The aftermath of Bitconnect scam - 30 June 2018

in #bitconnect6 years ago (edited)

no-money-2070384.jpg

While the shock continues to ripple through many victims veins, many of us still can’t believe what has happened.

This is my story and how Bitconnect influenced my life…

For those of you that don’t know, Bitconnect was a cryptocurrency lending platform. The company promised continuous daily growth on your investment, and promised investment returns far beyond what any other platform could provide. Guaranteed to earn investors up to 40 percent total return per month, BitConnect followed a four-tier investment system based on the sum of initial deposit – the more cash you put down, the bigger and faster profits you could rake in. The company, which made its foray into the cryptocurrency scene with an initial coin offering (ICO) in late December 2016, swiftly cemented its position as one of 2017’s best performing currencies on CoinMarketCap. Indeed, during its heyday, BitConnect boasted a market cap of over $2.6 billion and a value exceeding the $400 mark.

After losing most of my assets through a personal situation that was out of my control not willing to disclaim such information here, and by the influence of an acquaintance already involved in Bitconnect, I decided to pursue this offer. The so-called acquaintance I’m referring to contacted me constantly and delivered the positive daily outcome of his Bitconnect investments. He showed me actual proof of his daily gains, and also showed me how legit the platform was and proof of his transactions in and out of his Bitconnect account. He finally persuaded me and I decided to invest. I invested approximately US$30,000 in early November 2017.

I did receive the daily returns on my investments throughout November and December, and my life started moving into the direction I had planned. I could visualize myself reaching the success I had planned in the future. On the 16th of January 2018, I received a call at 02:00am in the morning from the acquaintance that Bitconnect was shutting down, and would cease all further lending operations. My whole world collapsed in an instance. My plans to be in a position to financially recover were ruined. Since the time Bitconnect collapsed, I have struggled hard to try and recoup my losses. And yes, the thoughts of committing suicide has "transgressed", as many other poor souls involved with Bitconnect have probably experienced too. Unemployed, and constantly struggling with the thought that hard-earned money was taken from me like the flash of fireworks on Guy Fawkes day. This situation has not merely touched my life directly, but those involved in my life.

Since then numerous articles have been written, click the links below the heading:

Russian Crypto Blogger Found Dead in St Petersburg Apartment

https://blokt.com/news/russian-crypto-blogger-found-dead-in-st-petersburg-apartment

EXCLUSIVE: “It really cuts me up”: Missing mother, 48, was the ‘target of Death Threats” before she vanished – as friends claim she was ‘ashamed’ of her husbands failed Bitcoin business

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-5873229/Missing-Sydney-mum-Madeline-Bigatton-targeted-death-threats-prior-disappearance.html

Indian Bitconnect promoters attacked by Angry Investors

https://btcmanager.com/indian-bitconnect-promoters-attacked-by-angry-investors/

Bitconnect Scammers were extorted of 2,000 Bitcoins by an enraged Investor

https://www.crypto-news.in/news/bitconnect-scammers-extorted-2000-bitcoins-enraged-investor/

While some of these promoters in the Bitconnect hierarchy probably still celebrate, having been able to maliciously ruin many people’s live’s for their own financial gain, celebrating cash raining from the roof as was seen in their annual event in Thailand last year… and class action suites pilling up in United States, it remains to be seen what negative aftermath Bitconnect’s actions will still have in store for those that were involved, and those that were not.

Sort:  

@bitboyzsa, I gave you an upvote on your post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return and possible future votes!

Thank you in advance!

Sorry for your lost but such is life, u win little and lose many, but u have taken the right step not to give up on life and continue to strive, the journey won't be easy but at the end there will always b light keep steeming and u will get there before you know it

Congratulations @bitboyzsa! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

So glad this one failed... Hope they end up in jail :)

Failure caused people losing money vs Less people to be scammed

Failure caused people
Losing money vs Less
People to be scammed

                 - bitboyzsa


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60684.92
ETH 2911.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30