Steem Integration on OpenBazaar?

in #blockchain5 years ago (edited)


OpenBazaar has been adding coins to their platform and of course, I wonder if we could get Steem on there. I did my due diligence and I don't see any signs of anyone working on that from this platform or theirs.

I reached out to their sub-Reddit with the question. <- Go check it out and upvote, and or comment to let them see some interest, please.

I also applied to join their Slack channel, so hopefully, I'll get to talk with them sometime shortly.

The project has come a really long way since I started following them a couple of years ago. It is trivial to install the desktop version and set up a store or buy through the app. It is getting fairly close to being ready for prime time as best as I can tell and they are rolling out updates and features regularly.

There isn't a web or mobile version yet, but news seems to indicate that those may be ready later this year.

Would you use OpenBazaar?

I have a much more detailed write up that I have been working on, but I am really curious if folks around here would be interested in using OpenBazaar at all an especially if there was Steem integration.

Would you help support integration?

If they said that integration is possible, but we need to provide the code, would you be willing to help support that effort?

I'll wait for a response from them and see what they say and report back.

FYI, you can already buy and sell Steem on the platform along with pretty much all the other cryptos too.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://trade.diggndeeper.com/steem-integration-on-openbazaar/
Sort:  

This post has been included in the latest edition of SoS Daily News - a digest of all the latest news on the Steem blockchain.

Thank you!! Now we need a Steem Dev to look at this and hopefully work on it. Here is a post for that:
https://busy.org/@diggndeeper.com/dev-wanted-for-openbazaar-integration

Will pop this Dev Wanted post ^^ in the news post I am just compiling at the moment.

Awesome! Thanks!

I'm sure people would step up and help them out with how to set up steem the easiest way possible. We don't require expensive servers either. ;)

@acidyo According to them, we need a motivated dev to see if there are any obvious gaps in the coin's ability to meet this interface.

https://github.com/OpenBazaar/wallet-interface/blob/master/wallet.go

Would you want to make a post looking for one? I'd resteem it and share it around to people who may be up for it.

Absolutely. I'll get to it.

Absolutely. I'll
Get to it. I'll plan to post
It in the morning.

                 - diggndeeper.com


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Who would be good to contact about that?
Good point about the servers.

It would be nice to have a reasonable presentation to give them. Sadly, I'm just a dill-weed that doesn't know much, but I would be stoked to help out any way I can.
ralph.gif

If you get them interested in adding steem then taking care of the other shouldn't be a problem, I can help get it to the right people quickly.

Awesome. I'll let you know.
Thanks!

Deleted, not relevant now.

I just sent a tweet to Brian Hoffman (founder of Open Bazaar) asking to look into STEEM integration. I met him and talked with him for a bit at a conference in London last year. It would be HUGE for us. A place where steem users can go to spend their earnings, or make some more by selling stuff. Great idea dude

Brian is a fucking mensch. Hit them up in the OpenBazaar slack and link them to this thread https://openbazaar.org/slack/ , love seeing this post as I swore I was the only one on Steemit wishing for OB to play nice together directly.

Awesome. I mentioned it a couple of times on there as well.
Shoot, while we are at it, why aren't they on here and why aren't they using Utopian?

Omg, I want this to happen very soon. Open bazaar is great for non-tech like me and it seems they already figured out a lot of things aside from Steem integration. I will do my own research as well, and spread news about it.

Thanks for this article 😊, I would not know about open bazaar if not for this post.

Very much for this for literally years https://steemit.com/openbazaar/@cryplectibles/let-s-campaign-for-steem-and-sbd-support-in-openbazaar

I see OpenBazaar use coins that I do not necessarily have use for and I see Steemit for years having no good marketplace for all the great arts and crafts people on here. It makes me sad when I see people get hopeful for things like Dstors when that was going on instead of focusing on being integrated into a fully functional marketplace that could use Steem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57716.25
ETH 3155.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26