⭐️ "Temptation of the unholy A." - more red on glass

in #bescouted6 years ago (edited)

bescouted_photo.jpg

For many years I experimented with a new way of painting on reverse side of glass, with materials normally not used for that. Like graphite pencil and watercolor..

Since you view the painting through the glass it is painted on, that has a certain effect and thank god modern glass hardly has any color of its own anymore. Some 20 years ago it was actually still pretty green. You could see it by looking at a sheet of glass from the side.

Because of that, bright reds in particular were always a problem. I was really thrilled, when better quality glass became available and I could revel in red!

A sightly not safe for work (depending on your job ;-) ) "Temptation of the unholy A." now added to my BeScouted album



I enjoy reading your comments!


If you like my work, of course I appreciate your upvotes and resteems


appendix-2_01.png
appendix-2_02.pngappendix-2_03.pngappendix-2_04.pngappendix-2_05.png


All photos/scans by me of my own artwork done in my special technique as introduced in What is Hinterglas?

sig-2017-1.png

pfeil-3.png

See more of my work on sola and BeScouted

Please take a look at my brother's work



bescouted.gif

Sort:  

Still trying to get my head around "reverse side of glass". So is the not-reverse side the "top" and normally you'd be looking at a painting on the glass you could normally touch, but the reverse side you're looking through the glass at the painting?

How do you find the non-standard glass painting materials on the glass? Do you have to be careful not to get it wet so it doesn't come off?

Sorry for being dumb! XD

goatsig

Not dumb at all. You can find out more at my post about "What is Hinterglas?". When you look at a sheet of glass, the side facing you is the front, and consequently the side facing away from you is the back. Since you turn it around to work on that "back side", its "reversed". So yes, in the end you look through the glass at the painting.

Traditionally one would use materials, which would stick to the glass on their own, like oil, or today acrylics. I wanted to use things that pose a bigger challenge but give me new options, like pencil :-)

This one is so fun!

Thank you, so glad you like it! 😊

Is your glass painting technique something you invented? Did someone teach it to you? In India there are some schools of glass painting.

I have an education in traditional glass painting. Hinterglas is a very old technique and from what I know, India has a long tradition there. My father discovered the concept for using graphite pencil on glass and I developed it further for my very own hinterglas technique, where I combine pencil and old masters techniques to achieve more depth than the traditional approach allows...

Oh I see it is called Hinterglas. So your father was an artist too! I have seen Indian glass paintings from Tanjore; here is an example:tanjore.jpg A REVERSE GLASS PAINTING OF SAGE VASISTHA AND THE DIVINE BOVINE-GODDESS KAMADHENU
TANJORE, SOUTH INDIA, LATE 19TH/EARLY 20TH CENTURY

Rad picture :) Like it very much

Thank you! 😎

My fellow artist @reinhard-schmid, I've added you to my weekly round-up artist support initiative future! Keep up the good work and wish you all the best in your art future! MeGy :)

Weekly round-up post: https://steemit.com/art/@megy.fine.arts/support-to-artists-my-6-picks-23-05-2018

One thousand smiles and happiness for this piece :)

nsfw: where I work, this would be very safe, haha
(worked: I am pensioned now, but you should see what my former colleagues send me per email).
upvoted, resteemed and shared: https://twitter.com/visionaryartcom/status/997953886504841222

really nice

Sweet 🤘🏼✔️

Fantastic works! Really liked Your style, Follow to see more of Your creations!

Love this one. Always makes me think, “Who is driving...him or her?”

She is shaped just like the doll that I ordered (and received today.) You’ll see...I’ll post pictures soon.

Cheers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76