#bisteemit Steemit Posts Trend + Top 20 Philippine Post Contributors

in #bisteemit7 years ago (edited)

Posts are the bread and butter here in Steemit. Without content, there will be nothing that people can upvote and curate. Without posts, there will be nothing to attract search engines and generate organic sign-ups.

As my first post to analyze Steemit data, I would like to trim it down to the community I am most active in - the Philippine community.

My Approach

  1. Since this is a first, I'd like to make it simple and easy - I just want to be familiar with the data available and learn how to extract and present those data.
  2. I'm only interested in top-most posts; not comments or replies under the post.
  3. The thing that I'm curious right now is the trend for the number of posts.
  4. I also want to know who the top posters in our community are.

With these premises down, I present to you my data and my analysis.

1. From 2016 to 2017, what has been the trend of posts?

Slide2.PNG

Let's look at the data.

As we can see here, from 2016 to 2017, there was an increase in the number of posts in May 2017, with posts peaking in July with 513,409 then slightly decreased on August with 499,739.

For September, we may see a slight decline in the number of posts considering that we are already in the middle of the month and there are 252,388. Multiplying the number by two (which is the number of weeks left in September) will probably give us around 500,000 posts for September.

2. What's the trend for Philippine posts?

Slide3.PNG

Let's look now for the posts that contains the #philippines or #pilipinas tag.

We can see that the number of posts peaked last month with 3,810, up from 2,445 last July.

For September, there's a high probability that we'll exceed the posts for August since we already have 2,982 posts and we're just in the middle of the month.

Now that we've got that down, let's now look into the individuals or contributors of the said posts.

3. Who are the top contributors?

Slide4.PNG

The persons who lead the pack are @allmonitors, @unhorsepower777, and @albertvhons with 360, 304, and 252 posts respectively.


Looking at the table below, here are the top 20 contributors divided by year.

Author20162017Total
1@allmonitors25335360
2@unhorsepower7776298304
3@albertvhons0252252
4@iamkunaning0231231
5@koshin0178178
6@juvyjabian57104161
7@immarojas22129151
8@lapilipinas10540145
9@crowe1139140
10@zararina0127127
11@jamiz0122122
12@yehey0112112
13@marylizacaindoy3106109
14@gwapology0109109
15@ashlyncurvey0103103
16@mers0101101
17@junvebbei0100100
18@lgfurmanczyk09191
19@steemitph08383
20@joshvel08080

Conclusion

Steemit has a lot to offer. It's just a matter of finding and joining the right people. It's important to be with people who share your interest. And that's what @paulag did for me.


I used Microsoft SQL Server Management Studio to connect to steemsql and then used Microsoft Excel for the analysis.

I am part of a Steemit Business Intelligence community. We all post under the tag #BIsteemit. If you have an analysis you would like carried out on Steemit data, please do contact me or any of the #bisteemit team and we will do our best to help you...

You can find #bisteemit on discord - https://discordapp.com/invite/JN7Yv7j

Credits

Credits to @arcange for his support. All of the data taken in this report was from the superb steemsql managed by the same.

I also want to thank @stellabelle for mentioning @paulag in one of her posts and to the person who re-steemed that post.

Sort:  

Great post @eastmael. Thanks for sharing

Thanks for the feedback bro. I appreciate you.

Is this what they call "big data"? I hear there's a growing demand for big data analysts in the Phils.

Hello @rainbowme. No, this is not yet big data analysis as this is only within Steemit data and did not require the use of Big Data technologies like Hadoop.

Steemit is still technical for me but i shall keep participating. Some people do not respond though. They do not return favors and that is what puts me off. Hope i find the right community to join. Thanks a lot

Hello @sayee. Here's one group I advice you to join. It's the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty group in discord.

https://discord.gg/bTZJ2

I checked your posts and it seems that you need support in voting it or at least boost your morale by seeing your post at least have some payout value. I'll help you out on this.

Chat me in that discord channel and I'll help you out.

Nice analysis @eastmael, I like your approach.

Thank you @eroche. I appreciate the feedback.

Sir this is amazing. I know you were learning the tech, but you seem to be taking it seriously now. Did not know that I'd make it to top 20, partida busy pa sa work yan hehehe.

Thank you sir for showing what's possible :)

fantastic analysis, well done on the use of sql, would you believe I don't know sql at all. Really good to have you in the BI community, I can see that you will be a valuable asset.
#philippines is really growing

Thank you @paulag. I draw inspiration from your posts.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @eastmael to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by eastmael from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 1.21 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @eastmael.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64015.61
ETH 3429.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54