You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Today is my Steemit birthday =)

in #birthday7 years ago

Happy steemit birthday man! It's been enjoyable interacting with you on here.

It's not so much about quantity but quality.

Agreed! Sometimes I still give short responses to people cause I can't think of much to say, but.. I think it's healthy to actively try to be as thoughtful and detailed as possible, and steemit sort of helps me in that more than normal I guess.. I try to do that already anyways.. But.. Perhaps the incentives you mentioned help.. Hmm.. Which brings me to the next response to what you said..

Now I understand why there is a culture of nasty around the Internet, there is no incentive to be polite or thoughtful.

There's a lot of truth to this! And I think this is why I've experienced so few trolls and nasty people on here.. Cause of that incentive.. BUT.. Should there really be an incentive other than the qualities themselves?
People should be good just to be good and not cause they get paid, but I admit.. It does help.. It clearly does have a real effect.

We need the ability to Follow and Mute tags.

Good idea.

In 10-15 years knowledge of Steem, at the very least its usage, could be a requirement for most of the workforce.

Why would you see it being a requirement exactly? Just curious.

Also I think it could be mainstream in like 5 years, but to compete with numbers like Facebook of 2 billion active users.. I dunno.. I think a lot of those people just use it to talk to family and money never enters their mind, so to get those kinds of people over here.. Will be a hurdle. But.. I would think eventually.. Almost everyone would be on a social media that has such options and I personally think when steemit gets bigger that Facebook and others will get nervous and ADD the ability for people to donate to each other or something like that more than they already do.. If Facebook added some features like steemit has in regards to paying people for their posts and easy money sharing.. They could remain on top unfortunately.. So let's hope they remain dumb in a sense, lol. I'd like to see steemit or another social media topple them from the top.

Sort:  

I think it's sad that a lot of people need incentive to be mindful, but maybe they need to experience life with this behavior so they realize it works out for the better. People have incentive to think before speaking when others are around because they know pain, they know if they cause pain to others then others could try to cause pain to them in return. I also don't think the negative incentive is very good. But online people think what they say have no consequences, I prefer them working towards good reactions than working towards avoiding bad reactions out of fear.

Facebook is trying, I noticed they added some payment options and the ability to create donations campaigns. The reason I think knowing about Steemit could be a requirement is because FB pretty much is a requirement nowdays and that site is not even that good. There is a lot of incentive around development, many young programmers are starting to think in terms of how they can profit building aound Steem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56208.10
ETH 2476.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26