A story of a bike and the passion/obsession/friendships made/money wasted but denied to loved ones……….

in #bike7 years ago

This is a picture of a bike……………my ‘vintage bike. A 1978 Gitane. Yes 1978 is vintage.

13445996_1560251010944942_1317768807_o.jpg

It makes me smile whenever I ride it.

The reason it makes me smile is because of the story behind it.

I started being an obsessive ‘bike rider’ at a late age, 24 precisely. I always liked bikes as a kid but stopped when I was a teenager as other things in life took over.
I got back into it as I was getting heavy………

So I walked into my local bike shop and picked a blue mountain bike. I didn’t know the brand or the components on it, but I knew it was blue and it looked cool.
I later found out it was a Gitane and it was ‘low’ grade entry bike. But an entry is an entry and I loved it. Also it was brand less known in Australia and was gone a year or two after I bought it from Australia. A less known brand…………..
I later bought more expensive bike as the passion re obsession grew. The first bike was later thrown out in rubbish collection day. (I broke it due to over use……)

Years later I lamented THAT bike. But I didn’t want a mountain bike any longer I am into ‘road bikes’ now. Also I wanted something different but didn’t know what……

One day a friend rode a ‘vintage’ bike on our organised group rides. It looked good and yes I was envious.
Also it sparked an idea…………….
Why don’t I get a vintage bike…Hmmm I have been missing my first bike but I don’t want that exact bike, maybe a homage to it…….Okay an idea was born.

The next day I went looking.

The good thing or bad thing about looking for a brand of bike which is less well known is that the value is often less.

I found this example on ebay and well there were no bids and it was complete and it was around the corner from where I lived at the time.

I messaged the owner to have a look and when I saw I made an offer and it was mine………That was quick.

I got it home cleaned it put new shiny wheels on it and my own seat. Took it for a ride and started smiling.

13493440_1560250937611616_42688872_o.jpg

I haven’t stopped every time I ride it.

Sort:  

Hi. I am a volunteer bot for @resteembot that upvoted you.
Your post was chosen at random, as part of the advertisment campaign for @resteembot.
@resteembot is meant to help minnows get noticed by re-steeming their posts


To use the bot, one must follow it for at least 3 hours, and then make a transaction where the memo is the url of the post.
If you want to learn more - read the introduction post of @resteembot.
If you want help spread the word - read the advertisment program post.


Steem ON!

Hi. I am a volunteer bot for @resteembot that upvoted you.
Your post was chosen at random, as part of the advertisment campaign for @resteembot.
@resteembot is meant to help minnows get noticed by re-steeming their posts


To use the bot, one must follow it for at least 3 hours, and then make a transaction where the memo is the url of the post.
If you want to learn more - read the introduction post of @resteembot.
If you want help spread the word - read the advertisment program post.


Steem ON!

Congratulations @lawrecnen! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @lawrecnen! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70130.51
ETH 3786.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78