The good news for BTS

in #bitshares7 years ago (edited)

With all the talk going on about delisting (like twenty posts back to back saying exactly the same thing) and people panicing about the price in the past two days, I would like to show you something good for a changeScreenshot_20171005-100809.png

This is a screenshot from CMC, it shows the 24h volume of BTS. The DEX volume is identical to bittrex's, up from around 2-5% in the past.

Stop the panic, move to the DEX, everything's fine!

Sort:  

Excellent point from ravid here. Combining all BTS exchanges on Bittrex gives a 24hr volume of $2,073,746. Doing the same for BitShares Asset Exchange gives $2,013,573. This is at 2017oct05 0509EST. That is, BitShares DEX 24hr volume is 97% of Bittrex BTS volume. Bittrex might as well hang a welcome sign on the BitShares distributed exchanges.

I am new to BitShares, so please forgive me if I am making some simple mistake here.

BTW, I just became a BitShares lifetime member and converted all of my (modest) BTC and ETH holdings into BTS during this Bittrex-sponsored WarrenBuffet sale of BTS. Planning to hold until this time next year. I suspect it might be up a bit from where it is now...:-)
temp.png

A quick update to my earlier post, a comment on ravid's post about the volume on the BTS part of Bittrex and the Bitshares DEX. It looks like volume on the Bitshares DEX has fallen off compared to Bittrex. Could that be a where-is-it noon on the globe issue -- anyone know of a site which will plot a running average of 24hr volume percentage between exchanges, say in moving 5-min steps? Just curious about where Bittrex and DEX users are on Earth!

I am loving learning how to use the BitShares DEX, spent all day messing about on it rather than doing my real work and to-dos. Luck was with me and I managed to buy on the dip with my all-in move and saw a 16% increase over 8 hours. Started worrying about losing my gains as part of my (fun) trial-and-error learning on how to trade smartcoins. Bought many bitXYZ and OPEN.ABC, tried to swap some about, confused myself about red-green up-down "wait...if that has increased...I want to sell...no, wait..." etc. Good times! After I have my fun and pay my dues I will need to finds some "this is how an exchange works" articles here.

One of the smart tokens I bought was OPEN.STEEM which I understand is exchangable 1-to-1 with STEEM. Next objective is to send steem to myself through steemit and openledger and see how that works. And wow! looks like I have $1.73 from my first comment! I think you steempunks might be on to something here...

Good work @ravid and @rtc!

Great stats to get out there for everyone to see!

Bitshares is King :)

Yes, I bought some more while it is at a low and moved it all to BTS. Here's hoping they spike up soon!

The need of the moment. Thank you! Resteemed

Hey man, do you know how this "promote" thing works? I've tried it and it says i have insufficient funds. How much does it cost? Doesn't it spend whatever i tell it to spend or is there some minimal amount?

Sure. It takes SBD, of which you have 4.6, so thats the limit to which you can spend. When you click the Promote button, you'll see your balance too, and if you use balance less than that, there shouldn't be an issue. Also, you might want to see how much others are spending on promotion and what placement they're getting. Here's a post I did a while ago: https://steemit.com/steemit/@graphicalx/how-to-see-how-much-someone-paid-to-promote-a-post

Let me know if this helps or if you have any questions!

Yes, thanks, now it worked. Just needed to turn my phone sideways to see the "amount" field properly

BitShares is a great concept, they just REALLY need to work on their user interface!

What's wrong with the UI? I see lots of people saying this but not one gave any specifics. There are a few known functionality issues that are being solved right now or have been already solved but to say that they have bad or not user friendly interface is just wrong. You say it like there are millions of people that are dying to use bitshares but their UI is driving them away

Well... Don't get me wrong. It's "ok" as a UI, but could be much improved.
(edit; I just looked at their website again, it has been a while, and it does look better than a month or two ago)
But
Volume is low
Coins I trade are not there (yet)
The whole openledger vs bitshares.org is not user-friendly for a beginner.

Well if you have some real suggestions that you could define with words (not something like "i don't know, it just feels wrong") then you are very welcome to tell the guys that are working on improving the UI right now about those suggestions. Maybe your input will be so revolutionary that everyone will switch over to bts at once. Then you'll have volume

Haha sure! Don't be so defensive. I like bitshares, it's just not my trading platform for now. Decentralized exchange is the way to go for the future. ;)

I am not defensive, I'm serious, making bitshares better is always welcome here. And the only way to move forward is user feedback

Well, for one, the deposit/withdraw tab needs some work to reduce confusion.

You should tell this guy @richcg everything about it

@cmtzco has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Whatever @resteembot resteems, I resteem too!
I am a new, simple to use and cheap resteeming bot
I will automatically resteem posts resteemed by @resteembot until 2017-10-15 00:00:01 +00:00
If you want to read more about me, read my introduction post.

Great post Ravid.

BitShares DEX Rules!

V/r,
Kevin Messerly

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62