Fellow boom-or-bust HODLers, how are you coping with this market?

in #bitcoin6 years ago

The point of this thread is for those of us who are HODL'ing until we're rich or crypto dies to talk about what we're doing in this market. Not for half-assed Crypto Braveheart speeches or for doom and gloom.

I missed out on crypto the first time BTC went on a run in the early 2010s and determined I never would again so I'm HODL'ing everything I have left until I either walk away penniless or sell and no longer have to work. I'd rather bust out but having trusted my instincts than sell to end up marginally better off financially and then find myself missing out on a possible future bull run. Missing a future bull run would be the worst scenario, by far.

So for those in similar situations what are you doing to moderate the emotional waves of this bear market?

For me, first and foremost, I've set my expectations that it will be a few years before there's another run. If I'm wrong and it's sooner awesome. If I'm wrong and it never comes oh well. And if I'm right then I won't be disappointed.

Secondly, I'm done reading optimistic TA threads and, really, I'm avoiding reading a lot of comments on other threads in here because they're too full of negativity. I'm putting my head in the sand. Things are much better than they were a year ago but relative to December, yeah they're a bummer and a half and while I'd never say that negativity isn't warranted or should be suppressed, I'm not going to keep exposing myself to it.

Third I setup email alerts to fire off for BTC hitting $10k and $15k. I'm done monitoring prices, it's too much of an emotional rollercoaster. We're down for weeks, then it starts climbing into the $9k range, hits $10k for half a second and plummets again. I'll let the market sort itself out without the daily drama. The green and red arrows were playing havoc with my emotions.

3rd I'm focusing on doing more research and investing what I can afford to lose in the projects that have some combination of enthusiasm, active development and a roadmap.

Lastly, and this is kinda weird but whatever, I've stopped smoking weed almost entirely, I've been dieting for 2 months and exercising for 5. I also focus on getting more sun. I needed to do this anyways to get out of depression, but as a side benefit it has really helped me moderate my crypto emotions. When something gets me down I go for a nice jog in the sun, it really really helps.

Beyond that? I don't know what else I can do. But I put these steps into place in January after some nights where I had trouble sleeping and it's really helped. Was curious to hear from others with a similar mindset as to what their approach is.

Sort:  

Congratulations @writingpassion! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63852.87
ETH 3135.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83