Analysis of Voting Habits of steemit accounts with highest amount of Delegated SP- Steemit Data Challenge

in #bisteemit7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians,

I have just recently come across a community of data analysts,data scientists and data enthusiasts; #Bisteemit,this is a community I am really excited to identify with. I am really passionate about all things data analysis even though my current data skills are kind of elementary. In steemit with the help of these kind of communities, I see an opportunity to develop my skills whilst enjoying being part of a community where there is abundance of love,appreciation and self fulfillment and yeah maybe I could make some steem too hehe.


Steemit Data Challenge


This post is my submission to the first steemit Data Challenge. An analysis was done by @paulag on Delegation of Sp. In her post she higlighted key stats about delegation,like accounts that have delegated the most amount of SP,Steemit accounts with highest amount of sp delegated to them and Steemit accounts with the highest count of steemit accounts(delegatee) delegating SP to them. You can check out the post here
Now to the challenge, the challenge as I understand it is to analyse voting habits of accounts with highest amount of delegated SP. This is visualization by @paulag showing accounts with highest number of delegated SP as at 14th of August 2017 when she made this post

For this analysis, I am going to focus on the top 15 steemit accounts in the visualization. @booster and @randowhale are upvote bots that can be used to boost posts, I use these services a couple of times myself.

Top 15 Steemit Accounts with Delegated SP
@kpine
@booster
@htliao
@linuslee0216
@nicolemoker
@surpassinggoogle
@sweetsssj
@tumutanzi
@ausbitbank
@canadian-coconut
@good-karma
@teamsteem
@randowhale
@ats-david
@theprophet0

To get the votes data,I needed to acess the steemit sql database maintained by @arcange and I used his tutorial here to try to get the data into Excel,this was not straight forward hehe,spent like 3 hours just to get the right SQL query to import voting data for only these 15 steemit accounts but it is all worth it for me in the end.I was able to import data from 1st August 2017 00:00 UTC to 18th August 2017 12:31 UTC


Most Active Voters


Steemit IDNumber of Votes
@good-karma20180
@randowhale10836
@booster4134
@teamsteem2498
@sweetsssj1523
@canadian-coconut1481
@htliao1371
@ausbitbank1219
@surpassinggoogle1051
@linuslee0216842
@ats-david813
@kpine795
@tumutanzi685
@nicolemoker553
@theprophet073
@Grand Total48054

There was a total of 48054 votes(includes upvotes and downvotes) cast by these steemit accounts during this period and you can see from the table @good-karma had the most upvotes by far. I am aware there are a lot of services for automating upvotes,I cannot think of anyway right now to distinguish between an auto vote and a manual vote.See visualization of number of votes cast below:

Hard for me not to notice @theprophet0 had the fewest number of votes during this period, wasup man!


Vote Weight


So these guys have a lot of SP but what is the average vote weight they apply when giving an Upvote, I mean a whales upvote wont mean much if it is done at 0.1% vote weight hehe. Please see the table below :

Steemit IDAverage Vote Weight
@theprophet081.08%
@tumutanzi36.55%
@kpine33.54%
@nicolemoker29.84%
@ats-david24.94%
@htliao24.43%
@linuslee021623.90%
@ausbitbank15.02%
@surpassinggoogle14.68%
@canadian-coconut12.93%
@sweetsssj12.50%
@teamsteem7.81%
@booster3.57%
@randowhale3.50%
@good-karma0.54%

I can probably see why @theprophet0 has very few votes compared to others. His average vote weight is 81.08% which implies he goes all in when he spots a post he likes


Dont mess with these guys


With great power comes great responsibility. Accounts with a large amount of SP are custodians of this platform because any post they flag might be sent into oblivion, of course this is power that should not be abused

Steemit AccountNumber of VotesNumber of Downvotes%
@ats-david81312515.38%
@canadian-coconut1481704.73%
@ausbitbank1219282.30%
@teamsteem2498361.44%
@htliao1371120.88%
@tumutanzi68520.29%
@booster413460.15%
@good-karma2018080.04%
@randowhale1083600.00%
@sweetsssj152300.00%
@surpassinggoogle105100.00%
@linuslee021684200.00%
@kpine79500.00%
@nicolemoker55300.00%
@theprophet07300.00%

You can see from the table @ats-david is most likely to downvote. Strange to see @booster did a couple of downvotes too.


There are a dozen other analysis I could run on these accounts but will stop here, If there is any angle you would like me to look at, you can leave me comment.


Thanks for reading my post.Let me know your view on this post in the comments, I read and appreciate every comment.Each post I make takes considerable time and effort,please support me by upvoting and resteeming if you enjoyed it.Keep an eye on my blog for my next post. You can also follow me @datageek


Sort:  

Great information, and have followed you resteemed and upvoted you

Alright i new they will see this post when i put it up at steemchat.

Hi @datageek, and thanks for the submission. This is an awesome post. Well done. Very interesting about the downvotes..I can tell you put a lot of work into this post.
quick suggestion, add #stats to your tag as this is a popular tag for these type of posts.

Well done and good work

Yeah put in a lot of work on this :) but it feels good. Thanks for the headsup on the tag, I included it

new follower / ty

Wow. Thumbs up

Nice analysis..

You killed it man, this is a gem of a post. I learned a lot from the post.

Wow this is awesome mahn u really do have passion for data! Would curious to see more emphasis on whales downvote ratio to upvote though

Wow! This is an amazing piece of analysis.
From this piece, apparently, there are whales, and then, there are whales! Lolz!
Nice one @datageek

Well explained.

Congratulations @datageek! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10