59 -> 60. Boosting the reputation (test results) + Some thoughts on my first bidding experience

in #bidbots6 years ago

The bid-bots have coped with the task perfectly and the reputation score of 60 is reached.
I missed the time for updating my previous post, in which this experiment was actually run, therefore the "results and costs" stats will be published below. So...

7284yu6xyn.jpg

Some input data

For those who have missed the beginning of my experiment or do not want to reread that post,

the goal of my experiment was to find out how much it costs to buy yourself a piece of reputation with the help of bid-bots.

I started the experiment with having my reputation score at - 59,867.
Created a post
1 day was given for human curators to vote and I moved up to - 59.89 (+0.013)
And then I called the bots.
To that time, I had something about $4.5 reward under my post.

The bid-bots turn

I did not have any bias towards certain bots, I just opened https://steembottracker.com and chose a few of those that promised at least at 5% positive ROI for 10-20 minutes before closing of the biding window. The one thing I thought was that only bots with a reputation higher than my one can influence my reputation score, so I chose those who was more than 59.

It turned out to be much easier than I expected...
See yourself:

Bid-botSBD sentReputation gainedRep. score After
rocky15+0.0359.92
smartsteem5+0.0359.95
?smartsteem trail?X+0.00959.959
booster8+0.03359. 992
upmewhale7+0.03360.025
brupvoter1.350.0160.035
TOTAL26.35+0.145

26.35 SBD for this little piece of reputation. It's not much. Besides, this is the easiest and the fastest way. People love easy ways, right?

Some easy calculations

I wonder how much would it cost me to jump from 59.00 to 60.00 mark?
Now, I will take the liberty of making an approximate calculation based on my data. Let's not take into the count those lines where I went beyond 60, because at the next level everything is different.

jvzdzq0m89.jpg

It turns out that a jump from 59.00 to 60.00 can be done in just one post, paying about 161 SBD to the bid-bots owners.

Of course, this is a rather approximate amount and it much depends on your luck in bidding. One thing I can say for sure is that

making such a jump is even easier at lower levels of reputation.

There are many articles on the topic of how the reputation is calculated and where it comes from. I liked this post for the fact that it has such a wonderful Reputation Score Table with numbers of raw reputation points needed for each next level.

According to this table the difference between the reputation score of 59 and 60 is:

7,742,636,826,811 - 5,994,842,503,189 = 1,747,794,323,622 raw reputation points

Does this mean that any new account can reach these numbers and get a reputation score of 54 by spending the same amount on their one post (see the table)?

g3z8j52vup.jpg

Really? In early days it would take me about six months of active posting to grow so. Things became much easier till that time:)
Do you want yourself a high reputation? JUST BUY IT!

Profit?

I almost forgot about the financial side of the issue. After all, the money sent to bid-bots should return to the wallet in a week as your author reward. Adepts of boosting say that it is profitable. Let's count:

26.35 SBD was spent for boosting
$29.91 received as an author reward (according to the Busy.org info)
If we take away $3 ($ 4.5 minus 10% beneficial reward minus 25% curation reward) that was given to me by the human curators, I will be close to 0 (zero)...
...and it means this small piece of reputation gained from boosters cost me nothing

It was my first bidding experience and most of my bids turned out to have a negative ROI. Yeah, shit happens:( Moreover, I used for posting an application that takes beneficial reward and thus I lost a part of the earned amount.
But I think more experienced gamers know these tricks, and that means

in addition to free pumping your reputation with bid-bots, you can even make profit on this process!

What a cool gift from STINC!
You still think that a high reputation is worth something?

Sort:  

The reputation number as displayed in the interface has indeed become meaningless, but to be honest, this was already the case before the advent of bidbots. They just made matters worse; not the only rape of Steemit they and their delegators are at least partly responsible for.

I have a hope that our scoring system can be fixed with a proposed UA (User Authority) model.
It is discussing now here and here and looks like this system will be much better and more difficult for cheating. Will see

So you got raped by the reward pool rapists? That reputation gain is not worth it in my humble opinion. Only ROI cuts it for me. And even there bidbots is a hit and miss game.

According to my calculations, after payout time I came to almost "0" or maybe lost a little, less than a dollar. That is, buying a reputation did not cost me anything.

I think I could even earn some money if it were not these greedy bit-bot owners who continue to accept bets in the current round after coming a negative ROI for their users. In addition, I do not understand users who see that the ROI becomes negative and continue to make their bets, bringing it even lower than -30 or even -50. Is this not an absurd? It turns out that you can make a great bet, but you are not immune from the fools around that will bet after you. "hit and miss", indeed.

As a whole, it was an interesting experience, it was fun and excitable, but this game is not for me. Bots are harming this platform, IMO.

I have been saying that bots are harmful for a very long time, but people keep using them. Go figure!!! Emotion seems to beat logic almost every time. People are emotional creatures and they feel good when they see the rewards they BOUGHT and paid for.

That's why we have @reviewme profiles - Your TRUE Reputation On Steemit.com As Decided By The Community. 🙃

Maybe, but who will see these profiles? We need to visit a third party site for this? It takes time...

Oh no, it's here on steemit and users leave a footer in their posta that links to their profile...it's fun at least ☺️

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Tat'yana from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Artificial reputation? Eeee.. Reputation=good you and your friend who will upvote you :-)

Дуже багато написано, чого я не розумію :) Отож , Таню ти прийшла до висновку, що це варто робити. Я рахувала для себе багато разів і фінансова сторона завжди майже = 0

То ти, раніше великий противник ботів, тепер стала прихильником?

Да никогда! Таки-надо было дублировать по-нашему:-)

Я о том, что высокая репутация теперь не говорит ровным счетом ничего. Ее легко накрутить с помощью ботов, что я и сделала ПОКАЗАТЕЛЬНО в предыдущем посте.

Потратив на ботов всего 25 СБД я подогнала свою репутацию к 60, а то мне там раньше чуточку нехватало. Дальше с помощью нехитрых и приблизительных расчетов просчитала, что на прыжок с репутации 59,00 на 60,00 понадобится всего 161 СБД. А эта же сумма, потраченная на бустинг поста абсолютного новичка, гарантирует ему репутацию 54 всего за 1 пост.

В свое время у меня на это полгода ушло, а сейчас достаточно получаса. И об этом моя печалька.
А самое грустное, что через неделю потраченные деньги возвращаются (пусть даже в ноль), и выходит что покупка репутации не стоит юзеру абсолютно ничего. Вот, это вкратце.

Дякую за пояснення, Таню. Подзвони при нагоді, поговоримо. 067 -6738119

It's unfortunate that reputation can be "bought". But in this respect, Steemit mirrors life. More than a few people have bought their reputation with handlers, PR flacks, and astroturfers. It would appear that on Steemit, gaining reputation is far simpler.

The choice to buy a reputation or earn is a matter of adaptation, a matter of choice. We either choose to learn from the experience of building reputation or we learn to buy it. Once we've made the choice and acted upon it, we adapt to our choices.

Не знаю на что влияет репутация, но точно помню как в самом начале получал хорошую "выручку" за посты с репутацией новичка. Жду поднятия (хотя-бы малейшего) курса и буду все выводить. Даже силу голоса...
Незаметно для себя отошел от Стимита. Вижу выгоду только в "акционных" постах по воскресеньям. Если не рассматривать выгоду - лучше на фейсбук, инстаграм и ютюб постить. Такой вывод получился... :-(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62922.70
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83