarity from a person with experience. I will look forward to the next video. Have a great week!

Thank you! Please let me know if there are any specific questions you'd like answered in more detail.

This may seem dumb and you may be planning to address it in a future video, but I just don't know the mechanics of going from cash in my checking account to holding a currency. How does the idea of a wallet compare to an account at a financial institution like a bank or brokerage? Then once I own currency, securing that asset. Trying not to feel dumb asking what seems basic around here, but anxious to learn.

I think we get so used to using middle men financial institutions to hold our assets that the idea of handling an asset myself feels a little foreign.

Yes, the next video will get into exactly that. It's certainly a tricky process understanding how exchanges work, why you need to be careful using them, and basically why, with cryptocurrency, you are your own bank and there is no protection other than what you provide yourself. Stay tuned!

Thanks Luke, I thought you were headed there next.

Really good work what you are doing @lukestokes. Upvoted and Resteemed.
Best wishes from @welovesteemit.

Thanks for sharing!

You are very welcome @lukestokes :-)

<3

Great info for anyone.

Glad to hear that. My hope is to make it approachable for anyone, not just techies like me.

Pretty great episode and you even included the "philosophy of liberty" video. I'm resteeming this.

Looking forward to seeing a Stitcher like Steem app for this type of content soon hopefully.

Thanks! Yeah, that philosophy of liberty video is one of my favorites.

That and Ron Pauls lecture on ethics was what first caused me to seriously consider anarcho-capitalism. It took a lot of reading, watching and thinking after that obviously to seal the deal, but it was a major contributor!

Great insights on why cryptocurrencies have been growing in value. Will watch the Brownworth video tomorrow. Thanks for recommending. Congrats on moving up to 35.

Thanks Jason! I'm pretty excited about it too.

it is a very informative blog.....you may visit my blog also for interesting travel blogs i love to travel and i will be daily uploading about trips you can resteem my posts also ... follow me for interesting travel blogs

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.93
ETH 3441.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63