The Da Vinci Code - Bitcoin's True OraclesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #bitcoin6 years ago
I guess I'm not really surprised, after all we've been participating on a version of this very behavior for as long as we've developed social structures. It's necessary for our ability to cooperate at scale to have leaders, visionaries and of course oracles, people that know what is going to happen.



In case you are wondering, it's not a nickname, his name is actually Davinci which I sincerely find fascinating if I'm to be honest. As it turns out he's been around for a long long time, and for one reason or another flown completely under the radar. Recently however he's been discovered so to speak, by the more mainstream crypto world, if that is even a thing, and his youtube channel has surged past 38k subs in a matter of weeks.

I've taken the time to watch some of his videos and I have to say that he is the living proof of what I keep on talking about, consistency. Not only has he been into crypto since the early, early days (pre 1USD BTC, AFAIK), but he's been constantly researching and studying the markets, the projects and it's talking heads, to the point that he actually predicted the Mt Gox fiasco months prior to the events.

As you might imagine, there are plenty of rumors around him at this very moment, and there is a considerable amount of people who believe that Davinci is actually Satoshi. Funnily enough, there is enough circumstancial evidence to sustain such claim, but of course, it's just circumstancial and nothing else. I was also happy to find out that he's a developer himself, and has a project of his own up in the works, in other words, he's building on top of the bear market.

Now that he's had a giant spotlight shinning right in his face, he's also found himself in a lot of pressure to give his new audience more of the tasty predictions, a mistake in my personal opinion that we as a community might be making. You see, it makes very little sense to put so many expectations on someone who is undeniable human and thus prone to make mistakes, but I understand why people are looking for their new oracle to make them feel good and allow them to cope with the bear market a little longer.

Before anyone accuses me of being negative or disliking Davinci unfairly, let me say that this is not my intention at all, I'm simply trying to inject some sanity back into the picture and remind everyone that there is no such thing as true oracles, and your financial decisions should not be made solely on the words of one particular individual.

That being said, I appreciate Davinci quite a bit, he is quite intelligent, well spoken and most of all lives with both feet planted on the ground. This of course explains in a non climatic way, why he has been right so many times in the past, since he does not seem to be a man too controlled by emotions and greed.

In a recent interview he also spoke about his progression from being a Bitcoin Maximalist, to someone who actually enjoys and supports other projects. At the end of the day, he had to succumb to notions of free markets and healthy competition, as we all do given enough time. One of the things however that caught my eye, or my ear to be more exact, was his mentioning of STEEM as one of the alt coins he likes, and of course expressed his reasoning. Not taking into account that the interviewer made some incorrect assertions regarding STEEM's inflation, the strong points of an immutable blockchain that serves a social hub for communication was clearly made.

Not to buy into the whole oracle idea, but so far he's not been wrong about BTC, maybe he's not wrong about STEEM either.


View this post on Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

Sort:  

My position on crypto experts is this - none of them have the slightest idea what they're talking about. But one of them will be right more often than the rest.

NB that's also my position on economists more generally. The extreme majority get their predictions wrong.

Given the additional data black hole around crypto there I can't see how any of them can actually know anything.

At least this guy's name reflects the real basis of their predictions - baseless!

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't make decisions solely based on experts anymore... I did once, got burnt, know better now... so I'm with you, but it's still interesting to follow them and hear their points out... specially those I disagree with.

Fair play!

For me crypto's v. much part of a diversified diversified investment strategy. One chunk of it's bound to pay off.

Although that chunk is now mostly steem!

Posted using Partiko Android

The low price of digital currencies is really sad
great posting @meno

Yep, YouTube is full of this Davinci "oracle" right now; he's literally everywhere! I did not know, however, about his positive stance on Steem specifically, which is good to hear (or read). He might be among us already, but I'd imagine that would be under an alias... I choose to believe you're right about him being right about Steem after being right about BTC for so long 😉 Thanks for a great post again, @meno 😊

Nice post man! I just did a post on this man: @friendly-fenix/davincij15-the-famous-crypto-oracle-namedropping-steem... =)

Cheers!
/FF

Being positive about Steem on a YouTube channel and not having a Steem account seems like a missed opportunity for me! Interestingly, we need more non emotional people to guide the community as these bear markets can be tough and painful. Despite telling many not to invest too much or in things you don’t understand, they do it anyway and we see the cycles continue.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm not sure he doesn't have an account here, it might be wise to be anonymous... I mean, it's obvious he doesn't hold just a couple of btc

Posted using Partiko Android

🏆 Hi @meno! You have received 0.1 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @cardboard
Subscribe: automatically support your favourite steem authors :) | For investors.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65364.69
ETH 2650.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86