Mining Update, Nicehash crysis

in #bitcoin7 years ago

 I'm back everybody!

Wow, It's been FIVE months since I last posted on steemit and I had a lot going on since!

Last time I posted, I posted about that bomb deal I got on a RX-480 , and now I'm back!

Current Hardware I'm running

Now I have 2 RX-480s(8GB), I had to buy a new PSU tho, so I chose the chose the Corsair RM 850i. It's a great modular PSU, with live Wattage display(through software). I bought it using only the ETC I mined at the time.

My mining progress(since I last posted)

I've been changing my coins of choice quite a lot:

  • ETC(July-mid Spetember)
  • EXP(expanse)(Late September)
  • Nicehash(more on that later)(October-6.12)
  • BTG(Bitcoin Gold)(One day in mid-November)
  • KAR(Karbowanec)(6.12-)

I stopped mining ETC because I saw potential in expanse; more coins and roughly the same profit.

Nicehash(The beginning,the rise, the fall)

For those unfamiliar, nicehash(is, was) a hash-power market. You benchmark your hardware, and you mine what algo is most profitable at the time. And you get paid in BTC, which is great because of the rising price of it.

The beginning

In early October I started mining at nicehash, I chose the external wallet option- that means you get paid when your unpaid balance reaches 0.01 BTC. I had to mine 2-3 weeks to reach that quanity. Mostly I mined Ethash+Decred(roughly 60.8Mh/s - eth& 1,8Kh/s - decred)

The rise

In early November Bitcoin was exploding, and several new Cryptonote based coins appeared - increasing the demand on the Nicehash market place( I mined about 3-4€ a day). I also chose to switch to the Nicehash wallet(A big big mistake ._.). The payouts came every two days, and I withdrew them to Bitstamp once a week. There were certain profit booms - on two occasions I mined 9€ in a day.

The fall

It was late November when profits increased once again. I mined 5-6€ a day which was very nice. It continiued till today(6.12.2017). I woke up and realized my miner is stalling- unable to connect to server for 6+ hours. When I checked the Nicehash twitter and website it said "Maintence". I thought okay these things happen. It wasn't until later that day I realized Nicehash was hacked. 4000+BTC flooded to hacker's wallets. Now here is what the problem is, and there are a few scenarios of what I think happened:

  1. Nicehash got hacked, everyone who had a Nicehash wallet was robbed - If this happened it means I lost about 40€.
  2. Nicehash got hacked, only people with live wallets(wallets that got deposits from other BTC wallets) were robbed - If this happened I should probbably be safe.
  3. Nicehash hack was an inside job - I'm very very disturbed if this is the case, also both of scenarios above apply here.

The return to regular(coin) mining

Since Nicehash was my primary mining solution for two months, and it died I moved back to traditional pool mining. I started with Karbowanec(KRB). My hashrate is 1.7Kh/s which should get me about 7 of them in a day(around 8€/day). Although, I will probbably switch to ETN(Electroneum), because the number of coins per day is much higher - the ETC to EXP switch all over again.

Conclusion

Overall it's been a very good few months for mining. I will post more regulary again on Steemit in about two weeks(after my midterms), and very very soon Mining Story Part 2 is coming up as I'll be building a standalone miner at the end of this year or January next year! Stay tuned for more posts, and let me know what you think, recommend post topics or ask questions in the comments below!


Sort:  

Congratulations @tilenb! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @tilenb! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69508.29
ETH 3366.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74