Bitpay Users Need To Be Aware of Phishing Email Going Around, Its Not From Bitpay

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

bitpay-logo-inverse.png

Be careful to ensure your really getting a true Bitpay message in your inbox

Bitpay announced there is someone using bitpay.org as their email address and trying to scam people out of funds. This phishing account has sent a mass amount of users a message and has nestled a funky link with properties to insert possible malware. Bitpay urges users to report the messages to their email provider so it can be dealt with and stop the usages of their name to attack their users.

Bitpay announced the following on REDDIT in hopes of warning their valued customers:

“This is not a legitimate BitPay email and is a clear phishing attempt. If you receive this email do not open its contents and certainly do not click on any link, button, or attachment.”

I actually use a Bitpay card and a very active user with their Windows Bitcoin wallet. One thing I have found about Bitpay is the fact they give great customer service and value each user they obtain. Hopefully this doesn't create issues for them, but overall I think their reaction to get the info to the public was just another sign as to why I have grown to enjoy their service.

Pass this along, I know their is a bunch of us Bitpay card holders in this community, figured in case you missed the news I would put this out there for you to be aware of. All official Bitpay emails come from bitpay.com not this impersonator that uses bitpay.org so if you see the org in there, report it or just avoid it!

~sflaherty

Follow me @sflaherty

Sort:  

Fantastic post, It is important for people like you to be involved with the community, alerting other like-minded crypto lovers of dangers and ways to just be safe overall.

You have been followed, upvoted, and re-steemed! (Follow me if you wish, lots of new content coming soon!) <3

Followed @acid303techno. Look forward to hearing some tunes mate. Yewww!

Followed you as well, I look forward to growing together as like minded individuals!!! <3

I really appreciate the follow and I will definitely follow you back. I just know how it is, money can be tight for some people and to lose your earnings on a scam is literally the worst way, especially if you are believing an email like this is coming from a business you trust. I will say for Bitpay they went all out immediately to protect their users, I got a personal email from them of warning that .org is not their messaging site and to be aware for such emails. I personally haven't seen one yet but now that I know I will report it.

I am just glad I can get this out there, hate to see anyone lose money or screw up their pc's lol. Scammers will scam though, wish they would stop...kind of keeps giving the mainstream fuel to point out how dangerous crypto is when it isn't

Scammers are the downfall of the internet, if more people were right and just, as ourselves, and MANY others, just looking to enjoy their time, and some potential financial growth WITHOUT SCAMMING OTHERS, the internet would be a way better place.

But we have to be the change we want to see, and hope the bad get dealt with in whatever ways are coming to them!

Can you please tell me more about the bitpay card coz i am so interested to order one, but would like first to hear the opinion of a steemer.

Sure thing. I actually been with them now a month and used it all around. The fees are about $4 roughly to load. That isn't bad though its useful to load large amounts vs mini card loads...but you can use it anywhere. I have not gone to a merchant yet that had any issues with the card. It is $10 to get the card and you attach it to their windows wallet so you can also have the option to load Amazon gift cards, that is built also in their wallet. You get 30 free transactions a month, if you exceed that its a 1% fee on extra transactions, I haven't exceeded that so unsure how bad that would be but probably minimal. They do have a business card that is unlimited for transactions but in average usage its worth the personal card. Overall I have used a few options and Bitpay seems to me the most reasonable and reliable so far. My fiance also just got a card after seeing how well it works, I favor it.

Amazing, thank you so much definitely gonna order it :), also thanks for the fast response :)

No problem, really great card. To me its been way easier than selling BTC to put in your bank. Actually I don't even use my fiat bank anymore lol...I am 100% now full crypto minus the fiat that Bitpay gives me on my card for my conversion sale...other than that I am going all crypto and never looking back

will keep on the look out..thanks.. I am going to join bitpay soon so good to know

This is nothing against Bitpay, just the usual people scamming and posing as the corporation. I do commend them for rushing the info out there, to see them be so proactive about this kind of shows me these guys protect their users. They been a very great service since I got with them. It makes life so much easier to know you can turn your crypto work into cash and use it anywhere, so freeing. Just make sure to look out for bitpay.org email...its not them, they use bitpay.com

This is very important news that you need to share with a lot of people. Thank you for the post.

Figured everyone should be aware. If you see bitpay.org that isn't them and probably this attacker. The official Bitpay always uses bitpay.com for messaging. I am a user myself and hate to see anyone lose funds for some scammer on the prowl. Glad you seen this, hope more do and don't run into issues.

Thanks for the tip, and for helping to protect us all.

The article I wrote is to be fair, not really a scam but does show the importance, of choosing wisely when you invest in the crypto-economy

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@beachbuminvestor/breaking-news-exodus-scam

Thanks againg @sflaherty, great tip! Followed for more.

