Birding in Suriname 8 - Hummingbirds nesting in our garden

in #birding7 years ago

BIS 8 TN.jpg

Welcome to another episode of Birding in Suriname. A lot of birds are in their breeding season at the moment. This Yellow Oriole fletched recently. Unfortunately one of its legs is not fully developed. Other than that it looks very healthy. I think it will do just fine.

2U0B5662_L.jpg
Yellow Oriole (Icterus nigrogularis)

2U0B5644_L.jpg

Here we see its brother or sister. The Yellow oriole is neotropical bird which is common in Suriname. Its nest is a 40 cm long hanging basket that it weaves from strings of palm leaves and other plants like the heliconia. It eats mainly big insects but it also likes fruit.

If you follow my blog than you might have noticed that the yellow oriole has been discussed before. The problem is that I haven’t spotted any more species. It becomes increasingly more difficult.



2U0B5692_L.jpg
Black-necked Aracari (Pteroglossus aracari)

Another bird discussed before is the Black-necked Aracari. I only had one very poor picture but luckily I saw it again. The Aracari is a toucan. Its big bill is used to reach for fruits and seeds in the trees. They are sociable birds that live in groups.

2U0B5687_L.jpg

This bird is part of a group that landed in the trees. I could only see one and was lucky enough to take a few pictures. They fly remarkably well with such a long bill.



2U0B5577_L.jpg
Crested Oropendola (Psarocolius decumanus)

The Crested Oropendola is still busy building its nest high in the trees. This time I was able to get a bit closer to the tree that they are nesting in. The oropendola is a colonial breeder and you will always see several nests in one tree. The nests are more than a meter long. They eat insects, fruit and some nectar.

2U0B5563_L.jpg

2U0B5474_L.jpg

2U0B5483_L.jpg



2U0B4134_L copy.jpg
Spotted Tody-Flycatcher (Todirostrum maculatum)

One species I haven’t discussed before is the Spotted Tody-Flycatcher. As the name suggest this small bird eats insects and flies. Its natural habitat are the moist lowland forests. This bird is commonly found in the coastal region of Suriname.

2U0B4135_L copy.jpg

Ornament 2.jpg

2U0B5730_L.jpg
Glittering-throated emerald (Amazilia fimbriata)

I’m very excited to share the next few pictures with you. A pair of Glittering-throated Emeralds decided to build a nest in our garden and she has laid two tiny white eggs, not much bigger than a pea.

2U0B5723_L.jpg

They chose this young mango tree to build their nest. I find it amazing that they are capable of building such a sophisticated nest.

2U0B5585_L.jpg

The inner is made out of very fine material like the fluffy seeds of the milkweed. The outer is camouflaged with green moss. The nest is a deep cup which is very well attached to the young tree. I don’t know why they chose this tree because in the wind it swings like crazy.

2U0B5592_L.jpg

2U0B5415_L.jpg

They are very fierce when it comes to defending their nest. I saw it chase away a Wing-barred Seadeater that dared to land in the tree. It also chases away butterflies from their favourite flowers like the butterfly bush.

2U0B5348_L.jpg

That’s probably why the Aztecs believed that when a warrior died in battle, he turned into a hummingbird and joined the god Huitzilopochtli. I’m very honoured that they have chosen our garden to build their nest.




I hope you enjoyed this episode of Birding in Suriname and that you'll join me next week for more cool looking birds.

Much love,

Gardenbsquared




U5dsr1VhEKXmHkQPT1haGuac9zVsz6L_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Beautiful pics! How lucky for you to find the hummingbird nest. I have never seen a toucan in the wild. Wonderful bird!

Thanks. I'm glad that you like the birds. And yes I'm very excited about the hummingbird nest. Can't wait to see the young.

Love all the photos and enjoyed reading it. 😄 That hummingbird nesting reminds me of the hummer nest I found in a young avocado tree branch. It's fascinating how tiny the eggs are and how stretchable the nest is. Upvoted and followed you as I know I'll find more photos like these. 😄

That's very kind. Yes, I'm very excited and there will be many more photographs. Thank you.

Wow lucky you having a Glittering-throated emerald nest in your garden, that nest is beautiful, thanks for the great photos x bit jealous you have your own mango trees. x

Thanks. I feel ever so lucky, much better than TV. I only have one mango tree and it will take a while before it starts to bear fruit but I'm looking forward to that as well.

What a cozy nest the Crested Oropendola makes!

I find these nests amazing. They are such clever birds and their calls... no words to describe them.

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Beautiful pictures!

Thanks to @ecoinstant your article was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

I think that's very kind of you and thank you @ecoinstant. Thank you.

Your post has been resteemed to my 2800 followers

Get a free resteem using the Power Resteem Service #26

Upvote this comment if you like this service

Very beautiful photos 👍👍👍👍👍👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64785.95
ETH 3471.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51