A zoologist's top five bug encounters: from South America to Africa

in #biology7 years ago (edited)

As someone who has studied both zoology and entomology, I have a weird problem. I get excited (like really, nerd-levels excited) about strange insects in a way that leaves most other people scratching their heads in bewilderment. I can't help it, it's built in. Since I was a tiny tot and old enough to lift a rock actually. Out of my many arthropod encounters however, some have really stood out. From jungle toilet stalls in Colombia to rainy nights in the Kalahari desert, this is my weirdest bug encounter top five!

Let's start with a doozy

image.jpeg
This little beauty is a Parabuthus species scorpion (likely P. granulatus), seen here on a windy, rainy night in the Kalahari desert

Besides just having a general soft spot for anything with too many legs, I have (for reasons unknown even to me) a particular affection for very venomous ones... During my time wandering the Kalahari desert I was given many opportunities to indulge this fascination as very often, particularly on windy nights, literally dozens of these potently neurotoxic scorpions would be running around. This makes for great entertainment when you need to do things like.... Go to the bathroom block which is halfway across a pitch dark camp. Fortunately, torches are a thing and then, if you're quick enough, you get to snap off a shot of something like this.

Speaking of too many legs

image.jpeg
This is a tailless whip scorpion. Glorious, isn't it?

Alright, so perhaps glorious is a strong term, however this was a bug I'd been dying to see a live specimen of for years! Tailless whip-scorpions (which are not true scorpions but rather a related arachnid order called amblypygi) are decently-sized, nocturnal inhabitants of moister parts of the world. Indeed, it was in the rainforests of Ecuador that I finally encountered one during a guided night walk through the forest. What's super cool about these guys is that incredibly elongate first pair of legs which serve as sensory organs. The raptorial pedipalps held close to the front are used in capturing and subduing prey.

Personally, seeing one of these (and getting to touch it) was one of the high-lights of my jungle trip!

Oh lord why is that in the bathroom?

image.jpeg
A Scutigera centipede

People who have the misfortune of traveling with me through the wilderness usually figure out I like bugs pretty quickly. I'll be the one holding up the hike by flipping rocks. Or hanging around the nearest source of light at night to see what pitches up.

The benefit of this for me, of course, is that it means they tell me when they find something weird (often because it wants extracting from a shoe or bed). So recently, as I wandered the jungles of Colombia on a four day long group hike that had me bleeding from the heels, I had a young man of British origin approach me at the evening camp table. After looming a bit he asked:
'You're that bird wot likes bugs right?'
I confirmed that I was indeed said bird.
'Well, you should go have a look in the bathroom then,' he said gloomily, 'Cause you're going to bloody-well love this thing.'
'The bathroom' of course was a compost toilet shack, and perched whimsically on the back wall was one of these centipedes. Now I have a confession here. Centipedes actually give me the heebies. They have too many legs and in the desert the larger ones would always try to join me in bed. Not cool, guys. So whilst I had somewhat mixed feelings about seeing this one (particularly as the legs were even longer than the one pictured here), it was still a very interesting find and a great reminder of what was likely to be in my sleeping bag later that night.

All that glitters is... green?

image.jpeg
This stunning green beastie is a Eumorpha hawkmoth

Perhaps my favourite insect from the Galápagos. Yet what I loved even more than these hawkmoths (moths in the family Sphingidae) was their caterpillars. These larvae are also bright green and possess both eyespots and a single curling seta (like a thick hair) emerging from the abdomen which they wiggle at you when you disturb them. Because cute is the new fierce. Or some such. I've included a little YouTube clip below (with a rather disturbing soundtrack) of another species doing something similar to illustrate it (one day when I get my jungle-munched iPhone fixed I'll be able to show you a video direct from Galápagos). In the mean time:

The rarest of the rare

image.jpeg
A rarely seen schizomid

Perhaps the observation which most entranced me however, was finally seeing one of these primitive and rare arachnids in the flesh. Schizomids are a precursor to spiders, utterly blind, with a primitive, segmented abdomen and a division of the cephalothorax that gives them their name (schizo = divided, mida = middle). Honestly, I never expected to see one on these in my lifetime but was fortunate enough to encounter them, working in the Galápagos. At first, as specimens from a pitfall trap under the microscope, but eventually as a living, moving specimen as well. To say these things are alien, is an understatement. Their world and how they perceive it is so utterly different, the most I could do was watch in awe as this creature moved about. Tapping the substrate with his forelegs and walking as slowly and deliberately as any blind man with a cane. It may not seem much, but the tiny rare creatures are the ones I especially treasure seeing. They are a perfect reminder of how very little we still know of the depth and complexities of the natural world.

