Why there are no Bitcoin ATM's in Germany?

in #bitcoin8 years ago


In the whole world Germany is celebrated for its technological and organisational power. Everything seems to work perfectly and nothing should be impossible. We build the best cars (well, I drive a FIAT; and please don't think about VW's Dieselgate at the moment) and our logistic for life runs perfectly. And didn't our chancellor Angela Merkel say one year ago "Wir schaffen das" (We can make it)?

But WHY we have no Bitcoin ATM's?? The coinatmradar map for Germany is nothing but a white shitsheet of paper. https://coinatmradar.com/

The reason for this is - perhaps - we are too perfect. Our secretary of finance, Mr. Wolfgang Schäuble (well known as "Gollum") has the Bafin (https://www.bafin.de/EN/Homepage/homepage_node.html) unter his control. The Bafin builds the hurdles for every activity in the financial sector, and so for Bitcoin ATM's too. For these devices, the Bafin says, you need a banking license. That means you need about 700,000 EUR of cash!

(I don't have unless you wote me higher)

I believe, Gollum doesn't like bitcoins. Of course he doesn't like libertarians. But he loves tax payers and his role by ruling Germany via money. He loves the ECB, the BIZ, the ESM (of which he is a governor). 

But I don't love Gollum. So if I want to buy bitcoins at an ATM, I have to drive (with my bike or with my 12-year old FIAT) to Kufstein, Austria. There is a bitcoin ATM: https://coinatmradar.com/city/418/bitcoin-atm-kufstein/

Thanks for reading and voting

P.S. For reasons of my own security I didn't show pictures of Gollum. But you can google some.


Sort:  

There will be trilliant ATMs (https://trilliant.io/) in Germany next year. They "lend" a banking licence and roll them out as soon as they were finished. This ATM will offer you BTC, ETH, ..., ERC20, ICO tokens, optional paper wallet print out and a KYC process to stay completely legal.

Thanks for this information. I was a little bit surprised that you found this article which was written so many month ago. Are you engaged in this project?

You can use Xapo Credit Card to cash out BTC in Germany, but buying at a ATM is in germany not possible

Danke. Interessanter Hinweis. Dummerweise habe ich eine sehr ausgeprägte Kreditkartenallergie.
Ich bin so ein archaischer Bargeldfuzzy.

Ja ich meide Kredit Karten auch, wer will schon einen Kredit wenn man das Geld hat!
ist einfach nur die Faulheit und Bequemlichkeit der Leute so ein schund zu machen und damit die Hochfinanz bezahlt, das Schuldgeldsystem damit weiter am laufen hält.

Ich auch, aber seit ich kapiert hab, was dieses Krypto-Dingens is, würd ich auch mal bargeldlos zahlen :D

maybe sooner?
we have few bitcoin atms already in the philippines.

Well - we have Gollum, you have Duterte .....
I see your ATM is bidirectional - great!

OMG, we live here in the stone-age in Germany :-(

Hi @freiheit50 it was great to meet you at the Blockpay Bitcoin meet-up the other evening! I enjoyed your article and I too had to travel about 300 km to find a two way Bitcoin machine in Switzerland. I chronicled my journey in one of my posts. Upvoted and followed.

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Nice post. Now following & looking forward to seeing more of your posts. Up-voted. Posted a couple of articles earlier that you may find interesting.

"Where we're going we won't need central banking!!"
https://steemit.com/steemit/@stephenkendal/where-we-re-going-we-won-t-need-central-banking

"A future without central banking be careful what you wish for because sometimes dreams do come true!!"
https://steemit.com/steemit/@stephenkendal/a-future-without-central-banking-be-careful-what-you-wish-for-because-sometimes-dreams-do-come-true

Cheers. Stephen

Thank you very much for your feedback. Your articles I will read later and comment it. I know Ron Paul and his "End the FED". Are you American? I live in Munich, Germany. So my former posts were in German, but I intend to write more in English. Fore more local affairs I will continue to use German. I hope this no problem for you to follow me.

Thanks for the support. No problem. I am British in the UK. Looking forward to seeing your posts in my feed. Stephen

Hi. Thanks for highlighting this issue! Yes indeed I had to go all the way to Mexico to place an ATM in the world. We did try several times to setup machines in Germany. We had one in Berlin and Frankfurt... But not for long. :(

I m following you now! :)

That idea that Germany makes everything so well only applies to machinery. Germany is falling behind day by day technologically.
The Internet connection is a good measurement for this assessment. If a country does not take connection speed seriously, it isn't moving forward technologically. We can get better Internet connections for free at the airports of poorer countries like Greece or Portugal, than at home in Germany paying 30€ per month.

This is also a country where paper money rules. Germans prefer cash and mistrust credit cards and digital wallets.
Paypal managed a certain level of trust, thanks to eBay. Credit cards are a necessity because Germans travel a lot.
Alternatives to cash are used in case of need, so I am not surprised at all that there are no BTC ATMs.

Even trying to establish a conversation about cryptocurrency you will find yourself in a discussion with the foreigners, because you lost the Germans the moment "digital" or "crypto" was mentioned.

Crypto ATMs are severely lacking in France as well, where there only two.

In the USA New York and Connecticut are suppressing crypto ATMS. In all of upstate New York there is only one crypto ATM. There are none in Connecticut, as densely populated as Connecticut is. These two areas, upstate New York and Connecticut are so densely populated to make the suppression of crypto ATMs pretty apparent, as opposed to a states like Wyoming and Alaska, which have no crypto ATMs, but are very sparsely populated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66066.52
ETH 3291.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70