Singapore's Nighttime Skyline

in #bescouted6 years ago

bescouted_photo.jpg

On my first night in Singapore after my Indonesia adventures running away from thieving monkeys in the jungle, the missus and I walked from our hotel to the marina bay area where .. you guessed it.. the marina bay sands hotel is.. well this is not a picture of that (i'll share that later). This is a shot of the financial district.

If you walk across the bridge on the right there it takes you right over to the Merlion. Unfortunately the Merlion was covered in scaffolding as they were renovating it .. It was rather disappointing but not as disappointing as discovering the raffles hotel was closed for renovations. All the Missus wanted was a Singapore sling at the Raffles. We settled for a Singapore Sling in a restaurant somewhat reminiscent of TGI Fridays instead... not quite the same.

This shot was taken with a canon 5d mkii hooked onto a gorillapod tripod that was wrapped around a railing. I must have looked really weird because I was standing behind the camera with my hands hovering around the sides of the camera like a parent does with a toddler just learning to walk.. I was terrified it would slip off the railing and into the water. Those Gorrillapods aren't quite a sturdy as they make out in the ads.. but it did do an awesome job.


!steemitworldmap 1.288954 lat 103.855051 long Singapore's Nighttime Skyline D3SCR


image
Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem

bescouted.gif

Sort:  

WOW th skyline has sure changed from hen I iced there but that was 30 yers ago so I would have bene shocked it it hadn’t

This is such a fantastic short BRILLIANT

Tip!

yers ago so I would have bene shocked

😂👍😂

Thanks :) The last time I was there was 25 years ago.. the place has changed so much it was almost unrecognisable to me. I have a friend from Singapore in London who tells me it changes so much and so fast that every time she goes back there's something new/different.

I could imagine that even in the three years I lived there it was changing fast

Amazing picture, perfect Timing. I whish i can take a picture of a Skyline like this soon.

Thanks :) I'm sure you will.. its all about technique in the end :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 6 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Missing the Raffles is a bit of a bummer!! What a pity.

Yeah it was a real shame, but I'm seeing it as an excuse to go again some time ;)

Nice HDR on the skyline. I like it.

Actually, this is not an HDR shot :) but thanks for the compliment :D

Really, looks well balanced. Well done.

Wow amazing photo

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=fiftysixnorth
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=singapore-s-nighttime-skyline


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you :)

Abosuletly stunning. I bet it was even more incredibke in person during a romantic walk though! None the less, thanks for sharing.

Thanks! It was quite stunning, and yes I highly recommend the area for romantic walks. Just make sure your partner enjoys hot weather or it might not be so romantic ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63764.77
ETH 3430.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53