Sort:  

Thanks @krnel... a private key to an exchange, who woulda thunk! As simple as that... no risk?

I think that's not how you should do it. You should first move your BTC to a new wallet then use the private keys of your old wallet to move your BCC. This way you don't expose your BTC.

Don't quote me on this and I haven't done it yet so I can't really comment beside what I have read and think make sense.

I concur with teamsteem, you are essentially giving your bitcoin wallet away when you do this. So move your bitcoin out of that wallet first. I wnted to keep my on an exchange for a fast sell, but since bitshares might have also took a snapshot of the bitcoin block right then too, I opted to put it in a web wallet. Now I am having the same troubles figuring out how to get my BCH with my private keys.

I'm painfully ignorant on all of these keys issues...ughhh The learning curve is a bitch. If I'd only learned about all this a few years ago, not only would I be rich, but I'd also know what the fuck I'm doing lol! : 0

That makes a lot of sense for security... greatly appreciated @teamsteem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66650.28
ETH 3590.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.96