Bits and Pieces - Raise your hands if you left Poloniex

in #bitsandpieces7 years ago

Poloniex credited my now $21k lost Steem deposit after six and a half months.

Long ago and far away...
I deposited a few thousand Steem at Poloniex and used the wrong memo. The money arrived with no account to land in. I explained this to them and got AI responses that can't understand human error. Still the money was there and their accounting department should now there was extra sitting there. Real people picked up the case a month ago, and I finally got my money back - now worth $20,000 or so!

News, Rants and Thoughts

First

We have the Poloniex thing. Good news for me, I mean, I am happy to have my money back. But, I sell coins to people almost every day. Now everyone I sell to has been moving to the BTS Dex (decentralized exchange). That plus my persistent mentions of Poloniex on my blogs.

The + is 6354 Steem back in my account.

The - is that it took 200 days.

gotmystembackPoloniex.jpg

Anyway, I have to give a shout out that there is hope

if you have lost money on Poloniex. They are a day late and a dollar short like many failed companies that hire staff way too late in an attempt to fix the support-ticket pileup they have. They have lost many many customers, and I still advise caution caution when dealing with Poloniex.

Second

bitshares

I wanted to announce that the Steem and the BTS blockchains are the only ones that have hit one million transactions per day mark. The first ones in crypto history.

I am still learning the ins and outs of the exchange and its capabilities. But I remain very positive with the currencies (smartcoins) and crypto-currencies that I can trade there. Many who buy from me are happy they are able to buy bitUSD (Dollars) from me, giving them the option to wait and buy their preferred coin at a strategic price. Up until now, they would set a meeting with me and if the price of Dash spiked, they would be forced to buy at the peak. If the price was down, I would limit the amount they could buy from me to avoid losses on my end.

Third

whales

You haven't heard from me regarding more TakeMyVotes contests for good reason. Right after the last contest, booster (the whale bot) seemed to be unattended like a runaway robot. The account went into the 50% voting power range and it was voting wildly on everyone or anyone.

I am not sure what happened, but it was off kilter and shut down for recharging.

Recently, I see it working properly and I hope to run another contest to bring better curation rewards for all. Remember! When you see this image - vote 100% and you will have hundreds voting after you, which is what raises curation dollars.

Fourth

I searched for articles when bitcoin took a dive. All mainstream magazine sites saying what percentage of bitcoin's value has been lost in x number of days. None of them said why.

Bitcoin has always bounced off of a new psychological high

It is quite normal for bitcoin to see hesitation at new highs, especially big round numbers. I saw it do that at 100, 500, 1000, 10,000 and now 20,000. But, there is more to this bounce.

At all the other mile markers, bitcoin blasted past each price line after some downward and sideways movement. Those were the days! Bitcoin was fast, cross-borders, and free. Now, it's slow, embarrassing and costs as much as Western Union.

The hype is still huge - everybody wants in! But they don't know what they are getting into. I don't sell bitcoins any longer. I stopped a year ago when the coin broke. I sell dash, bitshares smartcoins, ethereum, anything that still works quickly. Don't get me wrong, your coins won't be lost, if they don't show up at the site you sent them to in, let's say, two weeks? They will be returned to the wallet you sent them from.

Why the $6,000 drop?

So, we have thousands of newbies with bitcoins. They love how fast you can sell and then rebuy bitcoins on an exchange but when you withdraw them, the bitcoins go in to limbo quite some time. That is, of course, if the exchange doesn't hold your money until you provide an ID and a copy of your most recent phone or electric bill.

Their money arrives hours later and the confirmations start to build up. Fear then relief. They send some to another site or person and find out that you really have to be lucky to get a transaction to go through. Many call me hours or days after I sold them (not bit)coins asking me why their bitcoins left but don't arrive at the other side. I dig though blockchain.info and send them screenshots of where their bitcoin is stuck.

A a bit of advise. Keep your money in altcoins until you absolutely have no other option. Trade transfer and hold something other than bitcoins until you are at the page that only has a bitcoin QR. Then convert and send it. Again, caution because shapeshift and changelly have lost my money and I have had to chase it for weeks.

