Make The First Move; Owning My Own KeyssteemCreated with Sketch.

Since I made my first (and only... YET!) crypto purchase to date it has been sitting over at Coinbase for the last 2 and a half years. At the time of purchasing, I had no idea you could keep your own keys without having to have an online wallet. With the impending changes to Bitcoin, the Steemit cryptocurrency threads have been talking about the subject of wallets (paper, hardware, hot, cold, etc!) quite a lot and it really lit a fire under my ass to research the different types of wallets and what it all means for my Bitcoin.

After doing a TON of reading on Steemit and consulting with my buddy @rhyt about it, I decided the best solution for now was to get a paper wallet. A paper wallet is just a print out from your computer that has the 2 magical keys (your Bitcoin Address and you Private Key) printed on it that represent your paper wallet and how you send/receive Bitcoin to it. Bitaddress.org seemed the easiest way to generate a paper wallet so I checked out there options and got to work. In just a minute I was able to print my first paper wallet!

Now comes the hard part. I opened up Coinbase and went to the Send tab and then just sat and stared at the screen for a while... like a long while... This was my first official transfer of my precious Bitcoin and I certainly didn't want to screw it up. If you send it to the wrong address then you are just out of luck it seems (correct me if I am wrong!).

While right now it is looking like BIP91 is signaling a lock in, but this was still a great motivator to learn what I truly needed to learn about truly owning your own coin and not leaving it on an exchange or online wallet like Coinbase. Now I own my own keys for my Bitcoin and it feels pretty good, like I am in control of my finances in a new way.

Make sure to follow me over on my blog - https://www.cryptostache.com

Here are a few of my recent articles on Steemit

Introducting Myself and this Amazing Mustache to the Community
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@cryptostache/introducing-myself-and-this-amazing-mustache-to-the-community-cryptocurrency-and-mustaches-ftw

Why Are There So Many Different Coins, This Scares The Crypto Newbies...
https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@cryptostache/why-are-there-so-many-different-coins-this-scares-the-crypto-newbies

MUSTACHE ALERT: Check Out My New Band Brother Pines
https://steemit.com/music/@cryptostache/mustache-alert-check-me-out-in-my-new-band-brother-pines

Liquidating My Crappy 401k To Buy More Crypto Currency
https://steemit.com/money/@cryptostache/liquidating-my-crappy-401k-to-buy-more-crypto-currency

FOLLOW & UPVOTE for my original content!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit, :)

It's amazing how helps towards the growth of this community every single day. I am sure, with your support, steemit is going to fluorish more and more. Keep steeming :) @cryptostache

Thanks! I love this platform so much more then anything else out there right now.

Great post man. keep up the good work.đŸ˜đŸ’²

@cryptostache

Thanks! Make sure to follow along on my blog too! www.cryptostache.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68125.63
ETH 3308.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74