12/31/2017 The Market View and Trading Outlook

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

Yet another evening of uneventful Bitcoin price action has passed. As I have written in other articles we are at a tipping point where price could drop down for one more low before the spring to new highs, or we are slowly making ground upwards and out of this corrective phase.

1d.png

As noted in yesterday’s analysis, the follow on selling cycle for the 1 day time frame seems to have had less conviction than the one that preceded it. We have yet to cross the MACD 0 line which typically serves as support against further losses and a bounce point toward future gains. We are also very much oversold according to the RSI at a point when the selling period seems to be reversing. All of these are indicators of bullish sentiment. That said we are not out of the woods yet, but we can expect some gains in the next 24-48 hours. Accordingly I will be assuming some very small positions geared towards a bail if things go south (trend trading).

aa90527.png

If I apply a Fibonacci retracement to the weekly time frame we are still looking fairly healthy as we are on the verge of completing a routine 50% correction; I think 56% has been the high number thus far.

12.png

That said, let’s not go all in yet as we still have a substantial amount of work ahead of us before I can give the all clear to come out of the bomb shelter. On the 12 hour the 7 period moving average crossed below the 77 period moving last night which will now serve as resistance to the upside. We are also below the MACD 0 will will also attempt to stifle gains.

2h.png

(2 hour) 7 crossed the 21 to the upside-Bullish, Below the MACD 0-Bearish, Divergence to the Upside-Bearish, Volume ehhh at best-Bearish.. Interpretation relative to larger time frames is we will go up but we are going to stumble along the way

1h.png

(1 hour) Good volume, another 7/21 cross, with divergence to the upside meaning minor pullback or sideways action. 77 will serve as resistance to the lesser moving averages.

30.png

(30 min) The rally so far today, good volume, another cross this one being a 21/77 cross to the upside-very Bullish. Upside divergence, oversbought.. expect short term pull back to $13,700 or lower while the larger time frames build bullish momentum.

The next major hurdles will be $14,000, then $14,600, then $15,600 according to the 77 period moving averages from the 2, 4, and 6 hour time frames respectively. With each break through it may gain momentum for future gains, or may meet stiff resistance and plow downwards again. Short term I am feeling bullish with intentions to sell on a reversal. I will feel considerably more bullish when I see the lesser moving averages 21 make positive crosses to the upside of the 77 on the 2,4 hour time frames which always come with good gains.

6hpricecontrol.png

One thing that I do believe has occurred beneath our noses is that big money has engaged in a strategic campaign to acquire as much BTC as they can within a set price range. The same goes for BCH which was up 8% on BTC early yesterday as big money was acquiring it in the $2200 price range. I can see strong accumulation at the bottom and the price being manipulated back down at key points so as they can purchase more. A good article on this process can be found here:

http://stockcharts.com/school/doku.php?id=chart_school:market_analysis:the_wyckoff_method

http://stockcharts.com/articles/wyckoff/2015/06/accumulation-phase-absorbing-stock-like-a-sponge.html

In summary expect some good short term gains up to the points mentioned above and some good gains if we break these key levels, but we are not out of the woods yet and may see a lower low to act as a spring for future gains and all time highs.

I apologize if this seems thrown together, Steemit is not my full time gig; trading is, but I did want to get it out there.

Previous Analysis:

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@pawsdog/12-30-2017-the-market-view-and-trading-outlook

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@pawsdog/12-29-2017-the-market-view-and-trading-outlook

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@pawsdog/12-28-2017-the-market-view-and-trading-outlook

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@pawsdog/12-24-2017-the-market-view-and-trading-outlook

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@pawsdog/12-19-2017-the-market-view-and-trading-outlook

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@pawsdog/12-17-2017-the-market-view-and-trading-outlook

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@pawsdog/12-15-2017-the-market-view-and-trading-outlook


Who Am I? STEEMIT INTRODUCTION


Sort:  

This isn't thrown together at all. There is so much here to unpack. it actually blows my mind just how many indicators there are, all the signs to look for across the different pairings. It hurts my brain a little bit, but I was happy that I'm up on the new money I put into BTC and ETH yesterday morning, all of my alts are up from yesterday and the marketcap now seems to be fairly solid in the $600M range. Vengefully I was happy to see Ripple down a touch, mainly because I didn't invest it in at all, but secondly because I feel like that money then gets poured into the other alts.

Interesting about the price manipulation... but it makes sense. I personally want as much BTC as I can get - so I'm sure big money feels the exact same way.

Also, there are unconfirmed rumours going around that Ripple, Dash and Stratis are going to be added to Coinbase on the 8th of Jan 2018.

I went BTC/ETH yesterday as it appeared to be holding well and the $700 seems to be holding well. My alts are happy I killed it on AMP yesterday. This coin intrigues me as it is allegedly a better rendition of Steemit from my understanding. Was out of ripple entirely at $2.00 and took a bunch of smaller positions in other coins to hedge my bets.. Got some BTC now, added to my AmP and added to Dash, may sell most of my Small Alts if BTC seems like it wants to get happy

I had never heard of Synereo (AMP) until now. I've had a quick look into it... I'm not super sure how it works, it seems to link to YouTube videos somehow... which might be useful to me. I'll definitely keep an eye on this guy. 77% rise for AMP is pretty significant though, well done with that.

Definitely happy to see everything rising today, grabbed ETH at $707 and BTC at $13,000. By the time Coinbase comes through with the goods (10 days) I should have made myself a tidy little profit (maybe... 10 days is a long time).

10 days, man that sucks.. but it does teach patience... Time to get that ID upgraded.. lol..
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Synereo

Diid yoooou evver knooow yooou are myyy heeeeroooooo, annd everyythinnng iiid liike tooo beeeeeeeeeee?

Iiii caaaan flyyyy hiiiighhhher thaaaan an eeeeeaggllle,
For you are the wiiiind beeeneath my wiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiings....

@paws-dog Love you man! I Looove you man! I just pored through that post from last week... (you know the one - wink wink) and you have turned my frowny frown upside down - and sort of given me closure about it all ....

Followed for lifey!

Thank you.. it was a very sensitive topic in shark infested waters.. .loll..

They are accumulating , buy low sell high .

I agree in preparation for the run up and dump higher. Wish I had an extra few billion laying around to manipulate prices.. It would be fun.. lol

Crypto is going up in 2018 sit back, hold on and don't let go.
Happy New Year everyone

I never let go, unless the trend is reversing then I will dump it on a FOMO buyer and buy it back from a panic seller at the bottom...:)

nice sell high buy low

Yeah, it don't work so well to do it the other way around... lol

Mostly the other way round for me.

Hahaha! Me too @pmiskeen, until I started reading good ol @pawsdog... now I'm buying very high and selling very low... haha.

Congratulations @pawsdog! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57034.02
ETH 3084.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41