Don't worry, someday bitcion will scale

This drop in price is just a reaction to bitcoin disappointing mass quantities of people who jumped in feet first. After they get some and try to trade wallet to wallet, they find out that it's no fun waiting for hours or days. I have been there, it's a desperate feeling especially when you are sending thousands of dollars.


I am on bitshares - The decentralized crypto exchange!

Click here to get your Account.

If you like what I am doing UpVote and Let Me Know Below!!!

Sort:  

I am another victim .
I send around 60 steem to poloniex 10 days ago but still waiting to see them on my poloniex wallet 😓
it sucks😤 @poloniex is not a good service provider

Yes. The problem is we take anyname.com and let them have powers that banks have. They are not required to do anything for you. I am not saying we need regulation, but rather self control!

We have to stop sending our money to people we don't know. Yes, these sites started out as just one person making a "dot com" web site. They will stay with it as long as they can make a fee. When they have to hire people for customer service, some fail. MtGox, and BitInstant come to mind.

You are right ! but then one thing that push my mind to start thinking again about these websites is that on which website I can trust to make exchanges of my coins and to trade with them , and again the answer is these anyname.com .
Its very difficult to find that one website with all facilities that a crypto trader wants . 🤔🤔🤔

I lost a month ago. I plan to sell $ 14 for my 23 SBD. I transferred to poloniex and was not refunded, I'm worried I will lose this amount

Maybe I am just one of the lucky ones. Write to them and if they don't answer, write posts about them. The people have a voice and bad press will maybe save the next victim from joining Poloniex.

How can I write to them? Please show me. I also wrote an article about poloniex a month ago, but I do not see any response. I have read many news about this issue, people predict it wants to keep people's money until the price down.

TL;DR

I don't blame you.. Holy shit, that's a COMMENT. My bad. Just something I'm passionate about..
These exchanges and their shitty customer service and market manipulation tactics (wallets under "maintenance" during times they don't want people buying/selling, simulated crashes by selling in large quantities when dips begin to buy up the fear sells at even lower prices, not responding to emails until markets act a certain way or until they decide they want to let go of a certain amount of capital, etc.. I've seen it all..) are what I'm against. I'm tired of people not being able to get their money or have their issues dealt with in a timely manner and honestly, it all seems a bit scammy with poloniex. Pull out as soon as you can and don't trust any exchange currently, just my opinion. I'd buy/sell in small amounts using instant exchanges like shapeshift and hold any crypto in cold wallets on your computer somewhere safe or a thumb drive.. lol


I sensed a lot of market manipulation tactics from poloniex.. unfortunately.. bittrex wasn't much better and had much higher prices and fees.. To me, my experience with any of the other 20+ exchanges I've tried in the past few months has been so terrible.. It's actually unmentionable in my eyes, simply for the fact that, to me, even saying their name would be a form of promotion and I don't even want anyone to deal with them.. even out of CURIOSITY. LOL.

It seems there needs to be a new platform where people aren't getting screwed and customer support is intensive.. Something along the lines of actually having people you can call on the phone at any given time, TRUE customer support.. not some "email us and we'll get back to you" or some automated response email telling you how "valuable" you are.. yet it takes weeks/months to hear from a human.. To me, it makes more sense to not have an email contact, but rather have phone lines and you can talk to real people who can work on your account in real-time. THIS is what would please MANY people and the fact of the matter is that it's not being done because a lot of these exchanges are being designed from the ground up to be exit-scams.. it's fucked up.. I learned the hard way with many exchanges.. but most notably.. Cryptsy took basically my LIFE from me in earnings/savings/gains from trading crypto.. but it seemed legit.. and customer support worked fine.. for a long time.. thus gaining as much of a user-base as it did.. but it wasn't legit. It ran so flawlessly though.. That people lost millions of dollars... billions at today's rates.. in crypto holdings..

The lesson to be learned was.. never keep more than 20-30% of your total amount you're willing to risk in any given exchange.. let alone "cloud mining" site or anything of that sort that I consider very very very high risk.. It's sad that we can't trust people to hold our money, pay them FEES (profit in their pocket for their work designing the sites) that fatten their pockets beyond their wildest dreams.. yet they STILL have the gall to run off with everyone's money.. When theoretically.. they could just operate legitimately and be billionaires before death on fees alone on day-trading.. not to mention their own personal selling and buying when there are dips/peaks.. To me, even as a thief.. just charge higher fees.. don't exit scam.. there will always be people who will be willing to pay higher fees.. then you don't have to steal.. well.. not in a completely shitty way, at least.. and you can have all that shit that you're greedy for.. and not make people completely hate you and not trust shit ever again fully..

