[Warning] Bittrex clone site on Google Adwords

in #bittrex7 years ago

Screen Shot 2018-01-11 at 00.19.14.png

Let me start by saying that I am glad to be here and I am looking forward to being part of this great community.

Up until 10 minutes ago, I wondered what should I steem about as my excitement was peeking since my account was approved sometime today. Then, I came across this encounter of the shady kind. Somehow, Google Adwords approved what is clearly a phishing website built solely to steal your login details. Hell, it's a clone all the way to the URL, hardly noticeable if you are character blind like me in the first 5 seconds.

This could have easily turned into a disaster when you're casually on your way to check your exchange accounts autopilot stylez at 1 A.M.

Here are my two satoshis to better secure your trading accounts:

  1. Make sure to always use different passwords for your trading accounts and the email account you use as your username.

  2. Set up two-factor authentication on both your email and trading accounts.

  3. Bookmark your trading platforms and avoid accessing their websites through search engines.

  4. Tripple check the URL of your desired destination.

  5. Be positive.

Do you need clarification on anything? What do you want to learn next? Let me know in the comments!

Sort:  

Thank you for the heads up :D

Thank you for your feedback :)

Congratulations @my2satoshis, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Following you!

Congratulations @my2satoshis! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @my2satoshis! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55758.52
ETH 2348.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31