Bitcoin & me

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

Hey guys,

as far as Iam in the Crypto Community for a while now I think iam ready to share my story.
My name is Arthur, Iam from Russia living in a small Town in Germany.
Iam currently 26 years old & got into crypto or lets better say "bitcoin" far back in 2011/2012.
I remember I had some BTC for about 200-300$ each. I used most of it for onlinegaming/gambling & fraud.
Nothing really special or really bad, just some small assets of buying Gamingkeys or any other digital valuable source.
Of course like most of us ppl I didnt really belived into keeping some BTC anywhere at a wallet or anythink else, I just cashed out as much as I had & forgot about it.

But now, the last couple of months I realized I have to go in to crypto again. I noticed all those altcoins wich are my job right now. I started to train daytrading & invested in alot of different positions.

How did I start?

  • I literally got a disposable credit for about 1.000€.
    I said to myself, I want to get 3 positions over all.
    ~ 2x250€ & 1x500€ ~
    So that is what I did. I did some research & tryd to understand what tech/project got a nice future.
  • My first 3 positions I got into:
    250€ - ETN (Electroneum)
    250€ - SNM (SONM)
    500€ - ADA (Cardano)

I was very lucky - every of those positions nearly doubled up in between 1-4 days.
This was my first strategy I took - try to double up my money & pull it out.
Thats exactly what I did. The same time BTC got a little up in price so I had a nice value for about 2500€ - IN 4 DAYS.
I got crazy.
No mid term.
No long term.
Just profit taking.

I had no clue what exactly I should look out for, what price range I should invest & how to trade overall. I didnt even knew to trade for satoshi value, just in FIAT currency.
But thats okay, Ive learned alot since then.
Non or less, Ive lost alot of money too.
This is how:

  • Reinvest my money
    I took all of my crypto coins out & had a good amount of BTC. Now, I was looking for some nice new oppertunity.
    I understood that a low market cap is they key in fast reward with high risk.
  • I lost over 1.300€ in about 2 days.

The reason why is Simple. Ive got scared, I panic sold.
I didnt knew how much impact my emotions would take over myself & how hard it would be to just HODL & wait till it goes up. I learned not to buy in a alltime high position & I understood to place Stop Losses.
I understood there is always a risk to lose everything, but there is a oppertunity to get rich in a year.
This oppertunity is maybe my only one I can get in my life ever, so thats why I keepd focused & learned alot.

Today Iam happy it happend - I can tell how much of invest I can borrow. I can tell if Iam able to lose it all or how much I like the tech/project/team/whitepaper/roadmap of whatever coin I inversted in.

My summery for everyone who want to join this crazy ride, listen up:

  • Do NOT be greedy
    If you feel comfartable with 2-5% gain, take it. Dont look back & watch urself FOMO (fear of missing oppertunity) into that same coin again, cuz it raised another 5% & you are not in it.
  • Trading is not easy
    Remember, 90% of traders never manage to be consistantly profitable. Keep in mind, do NOT be greedy.
  • Try to learn how to be a good Risk Manager
    This is the key to success. You should always read into any coin/project you invest, never just listen to blind advices.
  • Use STOP LOSS
    Do not marry a coin for ever, if you are not into it for long term. Use it for your advantage. For example:
    A coin you just bought at 0.10€ each, dropped to 0.08€ - this means it dropped good 20% of its value - sell it.
    Watch the coin, if it even drops lower - lets say 0.06€ buy in again. Watch to get that coin to ur iniate 0.10€ again & sell - you would have turned your 20% loss into a 20% GAIN. As I said already, be a good risk manager.
    Ofcourse, for a good reason to buy in again you should try & learn at least some basics of Technical Analysis. There are alot of good people who are willing to help you out. Look out for indicators like MACD/RSI/VOL & even more, if you like.
  • If your body tells you no, your positions are too big.
    If you cant sleep at night, if you are literally shaking & getting ill - you are not in a confort zone of your limits. Do NOT greed. Be patient.
  • Never trade with Emotions
    Emotions are your enemy, everytime. Stick to basics - place ur stop losses & show some discipline.
  • Strategy isnt the most important part of success, but discipline is.
    However you feel comfortable with, stick to it. If you can not afford to all in everytime you trade, dont to it. Take smaller positions, dont marry a coin for ever.

My last words:

  • If you can obtain an average of 1-2% gain a week - compounded this will make you rich.

I will not show of any portfolio, but Ill tell you this.
Get some positions for midterm, get some positions for longterm. Find coins/projects you really like & see future in - leave them for a while, just forget about them. Dont make you crazy if they drop in price tommorow, dont check every half an hour.
If you can afford & really want to, get a amount of money you can trade daylie. This is called daytrading.
Learn some basic Technical Analysis & read into it. Search for some nice groups where you can learn alot.
DONT pay any service to do the work for you.

I hope some ppl can learn from my experience.

Today, Iam happy with all what happend.
Ive learned to control my emotions, Ive gained a lot of money the past 2 months & iam SURE this year- 2018 will be even bigger for every ALTCOIN with a solid project out there.

Thank you for your time.

  • Murkybitcoin-1-edit-470x310@2x.jpg
Sort:  

Thanks for putting this out there. Everyone's experiences help the rest of us. Thanks for sharing!

Thank you. I hope I can help out anyone out there. Those are simple tradelines everyone should follow. Maybe someone will take knowledge out of it.

Cool! I follow you.

Congratulations @murkygiggle! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @murkygiggle! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65814.16
ETH 3444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64