My first look at the LBRY app - Decentralized filesharing on a Blockchain

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

So I popped into the Slack channel for LBRY development to see what was going on, LBRY is a project I've been looking at for a while now and I've been eager to find out more about how it works.

I was quickly given a link to the client and downloaded it to see for myself what youtube/bittorrent like application secured by a blockchain would look like. My first expectations were to find a basic bitcoin like wallet containing a load of random links but I was pleasantly surprised.



The UI is smooth but at the moment very basic, there is already quite a lot of content and uploading your own content is easy and intuitive, no messing around with command line or creating .conf files or anything, just select your file, add the details and upload. Nice and easy.

And Most importantly, it works. The first few videos I clicked on took a while to load, I expected this as it's in development and was prepared for some file load time and 10 seconds or so isn't much to complain about.
Then I remembered that I had a miner running on my machine, I usually do when afk or just browsing so I turned it off and tried a few more videos. With the miner off this pretty much reduced any loading time to what I would expect from Youtube. A lot more still need to be done here, this is clearly a pre-release but it's great to see the devs have spent their time on first creating a working product, simple and functional with no bells or whistles.

LBRY has huge potential, I wonder has an attempt at integration with Steem been talked about? It seems like the two platforms would compliment each other very well. We could have our integrated videos both efficiently monitized while maintaining control of our content, all secured by blockchains.



The LBRY app can be found here: https://github.com/lbryio/lbry-app

You'll need 1 LBRY to unlock the wallet, happy to send some out to some people if they wanna test it out themselves, just post a comment.

Sort:  

Why can't this be an app on Steem like @zappl is doing?

Because maybe there is a need for competition. Not everyone agrees with steemit inc. and the way the steem blockchain was launched. The future will be a polychain one.

Very true. and the useless limbs will fall off.

It really should be, they compliment each other perfectly.

Very interesting...

Just to clear up something. LBRY wouldn't be built on steem. Steem would be built on LBRY. LBRY isn't just that app you are look at, just like steem isn't this website called "steemit." LBRY is an entire protocol that replaces http. If steem was built ontop of LBRY you would go to a website like lbry://steemit.com. This is my best understanding of how the integration would work and I've suggested it a few times in the past. I would to see a non http steemit. (I also think EOS is built to replace the need for http in relation to steem.)

Actually that's not right either. You would not build Steem on LBRY or vice versa, because they are two different blockchain platforms.

It's like Apple and Microsoft. Different, incompatible projects pursuing similar goals. I hope to see both LBRY and Steem thrive alongside each other, but it's hard to deny there is some competitive aspect to the relationship.

It wasn't about would, it was about could. But like I said at the end, EOS should take care of the protocol problem.

Congratulations @junglist! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

YEY A BADGE!!!

The UI looks pretty clean. LBRY is beating SC in that department. Good to see these projects being developed though.

yeah, I've been waiting for years to see a decentralised video sharing platform on a blockchain, it makes so much sense. Can't wait to see the open beta release.

Me too. I really want to see this problem solved. We need to find an answer to YouTube demonitization for content creators. I mentioned this to the Burst guys, because Burst is perfect for micropayments, but I'd really rather see Steem tackle video uploading, because I think this type of content creation needs to be paid from block rewards and not users if it is to be viable.

Thanks for this. This looks interesting. Do you know which exchanges LBRY are currently traded at? Also do you have a link to their Slack? Thanks

https://slack.lbry.io/

Currently trading on Bittrex

Great. Thanks for that.

Well, the client was super easy to get installed on Debian 9 (Testing). Just did "dpkg -i" on the .deb, and an "apt-get install -f" to fix the missing packages (gconf).

I'll test building from source later on, should be fairly simple, will probably document it in a post. Now just need to get the auth email or that LBC on offer to get joined up ;)

LBC address: bMS8awscYaytUJP6jADRkAyKexbycitoox, if you feel like assisting with onboarding :)

Gracias :) Now to wait for my email to validate so I can do... Stuff. Apparently the client restricts you a bit unless its validated your mail.

You got my interest, and my following but right now..I'm busier than a cat in a room full of rocking chairs & more scattered than leaves in a Hurricane

So looking forward to more post like this from you, real soon
thank you

My Signature Post ---> Potential Followers Please Click HERE to get started

Life is Good @ steemit.com

I would like some LBRY to try it. I think this is a really cool project

Still sharing 1 LBRY? if so bHSgy59pzTbEiTAEfQgAumcdjy4M6EPpNA :) thank you.

I just tried it. You can also get your 1 LBC from their slack at https://lbry.slack.com I just asked kindly and had my LBC within seconds. :)

I would love to test the platform if your offer still stands. LBRY sounds like an amazing tool. It is perfect for course creators.

I will make a video about this today. Follow me @flauwy if you are interested.

Sorry I only saw this today, would be up for that anyway if you have not already been sorted. :)

Yes, I have access now. Sadly the software doesn't run on a unicode computer yet.

What kind of courses do you make? This is something I recently got involved in.

I am creating several memory courses at the moment. What topics do you cover?

Crypto for newbies :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61243.73
ETH 2974.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69