Another way the Feds plan to go after Bitcoin users

in #bitcoin7 years ago

https://www.cnbc.com/2017/10/20/using-bitcoin-to-buy-a-sandwich-could-trigger-a-tax-bill-commentary.html

Take a look at the above article. It isn't hard to see that at some point, the Feds/IRS are going to after Bitcoin users - average ones even - for "evading" capital gains taxes.

I don't think it is hard to imagine, however, that government sponsored cryptocurrencies will eventually be exempt...

Sort:  

Hi @Edgon, That is an intriguing article. Yes, the IRS is wishing for just such a gift to fall in its lap, to find a way to assess capital gains on bitcoin users. The truth is, however, the only way they could accomplish such a feat is by having transactions reside on something other than a bitcoin blockchain that they control. Unless world govts somehow bought up 51% of Bitcoin and controlled the fork process, they cannot change the anonymous nature of bitcoin transactions and the decentralized ledger itself is virtually hackproof. Still, I would rather know what my enemies are up to than be caught napping! Thanks for the post:-) Upvoted and followed

Congratulations @edgon! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I will give you 1 vote but first give me 1 vote on my new post. My profile link is @scrafi. After vote me than give a comment that you vote me than I vote your newest post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57164.70
ETH 2987.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27