Thanks for stopping by,
The Wise Fox

Sources:
All facts presented are from my own knowledge of the species discussed.
Images:
Scorpion shot = My own
Other images are from Wikimedia commons except four and five which are at:
http://www.cbs.dtu.dk/courses/genomics_course/roanoke/bio101ch18.htm
https://www.writeopinions.com/schizomida

The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

Hey there, bird, you really have flown to a lot of fascinating places, haven't you?

The Schizomid is so interesting.

Their world and how they perceive it is so utterly different

This makes me think of the part in The Blind Watchmaker where Dawkins talks about the gradual evolution of the eye and how it's proof against the "intelligent design" theory - there are so many different ways of surviving in the world that it's impossible to imagine what life is like for these creatures. But adaptations don't have to be completely revolutionary to be useful.

Of course the dancing caterpillar reminded me of the Woodcock. It's not an insect but maybe still worth a chuckle:

There have to be some upsides to being a poorly paid scientist 😉

Well, there are lots of poorly paying jobs. Might as well have a fun one!

My sentiments exactly ;)

Eight Legs Good, Six Legs Bad!

I love arachnids, can't stand insects. Centipedes terrify me, millipedes are awesome. Go figure.

Also, you should change one of the tags on here to steemstem- they'd very possibly be interested in curating and upvoting this post, they're always on the lookout for field stories from actual scientists!

Yeah, I did think about steemstem but they seem to prefer more hardcore science-y topics rather than this sort of conversational style. So I didn't think it would be a good fit...

The worst they can do is say no! I'd switch out til or travel.

A solid point. Alright, you've convinced me 😉

Thank you very much for sharing your valuable post on steemit. I am going to follow you so that I can upvote your post in future.

Thanks

Hello, Thank you for sharing your experience, I'm a traveler as a photographer, I love your work, Hope we can be good mates in steemit as followers.

Hi there :) thanks, glad you enjoyed the article ;)

I am not a fan of bugs but there is something about the way you wrote this. I just might change my mind and be a bug lover 👍🏾

I'm glad the contagion is spreading 😬

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #15 (1/13/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Red Roman small.png
(https://www.northwestnewspapers.co.za/herald/home/series/spiders/797-die-rooi-roman)

Is this by any chance one of your photos too?

One of these once appeared where I was busy nestling down for a comfortable sleep on the sand inside my tent Grootfontein, Namibia. I cannot forgive myself for the way in which my then youthful xenophobia drove me to dispose of this innocent creature..

Could you tell us more about it please @holothewise?

That fellow is a solifuge, another primitive arachnid. You actually get some super pretty ones (the diurnal species tend to be more colourful). They're completely harmless, just hellishly fast :). The day active species usually go for shadows which is why they sometimes seem to be chasing people when they're actually just looking for shade.

Beautiful specimen. Some of those I don't think I want sneaking up on me, but for the most part I love all those little critters :). Just not in my boots in the morning! haha

Yeah, you learn to check your shoes 😂

Great post holo. We use to catch a type of whiptail scorpion when I was a kid in Florida by laying boards out in the brush and checking what was underneath them a week later. Like clock work I always used to find one of those little guys hiding out. Thanks for the great post and keep up the awesome work. :)

That is indeed a good strategy :) This is why you'll always find me digging around in rotty old logs and rolling rocks wherever I go. Every now and then you find something very, very interesting 🙂

It's really neat that you've encountered all of these specimens across the world. I hope you get your phone fixed so we can see the video you mentioned.

Visiting the Galapagos Islands sounds like quite an adventure. Have you blogged about that before?

Um, I did a bit of a history of one of the islands a long while ago. I was actually there for about six months though, so I was thinking of eventually doing a travel series on the attractions of each inhabited island. Where to go, what to do, that sort of thing.

That sounds like a great idea. I'm sure you had some interesting experiences there. What was the nature of your stay?

I was working for some zoological projects :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.06
ETH 2551.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65