Bitcoin Accepted Here Since 2014; But Then What?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #bitcoin7 years ago


Even before I had purchased my very first Bitcoin I started accepting it at my business, Long Beach Web Design. To give a little background first, I stated the company in 2010 after I got laid off from architecture job at the time. The architectural industry was decimated and I couldn't find work so I turned to one of my other skills which was graphics & web design. I am self taught and have been doing it pretty much since high school as a hobby mostly and to support my endeavors.

I first heard of Bitcoin in early 2013, but didn't buy in as I was still pretty confused about the whole thing. Early 2014 I took a second look and decided it was time I made a move in that direction. So before I had even purchased any Bitcoin for myself I started accepting it through Long Beach Web Design, which by 2014 was a pretty solid business. I made this post on the company Facebook page and for a while I also had it on the homepage of the website as well.

I never received 1 payment in Bitcoin...

To this day I still have not had a customer pay me in Bitcoin, but If I had then what?

Back in 2014 if I ended up with a client that wanted to pay with Bitcoin I had NO IDEA how to actually take their payment. I posted up that huge button proudly displaying "WE ACCEPT BITCOIN HERE" and I knew it was important to go this direction and start supporting, but I didn't have a Bitcoin address or a wallet and I was not on any type of exchange or service where I could ACTUALLY take the Bitcoins if I got them! For some reason this didn't really bother me at the time as I felt like no one would use Bitcoin to pay me, unfortunately I was kind of right...

Even though I couldn't actually take the Bitcoin payment I knew it was the future and that is the real point of this post. I knew it in 2014 and I took steps to support and at least test the waters and I am still glad that I did. Later in 2014 I did end up investing in Bitcoin myself and just sat on it until early this year. Wish I had bought more of course!

Show me some love Steemit!

'Stache out!

Here are a few of my recent articles on Steemit

 
Introducting Myself and this Amazing Mustache to the Community
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@cryptostache/introducing-myself-and-this-amazing-mustache-to-the-community-cryptocurrency-and-mustaches-ftw

Why Are There So Many Different Coins, This Scares The Crypto Newbies...
https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@cryptostache/why-are-there-so-many-different-coins-this-scares-the-crypto-newbies

Make the first move; Owning my Own Keys
https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@cryptostache/make-the-first-move-owning-my-own-keys

Liquidating My Crappy 401k To Buy More Crypto Currency
https://steemit.com/money/@cryptostache/liquidating-my-crappy-401k-to-buy-more-crypto-currency

FOLLOW & UPVOTE for my original content!

Sort:  

Congratulations @cryptostache! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56596.99
ETH 2394.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32