FIRST TIME CHANGING OUT A MOTHERBOARD!! TRYING TO USE IT STRICTLY TO MINE ???

in #bitcoin7 years ago

So lets get one thing straight , I have absolutely zero knowledge of computers and how they are assembled , let alone how to swap out the motherboard for a better one . Then again I have never been one to shy away from a challenge so I decided to give it a whirl ! After I took the cover panels off I followed each wire to and from the motherboard and labeled them accordingly , after I accomplished that daunting task , lol I removed the 800 watt cooler master silent pro gold power supply and started hooking everything back up to the new motherboard . Low and behold after some hours and a few phone calls I got it done I just need to mount the motherboard to something and put it in a custom built Plexiglas case to hold everything together.

If anyone see's anything wrong with what im doing or if this setup is capable of mining Verge coins , or if there is a more compatible coin that I can mine with this set up please let me know !!!!!!

The old motherboard is inside the tower and the new motherboard will not fit inside of that tower ..
IMG-0005 (1).JPG ![IMG-0002.JPG]

If anyone has any constructive criticism It would be greatly appreciated !!!!! I am trying to use this rig to mine Verge Coins ??? Is this going to do the job ?

()
IMG-0003.JPG

Sort:  

Grats on your first motherboard swap! That sucks that it doesn't fit though. I'm sure this is obvious, but make sure you don't have the motherboard sitting on the case like that when you turn it on. I saw that happen once. There was a lot of sparking, and the guy working on it had his face over it and didn't realize that he had sent power to it. Zapped him in the face and fried the board. I was at the other side of the room and heard a loud pop and then pained expletives.

lol I know I have heard similar stories of unfortunate fryings of motherboards because of not grounding it before turning on power to it . But do you know if this by the look of it has the capability to mine crypto specifically verge coins ? That's the purpose of its creation lol . Thanks for the comment STEEMONNN

Sorry. Unfortunately not familiar with verge. But to help anyone else looking, what are your specs? What's your CPU, GPU, and how much RAM?

Congratulations @jakeworkingman! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jakeworkingman! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61639.07
ETH 2982.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46