I think I need to get out more...steemCreated with Sketch.

I think Block Island is such a beautiful place, and the day I got to travel around it with my man Jared, I found real pleasure in the isolation. With a gloomy forecast for Columbus Day weekend, the island was rather empty. The vacancy was refreshing, normally such places are tourist hot spots, and it was clear that the island is normally packed. The fog that blanketed the island kept things in a somber mood. It was not a day of vibrancy or color.

I almost let the minor setbacks this day get to me. I left my camera on campus that day, used an unfamiliar setup and lens, and I was worn out from biking cross the entire island. I think the moment adversity truly befalls us is the same moment we lose faith in ourselves. Scouring through some new manga recommended to me, and the main character, like in a lot of shonen manga, persevered as he saw it because eldest sons can handle the responsibility and take the pain.

I like the attitude. I definitely succumb to my weaknesses but in reality, I shouldn't considering I'm the eldest of three. The outlook definitely changes the outcome, and so I'll take all my challenges in stride going forth. Most things I go through are too tough for 2nd or 3rd children anyway... A new year is upon us, and such, my conviction can't be this weak.

I'm probably thinking too hard... So I'll just leave this here.

Sort:  

Days like this can be good reminders. Through deep and somber moods, grounding and realizations can be born. It is important to look for the lessons, as you did, and not get stuck in the fog.

I like that. Preciate your thoughts, Jon.

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us promote your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article will be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.


If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. You can read about it here.


I totally accept. Thanks for the invitation!

  • Same here!

    MikQuote™

amazing set man

preciate you brotha!

Wow that house in the 2nd picture looks straight out of a movie!

You have made 5 comments today in one of my 52 photography hashtags and received a 1 percent upvote for your effort!

>Learn more here<

Right? My friend said he used to stay there as a kid!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for posting in #blackandwhitephotography.

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 06:08:52
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 234.54/400.00
Total Photos: 19
Total comments: 7
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69460.30
ETH 3372.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74