Bitfilm of the Day (August 31, 2016): Keith

in #bitfilmoftheday8 years ago (edited)

Keith by Luke Kondor is the first film in our competition that has been directly submitted to it. This happened today, after our founder @aaronkoenig wrote this post.

Keith has that "punk rock" attitude towards digital filmmaking that we love: it was made without a budget, without actors, even without a camera - all it took was a brilliant idea and seven days of hard work. Inspite of its simplicity it is a masterpiece of suspense. It was awarded Best Low Budget Short Film at The London Short Film Festival.

Here is what Luke wrote about it himself on Steemit.

Please submit your film here!


The Results of our Competition so Far:

Bitfilm of the Day (August 29): Over Time 34 Votes (first 24 hours)

Bitfilm of the Day (August 30): City Paradise 51 Votes (first 24 hours)


The Rules of the Competition:  

 1. Each day from Monday to Friday at 7 pm CET we will present the "Bitfilm of the Day".

 2. All votes have the same weight.  

 3. The number of votes in the first 24 hours after a film's launch in the competion are counted.

 4. The Steem Dollars generated until the disclosure of the winner are collected.  

 5. The film with the most votes (regardless of the voters' Steem Power) wins the prize "Bitfilm of the Week". It will be disclosed on Sunday of that week.  

 6. 70% of the collected Steem Dollars of that week go to the winning film maker. The rest pays the curator's work of selecting and presenting the films. Steem Dollars that are collected after the disclosure of the winner stay with @bitfilm.  

 7. The Steem Power remains with @bitfilm. It will be used to upvote all films of the competition.  

 8. We will contact the winners of the Prize. If they do not redeem their prize one month after the disclosure of their "Bitfilm of the Week", the prize money will be changed into Steem Power for @bitfilm.

Sort:  

Amazing! Thanks for featuring the film. If anybody has any questions about how I made it, feel free to comment here :).

This is my favourite one until now.
@lukeofkondor How did you do it, can you tell a bit more about your work ?

Thanks @mallorca!

Yeah of course. So I made this particular film in this particular way because I couldn't get any funding from any of the UK Film Funding bodies. I was applying for various schemes for about 2+ years to no avail and it was really getting me down.

So I said f*ck it and I decided to make a film in no money, no actors, no camera, and in 7 days.

I used trial software such as Camtasia and Adobe Creative Cloud. I used royalty-free sound effects and music from an audiobook I'd produced a year or so before. And I used myself as the main character and my girlfriend (now fiancée) as the only actor.

It was a bit of a jigsaw puzzle to make. I had to create several fake social media accounts and hit record on my computer and send myself messages to myself from my own phone and vice versa.

I'll be honest. On the 7th day when I finished the film I really had no idea how it had turned out but ... I think it did pretty well. I'm really proud of it now.

I've since written a feature-length film script for it but I definitely would need some money to get that project off the ground.

Sounds really great. I hope you are continuing with your work. Did you do more films ? I'm very curious to watch more of your films.

I've made one film since then. It's called Doghouse. I've got a couple more in the pipeline but that may be a long way off yet.

Amazing short-film, very good example what a great story in combination with sound and vfx can do. I just followed the filmmaker. Thanks again for bringing this to steemit, @bitfilm.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60185.13
ETH 3290.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44