Mining update: bomb deal on a RX 480

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Backstory

image
I have been looking for a RX 480/580 for quite some time now. So back in may I ordered a 580 from a Slovenian computer shop. They said it will arrive in a week - the problem was they were saying that every week for a month. They offered me a GTX 1080 for a replacement - I said sure why not as you can get about 30Mh/s out of it). BUT of course it was to good to be true. The package arrived along with a 285€ bill- I paid 301€+shipoing for the 580 and they just added the 285€ for the 586€ 1070. I contacted them and got a refund. And again I was at the beginning.


# One day of brutal depression later So I am looking for options on the card everywhere. The cheapest I found was on French amazon for 268€+shipping with a waiting period of 3+ weeks. In Slovenia the card of course wasn't in stock **anywhere** and the prices were about 380€+(4GB model) 450€+(8GB model). There again we do have a used online market called bolha(flea) and the mobile used market app Letgo(I never got a response from any of the sellers). Bolha's prices however hurt me deep(image below). ![image]() # How ebay saved my life Usually eBay's prices are similar to the ones here but some desls are very good. I found a power color rx 480 8GB listed as an auction. There was only one bid at 250£(~280€) so I bidded 255£. The remaining time of the auction was about an hour and a half so I waited to seeif anyone outbidded me. And someone did, so I waited until the final ten seconds to outbid them. So i offered 270£ only to get a notification that I have been outbidded, I had three seconds left to decide and I offered 280£ in the last 2 seconds of the auction. ![image]() And I got it! For 330€ with shipping! # Some basic card info ![image]() PowerColor Radeon ™ RX 480 8GB GDDR5 Part Number: AXRX 480 8GBD5-M3DH Graphics Engine: RADEON RX 480 Video Memory: 8GB GDDR5 Engine Clock: up to 1266MHz with boost Memory Clock: 2000MHz x4 (8.0Gbps) Memory Interface: 256bit DirectX® Support: 12 Bus Standard: PCIE 3.0 Display Connectors: HDMI / DisplayPort x3

It uses only one 6 pin power connector, I can't wait to test it in crossfire with my sapphire radeon 480 8GB nitro+ OC.
I will mod the bios though, to get some extra hashes from it.

Summary

I think I got a very good deal on it, as the market is flooded with very expensive used cards. I will write a my mining story part 2 when I get it, link to part one here.


>Be sure to check out my other posts and if you like them please upvote them and subscribe for more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69672.37
ETH 3356.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74