The Baby Herons Have Left The Nest!

in #birds6 years ago

First flight of a heron? Check the final action sequence!

The Great Blue Heron chicks in Beacon Hill Park have fledged - meaning they have left the colony nests and ventured out into the neighbouring trees in the park.

DSC_5916.jpg

I have never seen a parent kick a baby out of the nest - perhaps they take that first leap on their own. It does seem to me that once the fledgelings take their initial flight they will perch somewhere and just sit for a very long time. I imagine they are thinking to themselves "what just happened? Where am I?"

DSC_5898.jpg

Last year I saw a juvenile which had landed next to a pond in the park. It seemed completely unafraid and allowed me to approach almost to within arm's length. I don't think it had learned to identify people, so soon after leaving its nest atop a giant redwood tree.

DSC_4539.jpg

I can't always be certain which birds are juveniles and which are adults. There isn't much difference in physical size. This next shot is definitely a baby.

DSC_4559.jpg

And here are a pair sitting on some low tree branches.

DSC_4567-Edit.jpg

Finally, I will show you a sequence of four shots I captured yesterday. Here is a juvenile heron taking flight from a very tall treetop. I can't say if this is its very first flight, but it is just possible...

DSC_5890.jpg

DSC_5891.jpg

DSC_5892.jpg

DSC_5894.jpg

Thanks very much for viewing, and Happy Landings!

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks for the lesson in nature. We all seem like we know just everything only to find out how little I really know.

Love the close up of the juvenile heron and the "first flight." You really do capture such amazing nature photographs and I am so glad you post them for all to enjoy.

Did he have a happy landing??? :)

Upped and Steemed

Third in thanks so much, Denise! Don't take my word on too much nature stuff. These are my observations, but who knows if I'm right. The bird in the flight sequence is a juvenile, but he/she looks a little older than the other birds in this post. The younger ones are more fluffy! :)

Happy landings indeed! What a special experience @keithboone! And lovely photos. Thanks for sharing

great photo meeting, nice bird. a big plus +++++

Thank you very much!

Wow and awesome!! Amazing photos @keithboone!! Love, love love it!! resteemed 😊

Thanks so much @deerjay! And thank you for the nomination for the daily spotlight!

You're very welcome @keithboone and well deserved! ❤

These are amazing shots, Keith! So beautiful and I love how they spread their wings!!!

Thank you! Those are big birds, with big wings!

Congratz, your post has been resteemed, upvoted and… featured in The Daily Spotlights of July 6 2018! Check it out to see who nominated you…

I'm heading there now to check!

Amazing captures!! How fun to get to watch them!

Thank you, Melinda! Yes, we get to watch many different birds in the park, it's a lot of fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57859.61
ETH 2966.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67