Why do Bees Swarm ?

in #bees7 years ago (edited)

This morning I found a swarm in my garden, even though bees are a regular sight in our area, I personally haven't had them this close.

IMG_20170927_171734.jpg

according to an article I found form 2010, this is when they are at their most docile, as this is when their only attention is on defending the queen and finding a new home, as they do apparently split the hive for various reasons, one possibly being the colony has out grown the hive. As spring has just started I think this the likely reason.

IMG_20170927_171658.jpg

yes, the queen is somewhere in there, most likely left the hive with half the workforce. These guys must have been a bit cold as we had some rain trough the night

IMG_20170927_171537.jpg

this swarm would have left the old hive with about 6 queen larvae to mature there, for one to end up ruling the hive. Amazing how they work together

IMG_20170927_171309.jpg

Shortly afterwards they exploded into flight, I almost crapped myself....

here is a link to the full article I found from 2010....
http://thelazybfarm.com/why-do-honeybees-swarm

steembox.gif

Sort:  

Thanks for the advise, will remember that for next time. I have been planning on getting a hive going for a supply of honey at home, been looking at the ones made that pour honey straight out the hive.

Pure honey from your own hive is the best thing ever! It's really cool how the flavor changes too as different flowers bloom through the year.

I have noticed a difference in flavor from the different areas I travel through here in South-Africa. People sell the fresh raw honey on the side of the road in 500ml bottles here. I have also heard that to cure sinus problems caused by pollen, you just need to eat some of the honey that is locally produced in your area, as the bees mix this local pollen into the honey, and if you eat it, your body builds up kind of natural immunity and your sinus problems go away. I have given this advise together with some local honey to a friend, and it does seem to have helped. Still not sure if its just an old wife's tale or if its true, but it sure makes sense....especially from what I've seen.

I think there is truth in that. It is also said that bee stings help arthritis and joint stiffness. I didn't think much of that until I noticed my hands no longer hurt after having the bees.

i am beekeeper. if i see a swarm i have to take them, because here in europe honeybees cannot or only hardly survive on theyr own. spray some water on them and then carefully put them in a box. they should not be agressive if they swarm. if you are lucky and you have the queen in the box, the other bees will follow. but it seems you live in africa right.? i am not sure if african bees would like this ^^ maybe next time you put some good clothes on and try and become beekeeper too ;)

@resteem.bot
Resteemed to over 4500 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!
Read here how the new bot from Berlin works.
@resteem.bot

Can u resteam my post

I was a beekeeper in the USA before I moved to Panama and it was fascinating learning and watching them. They would swarm a lot in the spring to go off and start new colonies, and my neighbors got good at spotting them and calling me when they were in a tree. I would call the local beekeeping club who would send someone out with a gentle vacuum to scoop them up, and then donate them to a new beekeeper to get them started. A swarm looks a bit scary but they are harmless and will move on when they are ready.

Must have been amamzing, I've been thinking of setting a hive up for collection of honey. Learning alot since I found this swarm.

You should! if you don't mind a few stings. They don't take much care and are good for the planet, in addition to the honey.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @africanherbman to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Check out our contests as well!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67024.68
ETH 3312.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74