Visualizing BTC and BCH blockchain usage in heat maps.

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

Original post
I am happy to share the work that I have been doing: developing Python3-based codes to help the community get better insights in to the blockchain activities. I chose python because: it is a free and open software widely used in the world of data analysis. I am, by no means an expert in Python 3.x, or in blockchains, or in data analysis in general. But, I do want to contribute and share my point of view on the blockchains.

The following heat map is just one of the many codes I have been developing in recent months. More to come of course!

Two months ago crypto space entered a bear market, I noticed that, along with declining prices, the blockchain usages were declining fast as well. It was, at that moment that I realized I wanted to get a better look at usage of the blockchain: visualizing it, in some way. I then discovered that heat maps would do the job quite well. The following is the blockchain usage heat map for BTC in recent months, for example:

I targeted block size per block, mean transaction count per block, mean input count per block as three indicators of blockchain usage. There are more metrics out there, but these are the three used right now. With heat map, it is now very easy to visualize the blockchain usage through the colored scheme of heat maps.

The following is the BCH version of it: (I excluded Jan 15 and before because the massive surge in chain usages messed with the color scheme, making heat maps less effective)

You can visit my github to see the source code:

https://github.com/black-wolfie/blockchain-with-python-3/tree/master

If you like my work and wish to donate, I would be very grateful:
BCH qzdjkeate68u7ru2rvtnqtp0hp60akq4j550uyn7aw
LTC MDsxpeSauzPzKfTVVT148FytRQBLUFruCR
BTC 36Tj7EJtFNM4yLPqeyps5SkAtBzVNM6ja1

Wolfie (PGP: F06C737B4B0E03353F814567B589B5E06BDF3C98)
PGP signed on Bitcoin Cash blockchain

Sort:  

well done, totally readable charts:)

@blk-wolf-275022, congratulations on making your first post! I gave you a $.05 vote!
Please take a moment to read this post regarding commenting and spam. (tl;dr - if you spam, you will be flagged!)

Congratulations @blk-wolf-275022! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65836.42
ETH 2694.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87