Parts Prep

in #bicycles7 years ago

Still no word on the Clem Smith Jr. delivery, but I couldn't help myself and decided to tear down my current bike (the Kodiak) and prepare components for the build. I really thought it would take much longer to get the important parts off and cleaned - however, El Duke Degreaser and the proper tools made it an afternoon-length adventure. Here are few highlights (in black and white 'cause I felt like it)...

Shimano 8-Speed cassette donated from the Kodiak:
CassetteHexlox.jpg
It doesn't look like much - and it isn't really - but I'm very fond of the range. Eight cogs paired with a triple-crankset are more than enough gears for me. Aesthetically I lean toward silver components (when possible) and I've never quite liked the unbalanced look of 1x or fixed gear drivetrains. The HexLox skewers are an anti-theft measure recommended by a friend and should help a ton here in NYC. Obviously, they aren't quick-release. I figure the extra 10 seconds on a flat fix or tire change is worth keeping my wheels.

Next up are the Silver Shifters:
SilverBarEnd.jpg
These are friction and originally made for Thumbie mounts (I had them like that on the Kodiak and they were flawless). Decided to go Bar-End for the first time ever. We'll see how that works out when the bike is built. The tension screws are pitted - don't know why, and as long they keep performing well, I don't care.

Albatross Bars:
Albatross.jpg
You'll notice right off the bat that I've flipped them. I prefer the look, others don't. They don't come back as far as the Boscos but still offer plenty of hand positions and the ever awesome MTB lever/BarEnd shifter compatibility. My theory is this: The Kodiak was too big for me and required short stem and long swept bars to offer an upright position. I had a tendency to ride on the "hoods" of the Boscos (felt better on my back and ass, even with the C19 saddle). The Albatross bars should offer me that same position, but by flipping them the Forward area is raised instead of lowered. Hopefully this makes longer rides a bit more maneuverable. Maybe I just want to try something different. Whatever.

Only time will tell with these, and many other choices I've made for the Clem. I'm sure that adjustments and tinkering and grass-is-always-greener thoughts will change the build over time, but right now the excitement is hardly being contained and I'm just trying to keep busy while simultaneously justifying my decisions.

Sort:  

Congratulations @irreguleur! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard Contest Teaser
The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @irreguleur! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest⁴ - Meet the Steemians Contest
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67751.75
ETH 2620.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72