Wow you had that happen to you as well with Exodus? Exodus is why I am full on with Bitpay now. They lost funds on me as well, calling it high BTC fees, sorry but BTC never hit $15 bucks a fee. I just upovted...don't have much voting power but man if I could slam you enough to cover your losses I would, Great looking wallet but shady.

Wait until you see what I've got in the works. JP Richardson will get owned on this one. I am the Ex-captain of the Australian bodyboarding team and we have our reply being produced right now "rap music video" staring stars of the bodyboarding world. This will go viral, and JP will learn to spend more time fixing his shitty platform and less time picking on the little guy.

Nice, lol. You sound like me when I got screwed over at Zpool...I used to mine with them but they withheld a weeks worth of mining from me, got a shitty message back as to the fact I had no right to mine a coin they listed and from there I went on a rampage to down reviews them lol. Sometimes these guys think they got it all figured out on how to scam little bits here and there but if you don't do people right the little guys tend to bite you in the ass later on when you least expect it. I commend you for being proactive on that one. They seem to think they can use BTC high fees as an answer to stealing money, that is wrong

Tell me about it. I used to day trade and I found that the Stop Loss guarantees were not being monitored by the company offering them. Not once was a missed S/L refunded without my bringing it to their attention. I told them my cousin could fix this "accidental" bug in their platform easily and would do it free of charge. Surprise surprise they did not take me up on this offer.

Maybe another rap song if the bodyboarding rap super group BWA (booger with attitude) hits? lol. Either way it's been fun making it and writing the raps. I've never tried this genre of writing before. Ice Cube is a genius.

Funny I used to day trade in the early 2000s too, how I kind of adapted to crypto so well in the beginning. That stop loss fiasco in platforms seems to be all over the place, no accident probably, they drive profits from those things every time. Crypto is getting a project called Omega One that is supposed to stabilize the trading platform, I did an article about that a few days ago. Interesting if they can really do what they claim they can, might make FLASH CRASH scenarios impossible to happen again.

LoL go for the rap, I am more metal here but music and lyrical stuff is all in the same creative space in my eyes.

P.S I am a nice guy but be prepared to meet MC Fish, lol. Don't view if you are offended by violent and offensive language. Remember I'm just playing a character with MC Fish.

lol...this guy has no offense bone in my body...lol. I have a great sense of humor so I look forward to the posts. THanks for the resteem, really want this getting around before people screw up and open the wrong message. Don't want anyone to lose money nor my card holder to look bad, lol...I hate to see them have business issues after enjoying using Bitpay and full time

Enjoy a good giggle? This is a rough version of the video in production (play music and read lyrics).

Due to threats from sponsors, and the industry I have had to change it slightly. But with references to the crypto economy, a little click bait (lol), STEEM (minority social media platform) and bodyboarding (minority sport) linked in as minority themes NWA. And some vicious lyrics burning JP, I'm confident this is a solid platform to launch our brand.

I have a young but dedicated "behind the scenes" team. And have already recruited some huge name riders for the launch. Love to work with you on this one mate. It's edgy, bloody edgy, but that's why it will work.

I have written 3 other songs also and am getting much better at rapping.

https://steemit.com/funny/@beachbuminvestor/adult-content-18-only-please-sexually-suggestive-language-and-offensive-language

Check out this video. Pre internet, no cultural relevance, no tying in to a minrity theme, just a couple of bodyboarders mucking around in the 90's
View count; 150K


Every bodyboarder my age and older knows this song. It went viral pre internet.

That is as much as I am prepared to say on a public forum. If you're interested, can you please let me know how we can consult privately? I'm not great with computers. Too much time in the water. Bahahaha

Going to get some waves now mate, hope to hear from you soon. Yewww!

Actually I like it lol....brings back the days of the 80s when I was a kid and markets on that nostalgic look back that everyone enjoys. Got a style going on with the marketing too, potential for a bunch of incorporations if you set the tone your already going for

Thank you. It will be brutal but funny, and as a muso I'm sure you will respect the musical production we are putting into this video also. Trying to reach other demographics that can tie to the minority theme of this brand, and maybe even get some support from the U.S rap community (or any rap community for that matter, lol). Bodyboarding seems to think the problem can be fixed by selling to bodyboarders, my argument is we are already sold. You need to look at platforms that can provide wider brand recognition (ie. outside of bodyboarding). Anyway thanks again for building my confidence in what I am doing.

As we say in Aus, You're a bloody legend mate, speak soon

MC Fish (BWA Represent. lol)

And resteemed and upvoted. Important info that needs to be shared.

Haven't received this but it is good to be aware beforehand before it is too late.

It hasn't hit a lot of people yet, I haven't gotten one either but Bitpay just wanted to get the info out before users had issues. Very proactive of them, goes to show you they look out for their users well

Good info! This is what we need around here! :)

Thanks, I felt if I didn't put this out there someone would click on that false link and lose money, no need in that and I hate scammers so killing two birds hopefully with one stone. Just remember its bitpay.com that is the real email and bitpay.org is the scammers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97