I have a domain I wanted to do something like that with.. but I don't have the coding or web knowledge to create such an exchange or maintain it and I'd need a team regardless to protect it from security threats and hacks.. If I had guidance I'd get shit done, cuz I'm tired of getting screwed by exchanges. Both in response time/quality/effort and in fees.. It's simply greed when they trade in volumes that they do and charge the traders what they do.. it may seem "minimal" but it's profit-driven. Fuck that. I just want reliability and I will be happy to pay the fees, but in lacking that.. There needs to be more options.. Solid ones.. With clarity and AMAZING customer support.

I think I'm going to try to dedicate myself to learning the skills I need.. but the community needs this RIGHT NOW lol.. so I just wish I could do something.. my domain is PERFECT for anything crypto/tech-related.

Sorry for your loss and thanks for letting us know about poloniex.. will be carefu@ htooms..

Hey Htooms, sorry to hear about your loss with Poloniex and thanks for warning us about their service. I know it has been frustrating dealing with them.

Fam I happy you got your money back. I recently got bitshares account and I am gradually learning how to use it.

also, i appreciate what you are doing so i gave some tiny mini lil cent upvote that i got lol.

I thought you were having some holiday time. seems it is the booster bot that is the problem here.

Take my vote is dope. I am always sure of good curation.

Never Ever gonna revert to Poloniex again, even if they give services free of cost.
I got my Poloniex deposit last week and it just didn't took me 5 minutes to zero my wallet there and transfer to bittrex.
Regarding BTS, still to understand how it works, but will research more about it as i have some little altcoin there as well (got some gift i guess). Never did ponder why BTC took steep dip last week. Thanks for making it clear.
Looking forward for the Take My Vote contest!!!

See it here in full size

Htooms do you manage Booster?

No, It was started by @fyrstikken as the big investor and@inertia who writes the code for the bot. They are very accessible if you need them - just to to Discord and join steemspeak. There is an invite code on all ov my earlier posts. Not clickable now- something got deleted a few months back on my blog templet.

You've got more steem than I could ever imagine having! Holy shit! LOL
I'd give my pinky finger for that much STEEM. ;)
Maybe even both of them.. Haha

Glad poloniex figured things out for you!
That'd be so much money just gone.. I couldn't imagine that.. Then again.. I couldn't imagine having that much to begin with.. I've only ever made that amount in maybe a year at a job.. lol

you have no idea - unless you read my early power up posts. I was number 47 ? or 74 ? on steemwhales and I posted an screenshot of that at one point. Then my ex found out this user name and I moved it all.

Holy shit, that's incredible.. lol
Too bad about your ex.. that's some shitty shit.. I'm rooting for you to get it all back and be up there on the list! :P

No I still have it. I just scattered it around on many accounts after annonymizing it all. I still have a couple accounts that are near the top one hundred on steemwales .com

I just don't keep it all here on @htooms

:O
You're wealthier than my family. lol
If I had that type of wealth, my daughter would never struggle a day in her life.. Well.. beyond her first 1-3 years of adulthood.. so she could appreciate my gift to her. :)

I must have misread things prior. I was under the impression your ex had somehow taken your wealth. lol. I was sad for you. Glad to hear you were just anonymizing! That's pretty important these days. I was considering making a new account possibly.. just so that my personal name and such wouldn't be used. Idk though. It could have it's benefits.. lol

Am happy that you were able to recover your money back. This just taught me not to lost hope no matter what

Man I remember when this happened! I am glad you were able to get the coins put back into your account! It is unfortunate it took so long, but good for Poloniex to eventually get them back there. I agree with you about BTS! I love them!

I think these web site based crypto companies need to have humans dealing with problems so that they don't leave people hanging. Word of mouth can make or break a company. It's just bad business sense what they did.

It's easier to keep a customer than to get one back.

Having that human on the other side is very important! Word of mouth is extremely important and people far too often dismiss this!

Yay ! @htooms is back !! :D

Glad you got your money back, dude !
You probably had given up on it, right ? :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55