"Ask me about Bitcoin" Subaru spotted in PhiladelphiasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: "Ask me about Bitcoin" Subaru spotted in Philadelphia


In March 2020, many Steem users, including @dhimmel, migrated to the Hive blockchain in response to the hostile takeover of Steem. Please use the Hive link when sharing this post and comment on the Hive version to get in touch.


I recently biked by a car that caught my attention in all the right ways! As observed on the streets of Philly, a Subaru with bumper stickers advertising sound money, Bitcoin, hardware wallets, and Lisk. For the record, I support the first three and don't know much about the last.

bitcoin-themed-car-philly.jpg

@kennethbosak is this yours? If not, any #steemphilly members know whose this is? Paging @knircky, @hypnopreneur, @yabapmatt. New York plates if that helps narrow it down.

Here's a second shot featuring @trang on her first Indigo bike ride.

bitcoin-themed-car-philly-with-trang.jpg

The quote attributed to Mayer Amschel Rothschild probably did not originate with him, but the sentiment stands.

Now this isn't the most ostentatious cryptomobile I've seen. That award would have to go to the CRYPTO1 Truck, which is a monster F350 hailing from Virginia.

crypto1-truck-rear.png

I wonder if the Crypto Truck survived the recent market crash!

crypto1-truck-side.png

If you ever see this one make sure to check out the tires. They've got a bespoke details pressed into the rubber.

Now who will be the first person to drive a Steemobile? How about this, if someone pays for me to get a huge Steem logo applied to my Saab, I will proudly drive it around!

Sort:  

I'd like to see your Saab promoting Steemit. The question is how much will it take for you to do so? $500 , $1,000, $10,000? I remember seeing a drag race car with a Steemit logo on one of Tim Cliff's promote Steemit contest, and I also read that someone is raising funds to create the first Steemit lunch truck. I cannot find links to theme though.

That crypto truck looks like it can survive an apocolypse let alone the recent market slump. So depressing to see 30% reduction in the value of my wallet. I keep thinking, "ok this has to be the bottom", and the next ETH is down another 10%.

weeping-emoji.png

Forgot to ask, will u attend Cryptocoincon in August 18th?

Hadn't heard of it. URL is http://www.cryptocoincon.com. Probably not going, especially if I have to buy a ticket. Speakers didn't seem amazing. Hadn't heard of https://readysetcrypto.com before, but his YouTube videos seem legit. If you run into him, try to get him on Steem. I'm happy to make him an account if need be!

Wait, you are a witness now? When did his happen?

I am still on the fence about going. $99.95 is steep for an event which I am not sure will be worth it. I read it the ticket was $35 in July with a 30% coupon applied which might have made more sense. I was hoping maybe you or Matt or someone I know from the Steemit or Crypto meet ups might attend which might sway me to go, but I might end up skipping and getting the summary from my coworker’s bro. He was one of the lucky ones who got into crypto beginning of 2017 and cash out some to buy his wife a brand new minivan for the family. I wonder if it advertises cryptos like the two vehicles on your post.

BTW-I am thinking about starting a fantasy football league on Steemit. I have never read that you have interest in FF but do you have any interest in joining? I am recruiting through word of mouth for now but will soon post a sign up sheet on Steemit.

I'm not a witness, but one does not need to be a witness to create an account. Creating an account is just another transaction (like every time you upvote or comment). However, I don't believe any of the webpage interfaces have a create account option.

I have a no Fantasy Football policy! Played it for a few years, but found it was taking time with little benefit. Basically, it felt like a chore.

That’s cool that you can create accounts. So how much would it take to start an account? I read recently that the account create fee changed from 0.1 STEEM to 0.2?

Last year was my first year playing FF and I placed 4th so of course this year I am itching to get another crack at the title. I like it because of the group I play with. There is a lot of fun trash talk and bantor, especially Monday morning. Even our director plays so we have an excuse to bash him.

I am thinking of starting a losers bracket league on Steemit for those who do not make it into the play offs. This will give players a second chance at a title or two chances at a title. I will post a sign up sheet soon so please check it out if your change your mind.

You can currently create an account by burning 0.1 Steem and delegating 14.5 Steem Power (which you can take back) according to this post:

The majority of witnesses has agreed on a lower creation fee. You will now need only 0.1 Steem and 14.5 SP to delegate for bringing in a friend!

https://steeminvite.com by @pharesim seems to be a service to allow you to do this. I can't speak to its security. Personally, I've been using Vessel by @jesta.

With Hard Fork 20, I believe the cost of account creation will change again. Personally, I think there's a huge issue with username squatting, and that the burn has got to be higher. The delegation isn't a real cost since you can take it back.

Also I think there should be a protocol for releasing dormant accounts after a certain amount of inactivity. For example, if there is an announcement that all accounts that have been registered and never had any activity besides their creation will be forfeited at 2020.

Interesting, so you think there is abuse with username squatting, like buying up website domain in the 90s? I guess they think that once Steemit explodes then can sell the highly desired user names? We should be able to query this info right? What do you use to query blockchain data? I recently came across this intersting post:
https://steemit.com/hivemind/@inertia/hivemind-queries

What do you use to query blockchain data?

I haven't had anything that required automated access to data on the blockchain, so I cant tell you. For manual access to raw transaction data, I'll use steemd and steemdb.

I guess they think that once Steemit explodes

You mean Steem? Steemit, Inc is a company and not the blockchain itself. https://steemit.com is the browser made by Steemit, Inc. However, I tend to use https://busy.org, which is an alternative browser.

Now this is cool! Never seen a car like this here in the Czech Republic :) But I love the idea of your Saab promoting Steem through a giant Steem logo on the door :D You can try a fundraising post :D

Btw, I am really glad to see you guys using bikes to get around your city - it is good for your health, for your wallet and for the environment (that´s why I call using bikes in cities a win-win-win :)

Thanks @phortun. My Saab is a distinct "Glacier Blue Metallic" color, which was only printed for a single year. The hex code is roughly #8BB9C9 (see on ColorHexa). Since it's already blueish, perhaps the right move would be the Steem logo in translucent white, i.e. the inverse of the usual blue on white logo.

Just had to google out what "Glacier Blue Metallic" color looks like (I am terrible at color identification :D) and you are right, it is very similar to that of the Steem logo. The inversion would work though :) Or you might want to wait for a new car :D Anyway - I am glad there are people out there who make some effort to spread the word about the crypto world.

Would be great fun to see your Saab with Steem logo applied. Hope you will get a sponsor for doing that, @dhimmel.

Wow cool we need more of these! Just wish I had a car or truck to do the same... could put a sticker on my backpack lol.

That's so awesome! A person must be really into crypto world to drive vehicles looking like that!

Hi @dhimmel, you have received an upvote from trang. I'm the Vietnamese Community bot developed by witness @quochuy and powered by community SP delegations.

@dhimmel.....what you think btc will go to 10,000 $ + in next three days??????

No ... ?

what is your opinion about bitcoin price after some days?

Congratulations @dhimmel! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @dhimmel! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63626.66
ETH 2640.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75