September Steemit Posts Bench Marking Report - Business Intelligence Steemit

in #bisteemit7 years ago (edited)

Every month since I have started on Steemit I have tracked my metrics and compared them against both targets I have set myself and a general posts bench-marking report.

At the end of the day, any time I invest in Steemit is taking away from my business and I have reported loss of earning due to this.  However the overall intention is to grow my steemit account to an income level above that of what is being lost from my other business.

So let’s take a look at the September posts bench marking report.   All of the data has been taken from steemsql database held and managed by  @arcange .  As always I have connected to the data using Power BI.

Financial Performance

  

The % of post that received no payout or less than $1 payout increase from Aug to Sept from 75% to 78%.  However the % of post that received payouts of >$100 increase from .54% to 1.04%

Looking at my own data for the month, my posts are averaging in the $11-20 range.  This is down on the previous month as I had no posts above $50 and I had 5 in August.

  

This month I thought it would be also useful to look at the highest earning authors for the month

  

And the top preforming categories

 

Votes per post

   

48% of posts received between 2-10 votes, this is down from 53% in August.  There is however a larger % of posts now receiving 11-50 votes.  This now stands at 24%.

My target was to be in the range of 101-500 votes per posts.  I am getting closer

      

Comments Per Post

The most important metric I have been measuring in terms of how much engagement posts really make.

 

More than 90% of posts have received 10 or less comments.  To me this is a worrying value 

My target is to get 50-100 comments per post.  Sad to say my posts didn’t even get close this month

 


I seemed to move further away from reaching my targets this month.  Business Intelligence reports give you actionable insights, and there are a number of factors that come into the downturn for me.

1. I posted less.  10 less posts.  This means my name was not in front of people as often. It also means there were less opportunities for follow through from one post to the next.

2. I was less active in Minnowsupport on Discord.  Sometimes it feels like the more popular you are on chat, the more votes you get.

3. I did not produce a ‘Flag ship’ analysis – such as the posts on Neds delegation.

Other observations

The number of votes per post is holding for me, however my average payout value has decreased.  I did not receive as many ‘high value’ votes.  This is a good indication for steemit (lol but not for me) as it would suggest that higher value votes are manual and actually selected by the curator

October Plans

With current work commitments I don’t see myself being any more or less active on steemit or discord this month.  I am hoping this does not mean my stats will fall lower.  I am hoping to do a flagship post at some stage this month, so hopefully that will help.


So that wraps up the September Post Bench marking report.  How did your posts fair out?  Do you set targets?  How do you make sure you achieve them?  Comment below as I would love to hear thoughts.

I am part of a Steemit Business Intelligence community. We all post under the tag #BIsteemit. If you have an analysis you would like carried out on Steemit data, please do contact me or any of the #bisteemit team and we will do our best to help you... 

you can find #bisteemit  on discordhttps://discordapp.com/invite/JN7Yv7j

Follow, upvote and resteem 


Sort:  

48% of posts received between 2-10 posts,

I suppose it should be:

48% of posts received between 2-10 upvotes.

thanks :-) Nice spot. Updated

How do bots play into this data?

I really need to get a whitelist of bots that so that I can adjust this report. however I have a feeling steemvoter does more than bots

I knew cn and korea were hot and lucrative areas, but i didn't know spanish is doing so well, that is great to see! / peace (-: upvoted

Makes sense since it is such a large portion of the population around the world. Consider how big central and south America are.

I am not sure of the stats but I bet the number of people who speak spanish are not too far in terms of numbers behind that of English.

Hi Paula

Sorry to see your stats fall, based on your reports above.

I do think that these 'flag-ship' posts are key to really boosting the numbers, but obviously they are harder to produce.

With regards to comments on your posts, do you count bot comments i.e. minnowsupport and the one in this post, steemitrobot?

Thanks for all your hard work.

Asher

Wow, that's a lot of information, awesome of you to put it in handy charts like that :D

I haven't really set targets for myself, because I've learned that with Steemit, things are very random most of the time. I now have a baseline of about $2-$4 pending payout per post, but that's about it. And that while I've had a time with much higher payouts. It's the whims of bots and who decides to autovote and un-autovote I guess.


This post was resteemed by @steemitrobot!
Good Luck!

Resteem your post just send 0.100 SBD or Steem with your post ID on memo. We have over 2000 followers. Take our service to reach more People.

Pro Plan just send 1 SBD or Steem with your post ID on memo we will resteem your post and send 10 upvotes from our Associate Accounts.

The @steemitrobot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in steemitrobot's feed.
Some of them are truly great. Please upvote this comment for helping me grow.

Great statistics!
I wanted to see this.

Excellent analysis.

I dont have goals other than to be as active as I possibly can. I know this isnt a goal since there is nothing quantified in what I just wrote.

Personally I want to see my comments/posts keep increasing. I am writing more with the intention of doing at least 3 posts a day. I also expanded the areas that I am writing about...adding my NY Mets to the mix.

Hopefully you individual stats along with others on steem are going in a direction that helps the entire platform. We have a very good thing going here which can really explode if we all do our part.

Wow crazy. They make so much money...
Interesting.
Thanks J

This post has received a 2.66 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @paulag. Send at least 0.50 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56835.87
ETH 2399.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39