BITCOIN FALLING? Other coins too? Quarterly profit taking is what this seems to be... I'M NOT WORRIED

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

This same thing happened 3 months ago. Let me explain why. A quarter happens every 3 months. Coins falling in prices is normal.

bitcoin-falling-is-ok.jpg

If you haven't figured it out by now.. part of normal trading patterns is that you see things climb to new highs, and then there is a profit taking period where the charts sink low and alarm everyone.

I'm not worried. I've seen this multiple times again, and again.

Do I like looking at RED numbers on coinmarketcap.com? No one does... so what does it mean? Are we going to stay in the red forever? Is this it? All coins are going down to $ZERO ?

No.

Whale investors push the price up. The rest of investors buy high as it climbs too. Then it comes the ripe moment to start shorting everything when no one else expects it to happen.

The price drops $900 or so on Bitcoin. People start panic selling on the way down.

....then it starts again...

Right now, it seems to be happening every 3 months. That's like taking quarterly profits.

So what is my advice when coinmarketcap.com turns into huge RED numbers?

  1. Don't panic

  2. Smile, because you know what is going on

  3. Smile again, because you know it's going to rise again

  4. Wait

  5. If you are confident enough making your trading moves during the roller coaster ride, try it. Otherwise, go long term with your holdings and you generally win in the end.

  6. Take this time to review your investments, investigate other coins, do some actual research instead of just following market trends all the time

  7. Be happy that cryptocurrency won't die. It just goes through alarming fluctuations, and as long as it does, "someone" is always making money. Sometimes that's you. Sometimes (ok, most of the time) its whales. But there is room for profits for most people at some point or another.

I predict that in 3 months in the future, I'll have to re-write a similar post like again. For now, you can see what I wrote 3 months ago.

I feel quite positive about what I'm seeing, and I'm not worried at all.

I'm spotting patterns. They're obvious if you know what to look for...

I'm on day 10/30 of my positivity challenge.

So happy investing everyone. (P.S. while you're at it.. stop selling your STEEM if you can. We should be near the bottom now, and I expect steem prices to go back up to $1.75 again quite soon... in a matter of weeks)

This is not investment advice. These are opinions that I personally think make sense. Make up your own mind. :)

EDIT: It has come to my attention that when I refer to Quarters, I didn't "literally mean" the exact same calendar month quarters at the exact same time as registered publicly traded corporations. Cryptocurrency is decentralized for the most part, and doesn't follow the same calendar dates. However, there is a bleed-over effect from quarterly profits with traditional stock exchanges and cryptocoin trading that may be evident. Traders with experience in NYSE / Forex who also play with crypto might want to realize their own crypto profits every 3 or 4 months too. Thank you for @preparedwombat for the nice debate. Hopefully this clarifies things better.

Sort:  

If you got cash sitting on the sidelines, now would be a good time to start looking at entry points in the crypto markets.

"Buy when there's blood in the streets, even if the blood is your own." - Baron Rothschild

Very good read it has certainly Put my mind at rest a little bit, cheers mike

Being of an long-term investment mindset with crypto. This was a buying opportunity. :-) Grabbed some LTC, NEO and BTC.

I am not worried either. I just wrote about this today. I am buying today with this gift of a sale going on

Gift of a sale. LOL. I like your thinking.

Thank you. Very kind compliment

Welcome to Woldwide bittrex exchange pump channel
The bittrex force of Koreans is powerful.
Last year our pumping room was highly trusted.
Do you think 500% ~ 1500% profit is impossible in a week?
We'll show you this is true.
With accurate chart reading, we plan to periodically pump.
We are recruiting people all over the world, and we do not need your money for free!
Just watch it. Install the telegram app and get in the channel.

Join Telegram channels http://telegram.me/DvaPump

안녕하세요. bittrex 거래소 펌핑 방입니다.
저희 한국인들의 bittrex 세력과 펌핑은 매우 강력합니다.
작년에 저희 펌핑방은 각종 코인 펌핑으로 크게 신뢰를 쌓았으며,
법적문제가 현재 있지않아, 다시한번 여러분들께 역사를 다시 써나가려고합니다.
일주일에 500% ~ 1500% 수익이 불가능할 것 같나요?
저희가 보여드리겠습니다. 우리방만의 노하우와 진실을
정확한 차트 리딩과 함께 저희는 주기적으로 펌핑할 예정입니다.
현재 전세계 사람들을 모집하고있고, 회원님들 돈 강요하지 않습니다. 공짜입니다.
구경만 하셔도 좋으니 텔레그램 어플 설치하고 저희 채널에 들어와주세요 ^^

텔레그램 입장해주세요. http://telegram.me/Dvapump

I agree pullbacks like this are a necessary and natural part of trading cycles for anything whether it's stocks, commodities, cryptos, or anything else. They're pretty extreme and fast in the crypto market so I can understand why people would panic sell but I'm not doing that...

I'm actually happy to see STEEM has stayed in the range it's in right now because I'm making intermittent buys until it goes higher than I want to pay per coin. It was a little bit disheartening to see the blood red day today in the crypto markets in general, but I used it as an opportunity to add a bit of Ethereum, a decent sized chunk of EOS, and a little bit more STEEM (bought STEEM today and yesterday).

I suspect the long dowtrend in STEEM started back in early summer when people decided to take profits and some of that required powering down which takes 13 weeks if I'm not mistaken. Here we are 13-14 weeks after STEEM hit its high for the year and it's levelled off the past few weeks. Go figure.

I also agree right now is not the time to be selling STEEM unless one needs to in order to survive.


Hi @intelliguy, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

I agree. My prediction - at the end of September will amount to $ 5,000, in October 5500 -6000$, and so will be repeated every 3 months

What an inspiration. Your timing is just perfect when people were panic selling and buying. I can now calm down and wait for normalcy. Thanks for the hint.

I am also having NEO Coin on bittrex and today it fall upto 35%. So i think to hold it for long time.

Well, from what I had read just a few minutes ago, the current dip is mostly because China says they don't want to allow ICO's (or something to that effect).

But either way, you could be right too. It may be a combination of both things. I wouldn't be surprised if this will be a fairly short-lived thing. I agree that people shouldn't be concerned.

Read the reply I just gave @preparedwombat

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12