Never put anyone on a pedestal including Einstein

in #biographies6 years ago

This experience taught me to never put anyone on a pedestal in my mind, including Albert Einstein. That is if I want to keep them there.

vlgvr3n90d.jpg
Wikipedia

While at the resale shop I happen upon a book, “The Other Einstein”, by Marie Benedict, based on a true story. How could I resist? The thought of learning about Einstein and his first wife, Milvea Maric on a personal level is very exciting to me.

The book is about Mileva Maric, from Serbia in 1896 who is the only woman studying physics at in Zürich. She meets Einstein in her class while attending school there.

The book is fiction and uses some historical facts, a fun read for me through the first two-thirds of the book.

I find myself taking a hike with her and her friends, listening to her and other students, including Einstein discuss science at the Polytechnic Institute.

I am even there when Albert Einstein pursues a relationship with her.

Then the negative things pop up like his mother did not like her she was too dark for her.

Also the unexpected pregnancy, which spells the end of her career; things go bad from there. It was difficult for a woman to make it as a scientist anyway and she got pregnant while unmarried.

The worst part I did not expect is I begin to see Albert Einstein as a person. A man doing things most men do and this is the part that bothers me. From there it went downhill for me. He later divorces her.

I had no idea his first wife was a brilliant mathematician and actually helping him in his studies and allowing him to take credit on work they did together. Einstein often refers to the work as “our work” in letters to her. It bothers me that this is kept out of the spotlight.

Once again a woman with ambition being pushed back, also not credited for all she did in helping him

“Behind every great man is a woman.” - unknown source
No truer words have ever been written at this moment in my mind.

One redeeming factor later is when they divorce the court rules for her to be awarded the proceeds of any future Nobel Prize, which she later receives.

It is good to know of Mileva Maric contributions. The part that saddens me most is her life remains in the shadows.

I do suggest the book with its insights into Einstein’s life and the fact it is well written. Here is a book review about this book that I like.

A good lesson for me is never to put anyone on a pedestal, even Einstein.



Thank you for reading,
@rebeccabe


This post created using #esteem by @good-karma

Be sure and check out in discord:

#steemitbloggers
#steemusa
#photofriend

SB_new.png

Sort:  

amen to this post... @rebeccabe are you on discord? I'd like to extend an invitation

thank you :)
How do I find the invitation? Thanks Dear Axey

what's your discord user name? I'll try and find you and send a friend request

Rebeccabe
#0160

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this. It is a good lesson to keep in mind and so true. I think sometimes we tend to forget these great minds were still people, human beings just like you and I that can make mistakes and bad choices. I didn’t know these things about his first wife either, it is rather interesting learning about history.

Hey, @crosheille thank you for dropping by to comment. I know we are all human and you never know what life will throw at you.

Absolutely! It was my pleasure. 😊

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

thank you :)

I most certainly agree with your sentiment <3
I have found that the more unanimously-celebrated a historical individual is, the more likely he is not what is claimed everywhere.

Gotta bite my tongue here a bit but if one is willing to dig, one can find out many little known things about this hero of contemporary science and his incriminating paper trail ;)

I didn't even know he was married. Thanks for sharing. Very interesting. Smart lady ...behind every smart man.
Or shall I say in front. Lol. Ladies First.
,🤣😁
Joy

LOL There you go. Hey, @sweetjoy good to see your comment. Yes, he remarried after her.

Even geniuses are human, and also he was a product of his era. But a good reminder that we all have our weaknesses, and not to raise anyone up above ourselves. To retain our own autonomy.

Well, it wasn't all him, great women in history often get passed over,
I did a post a while back and in there is "proof Forensic analysis of some of Johann Sebastian Bach’s best-loved works proves they were actually written by his wife, an academic has claimed" link

Didn't you say it was fiction?

Fiction based on fact. Some of the story is real and some the story is fiction since the author was not really there.

Lots of books and movies are based on true stories.

There are letters written between them Einstein and his wife.

Letters are what people wrote each other back in the day. Look at the link I included for a book review someone did.

I like to write more about how I feel. :)

Okay, good, I understand better now. I never open links just in case. I too like to write about how I feel

Hi @rebeccabe!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.259 which ranks you at #2577 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 477 contributions, your post is ranked at #67.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

A very succinct review, this is certainly a side of Einstein I had never heard of. It would make quiet a good movie.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Thank you @c0ff33a . There is still a lot of mystery behind all the things that went down back in the day. Today if you sneeze someone knows. I believe his first wife may be responsible for a lot of his development of theories. Too bad we will never really know. :) Thanks for the resteem also.

Fascinating! And typical... I'll have to read more about this woman.

Glad you liked it.. yes, really interesting to find out about her

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65920.41
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71