Little creatures - I

in #birds6 years ago (edited)


There are times when I have the camera at hand and am able to capture the unexpected and little known.  Here are some.

This chap that looks like a giant mosquito but doesn't whine, sting or bite.

UFC2015

Master Malachite loves the agapanthus in our front garden.  Always on the move, He's hard to capture with a mere bridge camera.  This photograph was a surprise;  I could never have imagined that his black and white wings.

MalachiteFeedingAgapanthus2015

Another flying surprise: I had been trying (in vain) to capture the interesting light on the side of the mountain, and was doing so from our front porch.  When I downloaded and looked at the photograph, I discovered an almighty photo bomb.

Either Jack or Jill, one of the swallows living under our eaves, had been heading home.

SwallowPhotoBomb2015

We are quite accustomed to their swooping under the eaves and around us, so I took it for granted.  Here, she looks enormous, but they are tiny - 10 to 24 cm (3.9–9.4 in).

First published on my WordPress blog in 2015.

There it is - until next time

Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa

Photo: Selma





If you're a compulsive Instagrammer like me, Share2Steem earn

Set it up here



Let me help you - for blog posts and any writing in English
Rates depend on the depth of edit required
DM me on Discord  @fionasfavourites#1035
More about why I am offering this service here

Join us @steemitbloggers





Join Us On Discord

 

 

Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://fionasfavourites.vornix.blog/2015/12/02/little-creatures-ii/
Sort:  

Great photos @fionasfavourites

That's one godzilla of a mozzie! 😁

I like that homemade male mosquito. Also have a lot of pictures with it, most of them being macros. They're so lovely and funny to photograph as they move around and you seem like a paparazzi.

That first one
I stared it for so long
It almost looked like was wearing sunglasses hahaha

Thank you for sharing :)

That first photo is awesome! Kudos on getting such a great shot of a Crane Fly 😃 Wonderful capture! Cool bird photos, too, and yes, that swallow looks enormous! Wow!

So that's what it is. And now I know why we haven't seen them for a while: drought means we have very little grass (turf). It's taking ages to recover which is irritating. Thanks for stopping by. 😁

I totally get what you mean, we get surprises all the time, at unexpected time.

Cool photos! The little things in nature can be so awesome!

Wow yeah, I thought that was a mosquito! Much rather a daddy long legs any day haha :) Great shots!

That is a great photo bomb!! I love those kinds of surprises!

Lovely photos - but the first one reminded me of a night from hell - last night, where I had a vicious mosquito that refused to leave me alone and I could not find the damn thing!!

Oh shame! We had mozzies all winter. Somehow they didn't get the memo. And summer's even worse!

I hate the little critters!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77