Have you heard of the best beer IN THE WORLD? Do you know which one is it? Let’s see...

in #beersaturdays6 years ago (edited)

IMG_0197.jpeg

If you have interest in beers and especially craft and Trappist beers, you definitely know which beer is rated as the best beer in the world... Yup, this is the Westvelteren XII beer. The brewery is one of the seven official Trappist breweries, and the beer itself is a quadruple. And thus... it’s sold only on previously announced date and every preson can buy up to 24 beers I think... The monks obviously know how to do their job. And the beer comes with its price... Here in Bulgaria a single bottle is sold up to $25!!! Although the monks are strongly against reselling of their beers, which is stated on the beer casks.

Knowing the price here, I started searching of a beer, having the same qualities, or at least the same... And then I read several reviews of quadruples, finally coming to know, that the Trappistes Rochefort 10 was holding similar qualities, and even claimed to be better than some people, blind testing the Westvelteren XII and Trappistes Rochefort 10.

And here I come...!!!
IMG_0181.jpeg

You are probably curious why do I have two beers of the Rochefort 10... No, I do not have company at all, except my cats, but they obviously don’t drink beer. I just thought, that the photos will look better with two beers. One of them was bought yesterday, while the other one I bought about 8 months ago, and decided to keep it safe for some more years. These high alcohol friends love to be aged!

I just hope, that I picked the right bottle to open! Hehe...
IMG_0187.jpeg

Let’s pick my “birnik” and begin the tasting notes...

IMG_0193.jpeg

I must tell, that this beer actually fits perfectly in the time, that I needed to write down the notes! 330 ml bottle is just enough! And enjoying it, I soon was ready with the notes about the Trappistes Rochefort 10! And yes... I only did drink the fresh one...

IMG_0194.jpeg

Name: Trappistes Rochefort 10
Brewery: Rochefort brewery
Country: Belgium
Style: Quadruple
ABV: 11,3!!!
Price: 6,70 BGN ($4,2)

Delivered in: Bottle
Clarity: Clear
Head retention: Very good
SRM(color): 33
IBU(bitterness):15
Served in: Tulip glass

Quick notes:
Appearance: Very dark caramel, thick foam, perfectly staying to the end. Aroma: Dark berries, malts, caramel. Flavor: Plums, dark forest fruits, malts, extremely thick!

In the company of: #steemit #beersaturday
Date: 23.01.2018
Place: Kazanlak
Overall score: 10/10

IMG_0191.jpeg

Actually I’ve never tried “the best beer in the world”, but definitely think this beauty deserves its price and is unique. These 11,3% alc. are not felt at all. The only trace of the alcohol is the warming effect briefly after the sip goes through your throat. Very thick and unique taste. Very fruity, malty and thick beer at all. I would say ABSOLUTELY thick, would definitely buy another one. It’s very good mate for the cold days.
I’m not into the sweet beers, but this one is just a fairy tale. It’s like magic!

Cheers, and don’t forget to check @detlev and his beer challenge! #beersaturday is great thing to enjoy the beer and have some fun at the same time!

Bye and see ya!

IMG_0185.jpeg

I’m now going to finish my pale ale with Perle and Aurora aromatic hops. Just experimenting with tastes, waiting the documents of my craft brewery to be ready. We just got our first documents about brewery’s place... now... work is needed!
And again, cheers!

Sort:  

Trappistes Rocheforte is an amazing beer and thank you for the great review, it's making me thirsty for some Belgian beer! Great photos too.

Yes, as a quad, it would be quite similar to Westy 12. However, did you know that the brewer who originally created Westvletern XII moved to St. Bernardus? (I'm not sure if he's still there or not). The rumor is that St. Bernardus Abt. 12 is the exact same recipe as Westy 12 and their also not that far from each other.

When I visited Westvleteren, almost 6 years ago, we tried to stop at St. Bernardus immediately after but they were closed.

Yup, I know that St. Bernardus is actually the same recipe by the same brewer. Actually I've not tried St. Bernardus' quad. Have searched it a lot here in Bulgarian, but everywhere the answer is the same - It sells in no time.

Cool, in that case, sorry about the beer-splaining. 😉

The comment will be good knowledge for other folks visiting this article.

It'd be pretty awesome if your cats drink beer, but then you would have to share, which is probably not good.

I think they are doing fine with drinking just pure water! Otherwise it would be a bit disturbing! LOL

Wow, this beer sounds great. I may have to take a look for it at my local store.
You make it sound so delicious!

Darryl (@dadview) resides in Canada.
Check out my Latest Beer Blog!

You definitely must find and try it!

The beer looks fantastic, I am sure the pale ale tasted rather pale after that nice dark one!!

Yes, this one is damn god. Need to get a box here in Belgium.....

Now I have a plan for the weekend! ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94