You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Can't Explain What Bitcoin Is to my Friends!

in #bitcoin7 years ago

thanks for the insight - it's good to now that it's not just me! I really like your take on it - I have also found myself using the pay pal example as the closest thing that they could wrap their head around - but I think something you said was key - to paraphrase " if they are really interested - they will do the homework themselves" - this makes a lot of sense - so I guess my job is to make sure that I explain it in a way that is enticing enough for them to WANT to to take the time to look it up. I mean - you would go to a dinner party - talk to a doctor and then start researching brain surgery -

One way , I thought about was to give someone some bitcoin and tell them it is worth money - then they would have a vested interest in figuring out what it is and how to cash in on it.

Sort:  

Yeah, the problem is that most people aren't willing to put their money into something they cant touch or hold in their hands, because it scares them. Also you have to do so much research to understand it that most people dont even bother. But the biggest problem is not knowing how to start! The whole process could be much more user friendly.
So what i have done is prepare a saved email for the occasion when someone is actually interested in bitcoin, and then i just email them right there on the spot when they are excited. Cuz i know most wont go home and look it up because people get distracted so easily. So my email has a few youtube videos explaing bitcoin, blockchain and cryptos. It also has a link to coinbase with the free $10 of bitcoin after sign up and links to bittrex and coin indexes to point people in the proper direction if they want to continue going.. its basically a beginners tool set to get them started if they are interested i will send it to them.
However i am done trying to force people into seeing this amazing opportunity, no one held my hand when i started and it made me love it that much more in the end..
But yeah, this seems to work realatively well for me, you might want to give it a shot..
-cheers

those are some really great ideas you have - I'll have to give it a shot - thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64814.42
ETH 3450.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52